OPI Liquid Sand Get Your Number Swatch and Review

Hey There Polished People!!

Thanks to those of you who checked out my book sale. It’s still going on so if there’s anything you’re interested in, give me a holler. πŸ™‚

Today I finally have a nail polish to share with you that I’ve had for a couple of weeks. When the Mariah Carey collection from OPI came out in the PR releases I was thinking, “Ehhh this is kinda boring.” I didn’t quite understand the “Liquid Sand” thing, I didn’t find the other polishes interesting… I just wasn’t a fan. Then I saw the Liquid Sand swatches come out and I thought they looked gritty as heck. They looked like sandpaper, they looked like they’d snag on everything… I just thought “Ew.” I am not a fan of texture. I hate when my glitters are curly and therefore catch on everything; I hate when my nails are rough and catch in my hair. I kept seeing the Liquid Sand swatches and kept hating them in my head and then I saw Mary from Swatch and Learn saying that if you got one Liquid Sand, Get Your Number would be the one to get. She said it was more interesting and multi-faceted than the rest and it was her first choice. Then I saw Cynthia’s review on Of Life and Lacquer of Get Your Number and Can’t Let Go and that was it. I decided I would give it a go. Let’s see how I fared!

OPI Liquid Sand Get Your Number

OPILiquidSandGetYourNumber  (3)

OPILiquidSandGetYourNumber  (2)

GetYourNumberBottleShot  (4)

Color:

Get Your Number is a pretty, pretty medium blue. It has some holo glitter in it, but it’s mostly small blue glitter in a blue jelly base. When this dries it is the prettiest sparkly yet matte blue polish. Mary described it as looking like a rock… those pretty sparkly rocks you might find with pretty veins of color running through them… and she’s exactly right. It really looks like a piece of quartz or something. The texture isn’t too rough at all! It’s really like sand. You can walk through sand and it’s not rough on your feet, you can rub it between your fingers and it doesn’t scratch you- this is exactly how Get Your Number is. It’s not like sandpaper at all.

Formula/Application:

The formula of Get Your Number is excellent and builds up nicely in about three coats. I did not find that it dried lighting-fast like many people report, but as long as I used a super thin layer of base coat and apply the polish in thin coats it worked just fine and dried relatively quickly. When I used a thick layer of base coat, after an entire hour of “dry time” this happened:

apply your base coat THINLY

Yikes. Make sure you don’t make the mistake that I did.

Yes, Please! or No, Thank You:

YES, PLEASE!!! I looooooove this polish!! It’s actually something DIFFERENT from a mainstream brand! It’s sparkly, textured and matte, it’s eye catching and holographic, it’s just awesome! If you think you’ll hate the texture of this polish, I highly suggest you give this a try. I really think that if you try it you’ll like it. C’mon, give Get Your Number a chance!! πŸ™‚

Have you tried Get Your Number? Are you a fan of texture or not so much? What do you think about this new texture trend, do you think it’s going to stick around or do you think it’s going to quickly go by the wayside a la “crackle?” Let me know in the comments below. As always, thanks for reading and till next time- Happy Polishing!! πŸ˜€

24 thoughts on “OPI Liquid Sand Get Your Number Swatch and Review

  1. I have to say that generally, I was disappointed in the real life finish on the OPI Liquid Sand range. In the advertising it looks amazing but that very rarely translated into reality when people reviewed them. However, I think this shade looks fantastic! Texture-perfect without looking odd and beautiful colour.

  2. I bought the black/red one (I don’t remember any of the names from this line) just on a whim because I wasn’t into the idea of Liquid Sand either at first. I haven’t worn it yet, but swatched it on a nail wheel and it looks really pretty and even prettier when I applied a top coat (just to see the difference) I think if I get another one it would be this blue one as well. Although Zoya has a bunch of colors in liquid sand form too so we’ll see about those. I kinda think one or two are enough liquid sands for me though, its slightly novelty like to me so I’d get bored of it quick.

    • Yeah I know what you mean about it being a novelty. I sometimes have trouble w special polishes because I can’t do much w them. I mean you can top coat this but you can’t really stamp over it and if you used regular polish on it it would probably be a mess. Idk… That’s kinda why I don’t like magnetics too- cuz like what do you do with them? Nothing. Just wear them. How boring. πŸ˜‰

  3. I think that they are all very pretty colors, I just cant get used to the texture at all even if not gritty or sand paper like I dont like it lol but its gorgeous on, just not on my nails :/

  4. I am totally with you on the Mariah Carey collection. I figured I’d hate the liquid sands and thought the other colors were boring. I did like this color the best, though, after seeing Cynthia’s swatch and now yours. I think if I try the texture trend out, it would be with the antique gold in the OPI Wizard of Oz collection. I’m also kind of interested in the yellow and aqua Milani ones.

    • You know… I like the antique gold color in the Oz collection, and I like the bright colors from the different brands but at least in the swatches I’ve seen of the Oz one and the Milani in particular don’t have that same matte sparkle texture look as the MC ones. They look like popcorn ceilings to me. 😦 I hope it was just the swatches that I saw or whatever though because the gold color was pretty. I think what really appealed to me about the MC and especially this one is that look of the matte polish with the texture and the sparkles sitting all at varying depths… idk.. we’ll see what the gold look like. I’ll keep my fingers crossed. πŸ˜‰ Have you got it yet to add to your untrieds?

      • No, I haven’t. I saw the press release for the Orly line yesterday and may wait to check out those. They look kinda like the Zoya ones, like finer in texture & with glitter, but in different colors, so I’ll see what swatches surface. I’ve learned my lesson from crackle (kind of – I have the Katy Perry OPI black one and the ChG metallic ones, which I all still like – I just kind of regret getting the ChG glitter ones as an impulse sale buy at Sally’s) and don’t want multiple full bottles of this faddy-type stuff around. πŸ˜‰

        • Ugh I know… That’s a slippery slope. Like magnetic polishes- I bet somewhere someone has like 20 of those. I was good on that “trend” tho- I only have two. πŸ™‚

          • Ah, crap, I forgot about magentic polishes! I think I have four…but they were on sale at Sally’s. Have I even tried them? Nope.

  5. Pingback: Zoya Liberty v OPI Get Your Number Comparison | Polish Me, Please!

Commenting is Caring!! ;D

