Funky French Matte Black Tip

I’m sure everyone’s seen those awesome nails that are glossy black with a matte black tip. They’re so pretty, they’re simple to do and they make a big statement. Plus, I don’t know about you, but I love black nails and especially black nails with just a little something to set them apart. Here is my version of those:

How To Get These Nails:

  1. Apply Ulta basecoat.
  2. Apply 2 coats OPI Lucerne-tainly Look Marvelous.
  3. Apply a coat of Seche Vite and allow to dry thoroughly.
  4. Once dry, use craft scissors to cut tape in desired shape.
  5. Tape off nails with cut tape, leaving tips exposed.
  6. Paint tips with Finger Paints Black Expressionism, do not remove tape.
  7. 2 nails at a time, apply 1 coat of Essie Matte About You, then remove tape. Repeat for all nails.
  8. Do not apply topcoat… your nails are done! πŸ˜€

I had a lot of fun trying the different edge designs made by my craft scissors. Sometimes it was hard to get my scissors to cut the tape perfectly, but I found if I actually stuck the tape to one side of the scissors, then closed the scissors to cut it, it worked much better. You’ll just have to try it with different scissors and see what works for you. I thought these were really fun and the combination of the Lucerne-tainly Look Marvelous and the matte black was really cool. I’ll definitely be wearing these again. Till next time- Happy Polishing!

5 thoughts on “Funky French Matte Black Tip

  1. I really like these. I also saw some pics where the tips are glossy and the rest of the nail is matte, also looks great. I need to pick up Essie Matte About You! Btw, I tried using the new image plates I got from Bundle Monster, and it worked out much better for me πŸ™‚

    • A glossy tip would be more durable too, so that’s awesome. Did you get the 25 piece set? That’s what I have and I love it, too. The stamping kits are so fun! I added a little blurb to the end of my Salon Express review since I’m apparently the only person who got one that worked. That’s so disappointing when you get something, are excited about trying it then it turns out to be a piece of junk! I’m glad you got the BM ones, AND that they work! πŸ˜‰

  2. Also, is the O.P.I nail polish called Lucerne-tainly Look Fabulous or Lucerne-tainly Look Marvelous? I couldnt find the Fabulous one….

    • Hahaha YES!! I’ll have to change that! I always say the wrong one and I guess I just went with it while writing this post! Sorry you were looking for it under the wrong name. :-/ Thank you for bringing me back to my senses! Haha. It’s a really nice polish but it’s a little hard to find if you have the wrong name! πŸ™‚

Commenting is Caring!! ;D