Black and White and Neon All Over

Hey There Polished People!!

As promised in the last post where I showed you my neon rainbow gradient nails, today I have a quick continuation of those nails to show you today. I wore these nails at work last week and the kids LOVED them. Even one of the secretaries was grabbing my hand asking how I did them. It’s funny, sometimes I just try to explain away my nails really quick, like, “Oh it’s just nail polish, I paint them myself.” But sometimes if it’s someone I know, like the secretary, I try to explain a little more about how I did them. So I told her I painted nail polish on a sponge and then sponged it on my nails, then added glitter on top. Well I still don’t think she fully understood (and who can blame her?!) because I think she thought I used some sort of loose glitter or confetti instead of glitter nail polish. That reminded me of how unique (in the mainstream nail polish world) chunky glitter really is, and black and white chunky glitter at that. Anyway, let’s see these nails!

Neon Rainbow Gradient with China Glaze Whirled Away

NeonGradientNailsWWhirledAway (2)

NeonGradientNailsWWhirledAway (3)

How To Get These Nails

  1. Follow the instructions for the Neon Rainbow Gradient Nails from the last post.
  2. Apply a layer of ChG Whirled Away using a dabbing technique, don’t worry about getting out the large white hexes. You probably wont get them out without making a mess of your nails (bubbles). Instead I recommend that you use a method that Cynthia from Of Life and Lacquer told me about- she uses her dotting tool to fish out large stubborn glitters and place them on her nails. That’s what I did here and it worked SO MUCH better than dabbing this thick, goopy base a thousand times to try to get the white glitter on your nails, only to be left with a million bubbles that you know how to fix, but that you really don’t want to mess with.
  3. Once the glitter is on your nails, apply a thick coat of topcoat (I used SH Mega Shine this time) to seal your nails and voila! You’re done. πŸ™‚

Even though I kind of hate using this glitter polish (the base is so goopy, and without Cynthia’s method it’s nearly impossible to get all the glitter on your nails just how you want it), I do love how it looks. The Cirque Du Soleil Worlds Away collection (of which this polish is a part) was probably the last China Glaze collection that I was really excited about.. sad, huh? Anyway, I like the variety of glitter shapes and sizes, I love the black and white color and I really like how it adds a starkly contrasting graphic element to these nails. I know these aren’t anything too unique, but I was really pleased with myself and I liked them a whole lot. πŸ˜‰

Do you have a bottle of nail polish that you like the look of but hate the formula? What do you do to get around it, or maybe you just give the bottle away entirely. Let me know in the comments below. As always, thanks for reading and till next time- Happy Polishing!! πŸ˜€

24 thoughts on “Black and White and Neon All Over

  1. Love ’em!!!!! Now with the glitter I see stick people…. I think my imagination is getting the best of me. Now, these nails look like stick people walking around with umbrellas in the Saharan desert.

    • Haha I think you are getting a little carried away! ;p Maybe the neon colors are tripping you out. πŸ˜‰ Stick people are cool tho… They’re my favorite.

  2. That glitter reminds me of music notes when it’s all on the nail together. I like ALL of your “neon gradient” ideas from this week!! πŸ™‚

    • Thanks!! I see where you get the music notes from. Between you and Ali (shopping shon) we have stick people, music notes, all kinds of fun things!!

    • Ugh I totally agree. Plus when I wore it I wore it over pink so it was not only a disaster to work with but then also looked like they were for 7 year olds. :-/

  3. lol sometimes I forget what it’s like in the non-polishing world and it’s like “Oh I just painted my nails myself, no biggie”, but to others it’s like “omg!! How did you do that?!”
    I love the addition of the glitter to your rainbow mani!!

  4. I love the look of this! Anytime I use bar glitter I hate it on me though. But I’m probably doing something wrong haha!
    I am a fan of dumping sparse glitter onto tin foil and smearing it around with a sponge, then dabbing the glitter on with the sponge. The sponge soaks up the extra base and my nails aren’t so thick.
    I also have Fergie’s Holly Walk Of Fame… I just dumped that onto foil and placed the stars where I wanted them πŸ™‚

    • Yeah I will definitely only use that “gleequin style” in the future. And I like to do the sponging thing too but whenever I try that I ALWAYS dab too much and get bubbles! It’s terrible!! 😦

  5. I usually don’t get into the specifics of my nails because I know it’ll be me sounding like a zealot and the person not getting it. I know this because if I ever get in a bout of enthusiasm and try to explain the specifics of my nails, I sound like a zealot and the person doesn’t get it. πŸ™‚
    I can’t decide whether I like these better with or without the black and white glitter! I think maybe without? Why does your blog make me so indecisive, lol? Normally I’m pretty clear-cut. I guess it’s just hard for me to choose between “awesome” and “maybe slightly more awesome” options, haha. πŸ˜‰
    Ooo, good call on reminding us of Cynthia’s glitter method. I’m practically smacking my head like, “Great Odin’s raven, how genius!” right now.
    Also, nice linking opportunity for your “bubbling” tutorial. Yeah, I see you sneaking that in there. πŸ˜‰
    I only got Running in Circles from ChG Worlds Away, but it was one of my favorite manis this year. Sidenote: they showed that movie on the plane on my last trip and I found it completely unwatchable, lol. I gave up after the first two minutes. I guess Cirque is not my thing.
    If I really, really hate a bottle of polish, either because of the formula or the color on me, I literally give it away. Like take it to the nail salon if I am getting a pedicure and just leave it there, because maybe someone will get use out of it. This was before I knew about blog sales/swaps, but even still, if I hated it due to formula, I’d probably still do it.

    • I have some that I hate and that are totally useless for me but I can’t give them away or sell them cuz I feel like yuck who’d want this?!? I should drop it off at a salon tho cuz then I wouldn’t care cuz someone might or might not like it but I wouldn’t feel like I was dumping it on them cuz they’d have to choose to take it or whatever. Anyway- that was a good plug for the bubbling thing, huh? πŸ˜‰ I should go on Leno. :p Thanks for all the compliments. I’m like literally thisclose to falling asleep here so I feel like my responses are lame at best. :-/

  6. Glad the Cynthia method worked for you! hehehe I do remember that this polish was impossible to work with unless I did the whole dabbing thing with my dotting tool. I really like this combination.

    • Thanks! Yep your method made all the difference. I’m considering trying that method w my Clowning Around too, cuz it really didn’t want to cooperate and bubbled up for me when I used it the night before last. :-/

Commenting is Caring!! ;D

