Shimmer Gradient Semi-Nail-Fail

Hey There Polished People!

After my successful Zoya Pixie Dust gradient I got to thinking to myself- “Self, maybe you CAN do gradients!! Let’s give this another try!!” πŸ™‚ So I tried another gradient using another bday polish from Lesley, Spoiled Shrimp On The Barbie, and Zoya Kerry. I think I got a little overzealous with my gradient skills… let’s see em.

Gold Shrimp On The Barbie Shimmer Gradient

Direct Sun, hence why it's so washed out.

Direct Sun, hence why it’s so washed out.

Indirect light, gives a little clearer view of the gradient.

Indirect light, gives a little clearer view of the gradient.

How To Get These Nails:

  1. Base coat.
  2. Paint your nails with 3 coats of Spoiled Shrimp On The Barbie.
  3. Using the polish brush, apply a streak of Spoiled SOTB onto a piece of foil, then immediately apply a streak of Zoya Kerry right next to SOTB, touching it, and then use a pin or a dotting tool to mix a tiny bit of the border between Kerry and SOTB together. Immediately after that, dip a makeup sponge in the polish and then dab it onto your nail moving up and down the nail ever so slightly to create the gradient. There is a tutorial for this method here.
  4. You can redo step 3 if you feel the need the smooth your gradient out a little, but the gold shimmer in SOTB makes the transition from Kerry to SOTB super smooth with little effort.
  5. If your gradient looks how you’d like it to- apply a coat of Jessica Brilliance and call it macaroni! πŸ˜‰

I didn’t call this a disasticure because it didn’t really turn out to be a mess or anything, but it just didn’t look as good as I wanted it to. I think Zoya Kerry just kinda took over and also I just think there was a little too much shimmer going on for my liking. I really like Shrimp On The Barbie though, it’s such a pretty, light-coral/salmon type color so I hope I can do it justice and find a better way to use it in the near future.

What do you all think of these nails? Do you sometimes get on a kick of a specific type of nail art and just do a billion of them over and over until it wears on you? I did a couple other gradients after this one, which you’ll see in the near future, but I think I’m just about done with them. Let me know what you think in the comments below. As always, thank you all for reading and till next time- Happy Polishing!! πŸ˜€

14 thoughts on “Shimmer Gradient Semi-Nail-Fail

  1. Can I just say, I thought the name “Spoiled Shrimp on the Barbie” was unusual until I realized it was Spoiled-brand. Ha!

    I like seeing all of the different types of art, or even the same ones over and over, since I haven’t ventured that far into actually trying them myself.

    • Oh good, glad you don’t mind!! πŸ™‚ I was going to call or golden shrimp on the Barbie but then I was like nahhhh spoiled sounds more gross and eye catching. πŸ˜‰

  2. maybe a inverted gradient would looked better with these colors.. the indirect light was way better than the sunlight..

    i understand when you say you’re struggling with a nail art and you finally nail it, you’re all like LET’S DO ALL THE GRADIENTS…!! and then all the disasticures start happening. been there. it is painful, and i feel like quitting, but i just move on to stamping or whatever comes next.

    • Yup I totally agree. I think I’ll move on now. I have two more gradients that I did and then I think I’ll hang em up for a while and maybe do some stamping or dotting or something.

  3. I think your macaroni came out great! If Shrimp on the Barbie didn’t have that gold shimmer then yea it would have been too much, but the two colors worked out really well as a gradient.
    I think my go to technique is dotting of course, but lately I’ve been practicing tape manis but I’m already bored with them. I’m too scared to do anything risky πŸ˜›

    • Hey tape manis can be risky!! I always want to do one and then I’m like ughhh but then I have to cut up all those strips and hope they don’t peel up my polish and blah blah blah. I need some cheese w my “whine.” Har har. Anyway- I do want to do some striped nails soon so maybe I’ll give the tape a try… we’ll see. :-/

  4. I like it! I think, if anything, the fact that the gold shimmer in SOTB (I will do abbreviations Nicole-style) matches the Zoya shimmer might be…a lot of metallic? But then again, maybe it wouldn’t look as good if it didn’t match. :p
    I’m with Frosso in that I am usually too scared to do anything too risky for risk of a disasticure. But, I did use striping tape for the first time last week and, although it requires more patience fiddling with that stuff than I’d like, the end result wasn’t a total mess. Ironically, I decided I didn’t like the look of it with the rest of my mani and took it off. :p

    • Hahaha gosh isn’t that just how it goes?! You work so hard on something and then are like uh this sucks and poof! It’s all gone w a cotton ball. I have these b&w glittered neon gradient nails on right now and I alllllmost took them off cuz they were looking funky last night but then I realized I was too crappy feeling to repaint them and risk them being a disastermess, and I had work today so I kept them and I’m glad I did cuz they really caused a stir in the 8 classrooms today- just how I like it. πŸ˜‰

  5. What’s wrong with these? I like them and don’t think they’re a fail at all. Like the colours (duh) and Shrimp on a Barbie IS very cute. I think you did a good job.
    I don’t think I personally can get tired of gradients because I love doing them and feel I’m good at them, but I can say when I get into stamping mode then I just stamp everything – how those earring studs came to be lol! Then I get tired of stamping and leave it for a while.

    • I should have known you’d like these. You are the shimmer queen!! I tend to go in spurts too and do allll stamping, then alllll gradients, then allll something else. What will be next?? πŸ˜‰

  6. What I love about gradient nails is they dont have to be perfect! Gradients can be drastic in color difference and progression or close like this. I actuallyh love the look of this and the polishes you chose for it!

    • Aw thank you! It is kind of fun to have subtle color differences with your gradients too. One of my favorite gradients I’ve done is the orange on orange one with the sunglasses on the accent finger. Subtle is nice, too, cuz it’s a little harder to mess up! :p

Commenting is Caring!! ;D

