Neon Rainbow Gradient Nails

Hey There Polished People!

After doing my Lush Lacquer Neon Lights nails with the neon accent nail I was pretty hyped about it and wanted to try a full neon rainbow mani. Well, I gave it a try, it didn’t turn out perfectly, but it was still pretty dang bright and eye-catching. Sometimes I do my nails in such a way (generally with neon colors) that they draw attention, on purpose. I just like people to notice my nails. Nails are something that aren’t visible from very far away, so only people you’re already interacting with in some way can really notice them and I like that. I don’t really want people from across the street shouting something at me, but when people right in front of me compliment my nails I really do like it. 🙂 My husband is always telling people, “We can’t go ANYWHERE without someone commenting on her nails!” And I just shrug like, “Well, what can I say?” 😉 Ready to see today’s eye catchers?

Neon Rainbow Gradient Nails

Left Hand

Left Hand

GlowstickFFFInkblotBlue (4)

Right Hand (see how odd and wonky my right nails end up?!)

Right Hand (see how odd and wonky my right nails end up?!)

I thought the gradient turned out marginally better on this hand, though.

I thought the gradient turned out marginally better on this hand, though.

How To Get These Nails:

  1. Paint your nails with your favorite basecoat.
  2. Apply 2 coats of Nina Ultra Pro French White (I’m abbreviating this to NUP in the future, just FYI. That’s a long name!) as white undies for your neon gradient. Allow these nails to dry to the touch. I added a coat of Jessica Brilliance to speed up the drying process.
  3. When the white polish is dry to the touch, paint three stripes of polish on a sponge- ChG Flip Flop Fantasy, Orly Glowstick and FP Inkblot Blue. Overlap the yellow over the other two colors slightly.
  4. Dab the sponge with the nail polish onto your nail, moving ever so slightly up and down to blur the colors together and create the green between yellow and blue, and the orange between pink and yellow.
  5. Repeat steps 3 and 4 for each nail. You may want to do each nail twice to improve the smoothness of your gradient and make the colors more opaque.
  6. When the gradients look good to you, apply a coat of Jessica Brilliance and admire your lovely bright nails!! 😀

I appreciated the brightness of these nails, but as you can see my gradient leaves a bit to be desired. :-/ My colors are awfully uneven and just look kinda messy to me. To avoid posting 8 billion pictures in one post, in my next post I’ll show you what I did to these nails to fix em up a bit. What I did with them ended up making them some of my favorite nails in quite a while! I just really loved them and I hope you will, too. Stay tuned to see those next!! 🙂

Any guesses about how I spruced these bad boys up? Some of you may have seen on Twitter already. 🙂 I am bad at giving sneak peaks sometimes when I really like something!! 😀 As always, thank you all for reading and commenting and till next time- Happy Polishing!! 😀

29 thoughts on “Neon Rainbow Gradient Nails

    • Thanks!! I wish I’d don’t a smoother job but I was starting to mix all the colors too much so I had to leave em be. 🙂 Glad they still look ok!

    • Haha well thank you!! I think I need to focus more on keeping my lines straight and then maybe they’ll look better to me. My sponging kinda got all over the place. 😉

  1. This is awesome…and PERFECT inspiration for me– I have an event on Friday that requires attendees to wear neon/bright fashion staples, this would complement my outfit so well! Thanks for the tutorial 🙂

  2. I hate you for being able to do gradients and I still can’t do one that looks decent for the life of me. Since I’ve been swatching so much as of late, I usually have naked nails just because I need a rest, you know? The last time I went to one of my favorite restaurants, a waitress literally walked up to our table and grabbed my hand and was like: “OHHH you’re the pretty nails lady!” LOL I didn’t have anything on them, so I told her sorry to disappoint with my bare nails, but she said they still looked great anyway. It’s nice when people compliment my nails but I usually don’t like them grabbing my hands like that and it has happened quite a few times. These nails are LOUD mofos. I love them, though.

    • Yeah they are loud huh?? Haha. And thanks for the hateful comment! 😉 It kinda bugs me when people grab my hands (if I don’t know them, and sometimes even if I do) cuz I actually kinda hate being touched. I’m a frigid person I guess. :p

    • You’ll see on Friday!! I’m glad you like them so much that you don’t even want them to be spruced up! Haha. I hope you like the “addition.” 🙂

  3. Girl, I LOVE IT when people compliment my nails! It is so secretly thrilling. Like, “YES! I SPEND ALL THIS TIME AND MONEY ON MY NAILS AND SOMEONE NOTICED AND IT IS SO FULFILLLINNNNGGGG!” ;)\
    Although I don’t think anyone has ever grabbed my hand. I feel like this is disappointing, but it’s not, because who wants randos grabbing your hands?
    I think this are straight AWESOME SAUCE. I have no idea why you are being critical about the gradient. They look super to me. And the fact that they are actually only three colors and you created the rainbow by overlapping? Mind = blown!

    • Haha well thank you!! I always try to be all nonchalant about my nails but sometimes I just go into way too much detail and absolutely horrify people! :p And your mind blown comment reminds me of those AT&T commercials w the kids and they’re talking about the largest number ever and one kid says how about infinity times infinity and the dude holds his hands by his ears and pretends like his mind actually just blew. Those commercials are hilarious. I love them. They’re so spot on about little kids.

  4. When I first saw these on instagram I immediately thought they looked like a neon sunset…but thats just me and my weird head. Now that I look at them I think tie-dye…you need to figure out how to do tie-dye nails.

    • I would LOVE to figure out tie-dye nails. I’ve seen em done needle drag style but I have exactly zero confidence I can pull it off in any way worth looking at. I can tie dye a mean shirt but nails… I’m thinking no. If I give it a try I’ll let you know! I think YOU should get on that! 😉

  5. hahaha I am the same way, I’ll be like hun, that lady said she liked my nails… lol thats too funny! I love it too. I also am in love with this mani! I love the way it came out, so bright and vibrant 😀

Commenting is Caring!! ;D