Campfire Candy Corn Sponge-Free Gradient Nails

Hey There Polished People!

Well, I’m still on my gradient kick over here. When my husband and I went camping for Memorial Day weekend, I wanted to have some fun nails, and in the process of asking for advice on Twitter, Alaina from The Little Canvas, told me that you can do a gradient with Zoya Pixie Dust polish, without using a sponge like I did for my Miranda and Liberty gradient nails. She said you can just apply it with the polish brush and the texture picks up a little of the polish and creates its own gradient. Well, that didn’t exactly work for me, but they still turned out “ok.” They look a little like candy corn, and a little like campfire, but I didn’t love them all that much so I took them off and ended up doing some neon nails for camping. Nevertheless, let’s see the runners-up.

Campfire Candy Corn Sponge-Free Gradient Nails

ZoyaSolangeBeatrixAndDestiny (2)

ZoyaSolangeBeatrixAndDestiny

How To Get These Nails:

  1. No base coat is necessary with the Zoya Pixie Dust polishes, especially the light gold of Solange, but I still use a coat for strength and just out of habit. I slapped on a coat of SH Hard As Nails.
  2. Paint your nails with Zoya Solange. I used 2 coats.
  3. Using the polish brush, apply Zoya Beatrix on the top 2/3 of the nail (top meaning nearest the free edge).
  4. Using the polish brush, apply Zoya Destiny on the top 1/3 of the nail.
  5. You don’t need or want to use topcoat with the Pixies so ta-daa, you’re all done!

I don’t think these look AWFUL, but they don’t look as gradient-y as I wanted them to. I just don’t think I have the right touch to do a gradient without a sponge, heck I don’t always have the right touch to do a gradient WITH a sponge!! Haha. Anyway- let me know what you think and when you see the next nails (my actual Memorial Day nails) you’ll have to let me know if you think I made the right decision. Do you think these look like candy corn or more like campfire? Let me know in the comments below. As always, thank you all for reading and till next time- Happy Polishing!! πŸ˜€

22 thoughts on “Campfire Candy Corn Sponge-Free Gradient Nails

  1. Ok so maybe the design didn’t turn out the way you planned, but i think the combination of the two colors & how it actually looks on your nails is gorgeous! Really like it.

    • Ahhh of course!!! What a genius! Those are my absolute favorite candies and the kid is right! These do look like them! Good job finding a super-smart third party πŸ™‚

  2. They remind me of fire.
    Also they’re not awful, the only non-gradient one to me is your index finger.
    And also don’t worry, I tried that dipdye – ombre with a brush – ja epic fail lmao!!

  3. Even though they aren’t exactly what you wanted or expected, I think they look pretty cool. I have this weird love for Candy Corn but I just feel like it’s sweeter than any other candy out there. It’s kind of strange. I still can’t do any gradient at all so this look super cool too me. πŸ™‚

    • Well thank you! I like to eat a couple of candy corns when they’re around but they’re not my favorite. Idk if I think they’re extra sweet or whatever but the weird consistency always catches my attention. They’re like hard yet soft once you break them and… Idk they’re an anomaly. Glad you like these nails tho! πŸ™‚

  4. As nearly always, I am with you – I don’t even really think they are a fail, but they are not quite gradient. Maybe they are gradient-y? Gradient-ish? Gradient-esque?
    I can’t decide on fire, candy corn, or Peachy-Os (although I like the story behind the Peachy-Os determination). How about “kinda weird, hypercolor sunset?” :p
    Candy corn rambling – I used to hate it, then I went through a year or two when I was ALL ABOUT the harvest mix at Halloween…the one with the yellow & brown candy corn and pumpkins? Now I’m at, eh, I’ll eat a few pieces and I’m over it.
    So I for some reason thought candy corn was some sort of uber-concentrated honey, but I just looked it up. According to Wikipedia, it is “made primarily from sugar, corn syrup, wax, artificial coloring and binders.” This…makes a lot of sense…and also…is disgusting and kind of ruins it forever.

    • You should never look up your favorite foods!! There are too many icky ins and outs w food production, you’ll never eat again! And yeah- gradient-esque kinda weird hyper color sunset has a nice ring to it, don’t you think? :p

Commenting is Caring!! ;D

