Kiss Nail Dress Initial Review

Hey There Polished People!

First off, before I show you the pictures of my nails today, I want to tell you about my renewed love of Pinterest. πŸ™‚ I used Pinterest before and enjoyed it, but then my account info got stolen and Pinterest shut down my account for my own security and I just never re-opened it. I finally re-opened my personal account (which you can find and follow here) and have been pinning household tips, recipes, home decor stuff, cute baby animals, a few nails, pretty hair, funny memes, etc like crazy!! I also JUST opened an account for my blog where I’ll be posting pictures of my nails as well as inspiration to turn into future manis and also nails from my friends. You can follow my blog Pinterest account here. I will be pinning and repinning nail-related stuff on my blog account, but on my personal account I have been finding the most delicious recipes and the handiest tips lately!! In fact last night I made ranch crock pot pork chops and served them with mashed potatoes and corn and let me tell you- THEY WERE DELICIOUS!! And they can’t really get any easier. Here is the crockpot ranch pork chops pin, but the recipe is as follows: brown 4-6 pork chops, in a medium bowl mix together one packet of ranch dressing mix, one can cream of chicken soup and one can of water, place pork chops in crock pot, dump ranch/soup/water mixture over the top, turn on low and cook for 6+ hours, or turn on high and cook for 3+ hours. They were sooo good!! πŸ™‚ Tonight I made bourbon chicken which I thought was really yummy and my husband thought was BLOW HIS MIND DELICIOUS!!! The recipe for that is a little more involved, so you can find the pin for the bourbon chicken recipe here. I am also currently, as I type this up, trying the ammonia in a plastic bag stove drip pans cleaning trick that you can find here. I am just wasting too much time having too much fun on Pinterest lately!! Follow both of my accounts so I can follow you back and we can share nails/tips/memes/recipes, etc πŸ™‚

Now for today’s nails. As promised, today I have my initial review of the Kiss Nail Dress stripsΒ I received in my Holiday 2012 Vox Box. For my first go at the strips, I only used one and did it as an accent nail. I will apply strips to all of my nails and do a wear test soon, but for now here is my…

Kiss Nail Dress Accent Nail Mani

KissNailDressFPPuttyInYourHandsCultAlterEgo (2)

 

KissNailDressFPPuttyInYourHandsCultAlterEgoThese nails are FP Putty In Your Hands with Cult Nails Alter Ego on top, with a coat of Seche Vite. The accent nail is the Kiss Nail Dress.

Kiss Nail Dress Review

Design:

I liked this design just fine. It may not be my number one favorite design, but I like it. It’s a bit of a fadey/gradient tan/blush colored background with leopard spots and lots of tiny rhinestones.

Application:

The application was quite easy. You just start with clean nails, pick the Kiss Nail Dress that best fits each nail, peel the strip off the clear backing, press it down onto your nail, fold the excess over the end and then file the free edge with the included file to remove the excess. The strip pulled up easily off the clear backing, stuck down to my nail well and the excess filed off easily.

Wear:

To be determined later after a legit wear test. I will say that for the two days that I wore this strip it didn’t peel up at all, but I did apply a thin later of topcoat over the free edge of my nail because I didn’t like the rough edge being exposed.

Removal:

You literally just peel these strips up off your nails when you’re ready to remove them. Mine peeled up without damaging my nail, but it did leave some sticky residue that I removed with a cotton ball soaked in remover.

Overall Impression:

I mostly like these Kiss Nail Dress strips. I feel like they LOOK kinda sticker-ish (cuz they are!) and for that reason I can’t see myself using them much. Also, this design was really sheer and you can see some VNL if you look for it. The gradient design of the background kind of disguises it, but it’s obviously there. I also don’t like how your free edge is completely exposed and not wrapped at all, and that’s why I added some clear top coat to the tip.

Yes, Please! or No, Thank You:

For me, these are a “they’re fun to try, but I wont be buying them.” So I guess in plain English that’s a No, Thank You. That being said, I think these would be an EXCELLENT option for people who aren’t skilled at nail art, don’t have time for nail art, or who want a particularly blingy nail design for a special occasion. If I was going to prom or out for a bachelorette party and didn’t want to shell out $40 to get my nails done at a salon, these for less than 10 bucks would be an AWESOME alternative. They have lots of fun designs, and you can find them at a drugstore near you. πŸ™‚

Have you tried these nail dresses? Have you tried any other kind of nail polish strip or nail sticker? How was your experience? Let me know in the comments below. As always, thanks for reading and till next time- Happy Polishing! πŸ˜€

 

14 thoughts on “Kiss Nail Dress Initial Review

  1. My fingernails are soooo small and short/square-shaped that I’m sure none of these types of stickers would work for me. Plus, I LOVE painting my nails… so a sticker just sort of takes the fun out of it. Thanks for the review!!

    • I agree. It’s just not quite for me, either. These have a square side to them too, though, so just in case you ever DO want to give them a go- they might still work. I’m gonna do the wear test and then get back to regularly painting my nails. πŸ™‚

  2. Like I said, I really had a horrid experience with nail dresses. I tried the Yardley ones and it left bubbles. I just didn’t have a good experience with them.
    I like that you put this on an accented nail and the colour you chose complements it nicely. Really like it Nics and agree who this would be for – not into doing nail art or have the time.

    • Exactly. πŸ™‚ these stickers are pretty thick so even if I had bubbles I don’t think I’d even know. We’ll see how it goes trying to apply these to all of my nails.

  3. I’ve tried the Sally Hansen strips which are really great and then I tried the Ulta brand strips and they SUCKED. I can’t really commit to the long wear-time of strips on my hands so I’ve used them on my toes more often. I wore some SH strips on my toes for about 3 weeks and they were still stuck on like cement. haha I think the design on these is super cute. I so want that Fingerpaints polish–it’s gorgeous! What is the finish like without the Cult Nails topcoat?

    • That’s weird that the ulta ones were so crappy. What was the difference? And were they both the “nail polish” strips? Those appeal to me a little more than the sticker ones. Something about slapping a sticker on my nail just seems a little wrong. That Finger Paints polish is really kind of an interesting shade. It’s definitely a putty color… kinda between a taupe and a tan color… a little dirty. Without the Cult topcoat it’s just a flat creme and slightly less gold. Alter Ego is a super fine gold shimmer color on its own.

    • Yeah idk… it’s just funny putting a sticker on my nail. But I do like the print and I would totally use these if I basically couldn’t do this on my own with nail polish. It’d be a lot quicker to use these though than placing all those rhinestones, and much easier to remove so actually, if I wanted a look like this I would buy them again. The convenience just can’t be beat.

  4. Pingback: Kiss Nail Dress Wear Test and Final Review | Polish Me, Please!

  5. Pinterest is quite dangerous, haha. I do want to try out those crockpot ranch pork chops, though…maybe this weekend!
    I tried the baked broccoli recipe you posted about on Twitter last night. My craptastic old oven kind of ruined them, but I ate them, anyway. They reminded me of french fries if french fries were made of broccoli, haha.
    I tried the Sally Hansen strips once and they worked really well, but they’re way too expensive for getting one mani and maybe a few accents out of (you have some leftover, but not enough for a full mani), in my opinion. I bought a couple of designs of strips from Sally’s around Christmas and they SUCKED bigtime (sorry, I don’t remember the brand). I couldn’t get the edges to file off. I actually returned them.

    • Mmm french fries made of broccoli… that doesn’t sound bad at all! Haha. I do want to try some nail polish strips… since you just remove them with remover there shouldn’t be any damage and I just think I might like them better. As it is… I seem to kinda fail with any nail strips tho so… who knows! :-/ I have a hard time with the edges too. There must be some secret power that we’re missing.

  6. I made this with leftover Thanksgiving turkey and it was a big hit. Very easy to make and I just “eyeballed” all the ingredients instead of measuring. My family’s joke was that I made Bourbon Chicken, and it didn’t have bourbon in it. It also didn’t have chicken :)5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you?

Commenting is Caring!! ;D

