As Seen On TV “Salon Express” Nail Stamping Kit (less than $10!!!)

Good Morning! Happy MLK Jr. Day! πŸ™‚

At Christmas I got my nail stamping kit, and just recently I used one of the $10 off $20 Sally Beauty Supply coupons (find one here) to get this new stamping kit. I don’t need the scraper, plate holder, or the stamper, but I liked the different plates offered in this kit. Here’s what the Salon Express nail stamping kit looks like:

I basically got this for free with that awesome coupon I linked to above! πŸ˜€

This kit comes with:

  • 5 stamping plates
  • Scraper
  • Dual-ended stamper
  • Plate holder
  • Instructions

What types of designs are on the plates?

  • Lots of hearts
  • 6 full-nail designs (hearts, stars, zebra-ish stripes, tiny checkers, polka dots, a sunburst design and tiny flowers)
  • Lots of butterflies
  • Sea turtle
  • Seahorse
  • Palm tree
  • Lots of flowers
  • Dragon flies
  • Moon and stars
  • Rose
  • XOXO with hearts
  • An apple (honestly this sold me since I’m a teacher!!)
  • All in all, 28 pictures and 6 full-nail designs

How does the quality compare to the Bundlemonster/Konad kit?

I was super-impressed with the quality. The plates are a little thinner and not backed with paper like my BM plates, but they work perfectly. Also they’re the exact same size as the BM and Konad plates so all the supplies are totally interchangeable. I actually like the plate holder, scraper and stamper from this kit better than my Konad stuff. I think the stamper picks up the designs a little better, the plate holder holds the plates better, and the scraper is a little bigger and easier to hold! The only downfall is that 1) There are a million hearts, butterflies, flowers, etc which aren’t exactly my style, and 2) the full-nail designs are too small for my nails so I have to do 2 stamps side-by-side. If you have smaller nails you might be fine, but for me they were just a little too small for every nail except my pinky. My thumb was WAY too large for the stamp, but it was pretty easy to stamp two designs in such a way that you couldn’t really tell. Also, you have to buy nail polish separately. If you have a lot of one-coater type polishes you can use those, otherwise you’ll need to get some Sally Hansen Insta-Dri or other similar polish. You could also use the Konad Special polishes if you have access to them.

Yes, Please! or No, Thank You:

YES PLEASE! If you just wanna try out stamping and don’t want to spend $40, or you don’t have access to a debit or credit card to use online on Amazon this kit can be found at Sally Beauty Supply and is only $9.99, regular price. Like I said above, I used that coupon and got it basically for free. I got this and some nail polishes for $10 and it should have been $20. I LOVE THIS! It has designs that I don’t have in my BM 25-pc plates and it works so well! I like my BM plates for all the full-nail designs but I love this Salon Express kit for the turtle, seahorse, apple (!!!), palm tree, checker full-nail design among others. Print out that coupon and go to Sally’s NOW!! πŸ™‚

Please let me know if you use that coupon to get this or anything else! I’d love to hear about your designs πŸ™‚

EDIT:

Since posting this, I’ve heard from several people that the Salon Express nail stamping kits don’t work for them. For at least one person it seems that the scraper is curved so it doesn’t scrape away the excess polish, and the designs aren’t etched deeply enough. This makes me think there may be 2 or more batches of these kits that are of different quality. If you buy one of these kits, definitely keep your receipt because if you have one of the crappy kits you’re going to want to return it. Please let me and my readers know what your experience has been using the comment form below. Thanks!
17 thoughts on “As Seen On TV “Salon Express” Nail Stamping Kit (less than $10!!!)

  1. I just bought this kit today at Rite-Aid for $9.99 and tried it out right away after reading your post!…thank goodness…it works…whew!..and I’m totally enjoying how easy and fun it is to use….Yay me!β™₯

    • Oh good!!! I’m so glad it works! The bad version really does NOT work at all so I’m super happy you got a good one. The kit has some really cute images in it and I actually really like the plate holder, dual-ended stamper and scraper. Thanks so much for checking out my blog and leaving this comment so people can see that it may be worth trying. πŸ™‚

      • I am so happy I read this, I bought the kit and was so disappointed. I tried various polishes, techniques, and all but did not even get one decent stamp. I did save the receipt, I am returning it tomorrow.

        • My stamps work pretty well but yeah there are some bad batches or something. Plus- if it doesn’t work, regardless of the reason- take that sucker back! Haha. Try some Bundle Monster plates or even Red Angel or splurge on Konad. Doing your nails should be fun- not infuriating. πŸ™‚

  2. Heyy girls, just wondering if I should be using any insta dry polish or does it have to be sally? And it works well?… As well what is nail paint? Where could i find it? Walmart or a shoppers possibly? I just bought the salon express with the 5 plates n accessories .. having trouble finding a polish that will stick .! Please help me someoneee! Lol

    • Hey! πŸ™‚
      The best polish to use is Konad special polish, but what also works for me is Sally Hansen Insta-Dri but I have also used one Avon quick dry polish. It’s kind of just hit or miss. Even some China Glaze polishes work. They just have to be one-coaters and smooth. If your polish is kinda old and chunky thin it down with some polish thinner. Also- make sure you remove the blue plastic film, it sounds silly but some people miss that step. If all else fails, return it cuz some people really can’t get em to work so I’m guessing there are some slightly defective plates out there. Oh, and I angle the scraper when I scrape the plate, otherwise sometimes it misses some. Let me know if you have any more questions. You can put them here or hit me up on Twitter. πŸ™‚ Thanks for reading and commenting!

  3. I got this for Christmas and my mom doesn’t have the receipt… Personally, I HATE this kit, all the scraper does is take all the nail polish of the design and when I use the stamper it doesn’t have the design on it. It doesn’t work at all and hasn’t worked once. I guess i’ll just have to eat that $10. :/

  4. I WAS SO HAPPY TODAY CAUSE I BOUGHT MINE, BUT IT ALL WENT AWAY WHEN I STARTED TO USE IT. I JUST CAN’T DO IT, I TOUGHT IT WAS THE POLISH AND I CHANGE IT. STILL, NO LUCK, I TRY DIFFERENT SCRAPING WAYS AND NO. I REALLY WANTED IT TO WORK WITH ME. ;(

    • Oh no!!! I’m so sorry to hear that!! This sounds silly but did you remove the blue plastic film? Also you can lightly file your rubber stamper to help it pick up the design. I hope you get it to work for you. Give it a few more tries and do some troubleshooting and I bet you’ll get it! *fingers crossed!!*

Commenting is Caring!! ;D

