Quirky Cool Nail Art Using Zoya Stunning and Irresistible Polishes

Hey There Polished People!

Who’s ready for summer??!!! I am!!! Cynthia, I can hear your groaning… stop that. πŸ˜€ I wanted to do a little nail art with all my new Zoya polishes, and like I said in my Zoya Irresistible post, one thing I really like about the Stunning and Irresistible collections are how they match up with one another. I decided to grab Thandie (Stunning) and Amy (Irresistible) and do a little gradient. I was telling Siobhan, (Von Von the Zookeeper! Click on her link and ask her why I’d say that! :p ) about my nails and saying how they were a little subtle so I kinda wanted to stamp over them and she suggested that I stamp just on one nail. GENIUS!! I haven’t done an accent nail in a while, AND that was exactly what these nails needed. Great suggestion Siobhan, thank you!! Let’s see how they turned out!

Quirky Cool Accent Nail Art

Put on your sun shades... cuz you're gonna see the LIGHT!

Put on your sun shades… cuz you’re gonna see the LIGHT!

How To Get These Nails:

  1. Base coat.
  2. Paint your nails with Zoya Thandie to provide a solid base. I used 2 coats here.
  3. Using a makeup sponge and Thandie and Amy sponge your nails with a gradient so that the shimmery Zoya Amy is at the tip of your nail and the rest is the lovely Thandie orange creme.
  4. Apply a coat of Jessica Brilliance and allow your nails to dry.
  5. When your ring finger is totally dry and unsmooshable* use CH37 and Essie Good As Gold to stamp the sunglasses on your nail.
  6. Apply a layer of topcoat over the stamp when it’s dry, being careful not to smear it (work fast and with a good amount of topcoat on the brush).
  7. Clean up your nails using a little brush dipped in acetone, and ta-daaa fun summery nails! πŸ™‚

I sometimes find the Cheeky Summer 2012Β stamping plates to be a little juvenile for me, but for one single nail I thought these sunglasses were kinda fun. I can’t see myself doing a full sunglasses mani (well, probably not anyway. Never say never, right Biebs?), but for an accent- I thought they were cool. This stamp reminds me of a story Daniel told me about when he was in high school. He had this one teacher who was kind of an older black man (kind of older, not kind of black) and Daniel apparently was being a turd and got sent out in the hallway. I guess when the teacher came out to lecture him about his behavior he said, “Put on your sun shades boy, cuz you’re gonna see the LIGHT!” Haha! I love that story and can’t help but think that teacher was probably a pretty entertaining guy. πŸ˜‰

How do you like these nails? If you have the Cheeky Summer 2012 plates do you find them a little childish sometimes or do you like all the credit card, pizza slice, fountain drink stamps? I definitely think they’re fun, even if not really “for me.” Thank you all for reading and commenting and till next time- Happy Polishing!! πŸ˜€

**Zoya Amy and Thandie were provided for review, the rest of the products in this post were purchased by me.**
*technical term
37 thoughts on “Quirky Cool Nail Art Using Zoya Stunning and Irresistible Polishes

    • Ah yes!! I could really use some sunbathing right now but considering I work almost all next week I guess it can stay crappy cuz I won’t have time to lay out anyway. :-/

  1. I have the summer set and I TOTALLY get where you’re coming from haha. I think there are some that I absolutely love in there (why I bought the set!) and then some I would never EVER use!! I have used the bananas in a full mani though haha

    • Yeah it’s a bit of a mixed bag, but the good ones make the iffy ones worthwhile, I think. I actually used the bananas once too, over a purple and they were actually really cute. They’re so regular they almost look more like a geometric pattern than like HEY THESE ARE BANANAS! If you know what I mean. πŸ˜‰

  2. Oooo I love Thandie and Amy together, the gradient blends in so well it’s like a subtle flamey look. I like the stamp as an accent nail. I totally agree with you on a lot of imaged being not for me or too juvenile. I’ve been wanting new stamping plates lately, but haven’t purchased any because too many of the images in the sets I like are just not for me :/ I wish they were inexpensive to purchase individually rather than a whole bundle.

    • Yeah that would be nice if there were more inexpensive singles. Sometimes I really want new plates (winstonia, some mash ones that Cynthia has, etc) but then I’m like ehhhh use what you have. It’s annoying being reasonable sometimes.

    • Oh and- thanks about the nails!! πŸ™‚ I love a gradient that looks decent, even if it is orange on orange and therefor kinda foolproof πŸ˜‰

  3. LOL…leave me alone!!!!!!! (in the style of “Leave Britney Alone!”) You know what’s funny? It hasn’t been that hot lately here which is ridiculous considering last week it was hotter than Satan’s butthole. This mani screams summer and I think it’s super fun–it just makes me think of hot summer days when I won’t even be able to swatch because it will just be too damn hot for anything but taking cold showers. haha

    • “I think this mani is super fun. It reminds me of days when it will be hot and I’ll have raging thoughts of murdering the entire human race…. and moving to the Antarctic.” Okay, I understand. πŸ˜‰ Thanks about the nails tho πŸ™‚ I actually was quite pleased w my good use of the goofy sunshades stamp. πŸ˜‰

  4. Aaaaaaah!!!!
    I love these! They’re funky, cool and fresh!!
    I love the gradient and I love the shades! You’re welcome for the suggestion, I know you only keep me around for my brains πŸ˜› hehe just kidding πŸ˜€

  5. No summer! It’s so perfectly clear and blue here right now, but in the upper 60s-lower 70s. PLEASE STAY THIS WAY FOREVER.
    Why are you talking to the Biebs? Stop that. Stop that right now.
    Anwyay, I love these nails. I told ya already on Twitter or Instagram. I can’t keep this social media you crazy kids are dragging me into straight! *shakes fist*

    • Are you afraid Cynthia will bust into a rousing rendition of Girlfriend or that baby baby no song at the mere mention of Justin Bieber? Don’t worry, I’m afraid of that, too. πŸ˜‰ And I feel a on the social media… I always forget where I’ve said what or where I saw something… there’s just so much!

    • Not an orange fan?! Oh no!! Just kidding. πŸ™‚ Maybe you could do different colors like turquoise or pink (I don’t feel like I’m really going out on a limb guessing you like pink!) w a silver stamp. I feel like essie is generally not the worst but not a very good formula anymore and I generally find them uninspiring and overpriced. That being said- these metallics are generally wonderful for stamping so I’m happy about that. πŸ™‚

  6. Pingback: zoya nail art | Quirky Cool Na | Quotes ~ Word that Speaks

Commenting is Caring!! ;D

