Liberty and Miranda Pixie Dust Gradient

Hey There Polished People!

Like I mentioned a couple of posts back, I really like stamping nail art. Some people think it’s cheating, some people think it’s nearly impossible to do successfully (check out this post if you’re one of those people :)) and some people, like myself, find it to be a relatively quick and clean way to add a little something to your nails. Quite honestly, part of why I like it is that I’m just kinda good at it… it just clicks for me. Some people are so good at dots (check out Frosso’s Dots and… a Bow mani here) and some people are so great at water marbling or needle drag marbling (see Amber’s marbling here) and some people are really good at gradients (see Traci’s here). I am great at none of these. I’ve pretty much given up caring about water marbling (although I’d like to try some of that needle drag marbling Amber does), but I really would like to be good at dots and gradients.

Today I’m happy to tell you that what I have to show you are probably my best gradient nails ever!! Woo hoo for me! The Pixie Dust polishes just really blended well, and I sponged em twice so I really feel like this is my smoothest gradient ever!!! And the matte sparkle finish of these Pixies is just so pretty! Before I over-hype them (TOO LATE!) hurry up and look so you don’t build them up in your mind and then become terribly disappointed when you actually see them.

Liberty & Miranda Pixie Dust Gradient

Direct Sun

Direct Sun

DirectSunMirandaLiberty

Indirect Light

Indirect Light

IndirectLightMirandaLiberty (2)

How To Get These Nails:

  1. Basecoat. I like SH Hard As Nails.
  2. Paint your nails with 2 coats of Nina Ultra Pro French White (or another white) to start with a clean canvas like a good little nail artist. Allow the white to dry. I used Jessica Brilliance to speed up the process, but that’s completely up to you.
  3. Use a makeup sponge and Zoya Liberty and Zoya Miranda (find the swatches and reviews of all the Summer 2013 Pixie Dust polishes here and here) to sponge a gradient on each nail, being careful to cover up all the white around the edges. I use this method for gradients.
  4. The Pixie Dust polishes are a little light upon first sponging, so repeat step 3 to smooth out the gradient some and make the colors a little more saturated.
  5. Once your gradient is looking how you want it to look, use your clean up brush and some acetone to clean up your cuticles and skin around your nails.
  6. Since you don’t use topcoat with Pixie Dust polishes, you’re done! Ta-daaaa! Admire your nails!

When I showed Daniel these nails, cuz I was so proud of them, all he had to say was, “They look like candy.” When I pressed him more- like, what kind of candy is a pink and blue gradient?? He had no answer but we eventually decided maybe Skittles… maybe Sour Skittles because they have that sugary coating. Do they even make Sour Skittles anymore? Oh boy, I’m off topic. Before I totally move on though I have to tell you- it was pretty cute when I wore these nails last week and taught Kindergarten… The kids LOVED my nails! They kept commenting on them and I had to tell them, “It’s time for guided reading, let’s talk nails later.” Haha. Hey, even if these kids can’t read yet, at least we know they have good taste! 😉

So… what’s the verdict?? Do you like these nails? Do you like the texture effect with the gradient? I feel like they’re a LITTLE much, but in the exactly perfect way. 🙂 Let me know what you think in the comments below. As always, thank you all for reading and till next time- Happy Polishing! 😀

**Zoya Miranda and Liberty are PR media samples.**

46 thoughts on “Liberty and Miranda Pixie Dust Gradient

  1. Dots are the easiest form of nail art! Which is why I do it so much lol, I’m glad you like my dotting though. I guess we all have our strengths, miss stamping diva and now gradient queen! I SUCK at gradients, I even tried one last night on a nail wheel and it sucked balls lol. However, your pixie gradient is making me salivate. The second I saw it I immediately thought of snow cones, when the red and blue start to melt together (before it turns into a delicious purple mess). leave it to me to associate everything with food…i’m turning into such a moo cow. Did I mention I love the mani? 😛

    • Gradient queen??? Whoa don’t bestow any titles yet! I am liking gradients lately but the one I’m wearing right now isn’t much of a winner. :-/ And you SAY dots are so easy but let me tell you- like end up uneven, sporadically spaced, sometimes I get little strings between dots, I just don’t have the touch usually. I’ll have to practice some more because I do loooove yours. 🙂 And thanks for the snowcone gradient name for these nails… I totally used it everywhere so I hope that’s ok. That was THE PERFECT name! See?? Who says you can’t come up w names that aren’t so literal?? 🙂

  2. Ohhhhh myyy goooossshhhh! I cannot express to you how much I looooovvvvveee this design!!! Absolutely beautiful! That’s a vacation mani or beach mani for sure!!!!

    • Thanks so much!!! I am so happy it turned out and photographed well and everything. It definitely made me feel like I should be on a beach somewhere. So vibrant and sparkly! 😉

  3. I think they look great. I have always thought that you do awesome gradients. You know I can’t do a nice gradient if my life depended on it so womp womp. I also can’t do water marbling but I can at least do some decent stamping most of the time. I really do like the way your nails look here and don’t think they are too much…unless you mean freaking awesome when you say too much.

    • Thank you!! That’s nice of you to say about my gradients but we both know- I’m no Nailasaurus. Darn. And yes- by too much I generally mean awesome. ;p

    • Thank you!! I always love blue/turquoise colors w magenta/fuchsia/berry colors. If you decide to go pick up Miranda, you won’t be sorry! 😉 Thanks for reading and commenting.

  4. NO they’re not too much! They are perfection Nicole and I ADORE it! I love gradients, love the colours you used, love the sparkle; it is just perfect!
    And LMAO I must have good taste too if the kids liked it and I do too 😀

    • Thank you! I’m trying to think of what to do with my nails for camping this weekend and I’m thinking that I loved these nails so much and they’re getting such a good reacting that maybe I’ll use some other PDs and ATTEMPT (fingers crossed) a 3-color gradient. Wish me luck!!

  5. Aw shucks lol. I’m glad you like my gradients 🙂 I’m in love with this gradient that you did! The texture and colors just look amazing! I think this is my favorite textured mani I’ve seen!

    • Wow thanks!! That’s a huge compliment! I’m always so jealous of people who can do a nice smooth gradient cuz with the exception of this one that I’m actually quite proud of, I just don’t seem to have the touch!

  6. This is gorgeous and I have to say I am really loving Miranda! haha I can’t believe I don’t have this polish since I share my name with it! I am one of those fools that can’t stamp to save my life but I will keep trying so I can eventually like doing it! I always love when you or others stamp, just so cute!

  7. These are definitely cool beans! So pretty!
    They remind me of rock candy, like those crystal-looking ones on a stick. However, Sno-Cone is also a good choice. 🙂 I don’t want to disagree with Frosso because she might send Stella after me and, really, could anything be more terrifying? 😉
    I think we all have our nail art strengths and weaknesses. It’s kind of interesting to compare!

      • Mmmm you know what I want?? Shave ice. It really bothers me that it’s “shave” ice instead of “shaved” but it’s so delicous! I wish I knew where to get some in town. 😦

    • No I can’t think of anything more terrifying. For one I’m a little scared of cats as it is (they always give me that soulless death stare!) and Stella is a beast for sure. Some day we’re never gonna hear from Frosso again and we’ll know what happened. O.o

  8. Pingback: Zoya Pixie Dust | Ooh La La Nail's Blog

    • Thanks so much!! I really do love these colors together. I have since given that berry color to my mom so if I ever wanna redo it I’ll have to borrow it back. 🙂

  9. Pingback: Shimmer Gradient Semi-Nail-Fail | Polish Me, Please!

  10. Pingback: Page not found | Polish Me, Please!

Commenting is Caring!! ;D