Lush Lacquer Neon Lights w a Neon Gradient Accent Nail

Hey There Polished People!

When I went camping the weekend before last I wore some cute neon nails that I may have told some of you about already but today I am finally ready to share them with you!! 🙂 I recently bought two polishes from Lush Lacquer (find their Etsy shop here) and couldn’t wait to try them out, so for my camping mani I decided to use one of the polishes- Neon Lights on all my fingers except for one nail accented with a neon gradient using the same colors from Neon Lights. I absolutely LOVED how it turned out. I don’t even have anything else to add to this post before I show you. Just behold the neon goodness-

Lush Lacquer Neon Lights w a Neon Gradient Accent Nail

LushLacquerNeonLightsKiwiCooladaFlipFlopFantasyGlowStick (2)

LushLacquerNeonLightsKiwiCooladaFlipFlopFantasyGlowStick (3)

How To Get These Nails:

  1. Apply your basecoat.
  2. Paint all nails except for the accent nail with 3ish coats of Lush Lacquer Neon Lights. (see quick review below this tutorial)
  3. Paint your accent nail with 2 thin or 2 thick coat of Nina Ultra Pro French White, or your favorite white polish.
  4. Apply Jessica Brilliance to all of your nails. Allow especially the accent nail to dry to the touch before moving on to the next step. Your Neon Lights nails are done. 🙂
  5. When your white accent nail is dry to the touch, paint three stripes of ChG Kiwi Coolada, Orly Glowstick and ChG Flip Flop Fantasy onto a makeup sponge like so- (ignore the extra green stripe, I just used that to fully cover my tips with green)LushLacquerNeonLightsKiwiCooladaFlipFlopFantasyGlowStick
  6. Use the sponge to dab the polish onto your nail, moving it ever so slightly to blur the colors together a bit.
  7. Repaint the sponge and redab if you feel like you need a little more opacity or a smoother gradient.
  8. When your accent gradient looks right to you, apply a final coat of Jessica Brilliance and ta-daa! You’re done! How cute are these nails!!! 😀

Quick Review of Lush Lacquer Neon Lights:

Color:

Neon Lights is an awesome mixture of neon yellow, orange, pink and green glitter of various sizes in a milky white base.

Formula/ Application:

The application of this glitter is awesome. It’s not goopy so it wont leave you bubbled, the glitter comes out EASILY (ahhhh! *angels singing*) and it goes on pretty smooth. I would recommend that instead of applying three or four coats of this polish to reach perfect opacity like I did, that you apply some white polish undies first and then 2 coats of Neon Lights. There’s just no reason to waste your precious polish, and also it will help the polish not get so thick with multiple layers of large glitter. The only application issue to watch out for is that since some of the glitter is so large, sometimes it has a tendency, at least for me, to like pop out of the polish after a couple of days. To remedy this potential problem, just make sure you apply a couple of coats of topcoat to keep those bad boys in place. I went a little thin with my Jessica Brilliance and had a few of the huge hexes pop out after about 3 days. I don’t really see this as a problem because after 3 days my nails are looking a little rough anyway, but just FYI. 🙂

Yes, Please! or No, Thank You:

YES, PLEASE!!! Seriously, I LOVE LOVE LOVE this polish. I recommend this to absolutely everyone. It looks as though when I’m typing this up that Neon Lights is still in stock, so please do yourself a favor and hop on over to the Lush Lacquer Etsy Shop now and order yourself a bottle of this and also Clowning Around (neon glitter in a clear base), which I’ll use and review later. 🙂 I don’t get any kind of kickback from referring you, I bought my Lush Lacquers myself for regular full price, in fact the ladies (a super-cute mom and daughter team) who make this brand likely don’t even know I exist, but the polish is just seriously THAT awesome. 😉

Do you have any Lush Lacquer polishes? How do you like my camping nails? Please weigh in in the comments below because I loved these nails so much that if no one even notices them I might cry. You don’t want to make me cry, do you?! 😉 Seriously though, thank you all for reading and till next time- Happy Polishing!! 😀

24 thoughts on “Lush Lacquer Neon Lights w a Neon Gradient Accent Nail

  1. I would love to love Neon Lights, but this polish and I just did not get along very well. I got Clowning Around, too, and wanted to love it the same, but for me, a lot of it with both of them is that the glitter payoff was very lacking. I have to use a sponge to apply CA or there’s hardly an glitter per coat. Neon Lights was too chunky and uneven, even with tons of Seche!

    • Really?? Did you get it long enough ago that maybe there was a formula change? Usually these indie glitters give me trouble like that but Neon Lights so far has been wonderful!! It does get a little thick, so next time I’ll use a white undercoat, but I found the glitter payout to be great! I haven’t tried Clowning Around on all my nails yet, just played a little w it on one nail, but so far that one seemed to have a lot of glitter per coat too! If I’m just getting lucky, I hope my luck continues! Haha.

  2. I love this total neon manicure!!!
    I’ve visited the shop… too bad I know there are some restriction with nail polish shipping, in fact I’m buying all my nail laquers just from shops in my country now 😦 sad sad

    • Aww that is too bad! I’m always surprised how hard it is to get your hands on nail polish for people who don’t live in N America. The good thing is that there are lots of cool indie brands coming out all over the place so hopefully you can still find fun polishes that can be shipped to you. 🙂

  3. This looks so pretty! I love the neon gradient!!!! Sadly, I don’t own any Lush Lacquer babies but you’re making me want some badly. I’m glad you had a great experience with this glitter polish because usually they are difficult to handle.

    • Thanks!!! And yeah I really found this formula to be the best chunky glitter formula I’ve tried. I get so frustrated when the glitter won’t come out and all you get on your nail is goofy clear base! 😦 Now let’s just hope our Mystic Glacier polish is as wonderful as it looked on Frosso! (Fingers crossed!!)

  4. Very cute! So cute! Ear-searingly cute! 😉 I was particularly tickled when I saw how you did the accent nail. For some reason I thought it would involve some three-step process, but this is way better. What a cool idea! 😉
    I don’t have any Lush Lacquers, either, but have certainly heard good things about them. I heard from Radha that there is another version of Clowning Around coming out with more blue/green in it that I thought looked interesting.
    I am going to make a confession here – I’m a little leery of indie glitters. As a caveat, I’ve only really tried one of mine once, but here is why. I put one coat of a base color (which I will likely always do instead of building it up) under two coats of an indie glitter (it’s a well-known brand, but I don’t want to say anything critical about them because this could be a fluke and/or my fault). Then I did one coat of Gelous for evening it all out (it was definitely needed) and a coat of Seche. It looked awesome, but it chipped immediately. I’m not even sure if I made it to the party the following evening before they chipped. So I feel like these kind of polishes have to be babied and aren’t going to withstand my normal week or so of wear. But, I don’t know, maybe I need to experiment more. It’s just experiences like that stick with me and then I don’t want to risk the failure if I’m going to do my nails.
    Anyway, that my secret reservation, lol. Hopefully I am just a dummy and can get back on the indie loving train with the rest of the world. :p

    • Wow it even seared your ears?? Now THAT is good. ;p I totally get you on the indie leeriness. That’s part of the reason why I only have a handful. I don’t wear my polish as long as you and I haven’t had any chip like the very next day, but what I run into that I HATE is a glitter that’s a major glitter bomb, yet none of the glitter will come out and the base is so thick you end up w gross water-bed lookin nails (all poofy and wavy) and if you thin it then you LITERALLY get zero glitter out. Plus I find most indies to be a little hard to get ahold of. These lush lacquers have been the easiest to get ahold of for me, and the best glitter bomb formula, although I’ve only messed w the clowning around. I’m hoping to do a legit mani w it tomorrow. The accent nail here was so easy! Hence why I got all high on the hog and went for a full rainbow gradient mani which needed a little help.

  5. I HATE these….why would you even post this???? Ohhhhhhh did I get your blood boiling? 😉 hehe…you know I’m going to love these! You matched the neon glitters perfectly with your gradient. Great idea on doing a neon for camping, incase you get lost Daniel can find you by the neon radiation your hands will be giving off.
    I haven’t purchased Lush Lacquer in a super long time. I know I sold some in my last blog sale, so I’m not sure if I have any…maybe one. I should check. I also don’t think I have any neon glitters.

    • I love these neon glitters! I can’t believe you don’t have any!! And yes- these were more of a safety feature than a fashion statement. You know me- always being practical! ;p
      PS: Nice try w the hating at the beginning. It actually would have cracked me up if you hated this!

  6. this is so gorgeous. You and the bright manis lately, LOVE it! I love the new neons, A girl at work got one.. the one with more purples and pinks its so pretty! I still need to pick mine up, I think there are 2 or 3 and I am just not sure which one I like better. maybe this one. ❤

    • Ugh there are so many!! And a whole new collection coming out soon too! I’m glad you’re enjoying the bright nails cuz I guess I’m sorta on a bright kick… for now. 😉

Commenting is Caring!! ;D

