Gold and Turquoise Half-Moon Nails (aka: My Nearly Nailed Knockoff Nails!)

Hey There Polished People!

I always say I have two states of being- slightly overdressed (when I’m out in public) and derelict hobo (at home). I am absolutely not kidding you that as soon as I walk in the door from work or one of my husband’s basketball games or even just shopping I go straight into my room, slip out of my cute shoes, drop my jeans or dress pants like I melted like the wicked witch of the west, put on some hideous men’s sweat pants or these wonderful (re: hideous) fleece leggings-type pants I got at Old Navy like 5 or more years ago that literally have holes melted in them (small holes!) from campfires and one of many over-sized hoodies. I put my hair up in the highest top-knot semi-bun you’ve ever seen and sometimes even flip my hood up. You would not want to see me at my house. How does that relate to these nails? Well, in short, the answer is “loosely.” I was sitting at home like that on Friday evening when all of the sudden one text message later we were headed out to a party. My nails were different on each hand because I’d just been messing around with them, and I was in my usual derelict hobo state. Now a normal person would probably just remove their nail polish, get ready and go, but NO! I am NOT going anywhere with naked nails! A normal person who didn’t want naked nails would probably just paint them one color but NO! I did not want plain nails. So I decided to do my base design for some recreated nails I’ve been wanting to do ever since I saw them on Nearly Nailed. She did these awesome cobalt blue and white half moon nails with dotting and ever since I saw them I just loved them and had to have them. They reminded me a little of Siobhan’s nails from her header that I’ve always wanted to recreate (and will be doing that soon, hopefully!)Β Β and I decided that I could just do the half-moon to wear to the party and add the dotting later. So that’s just what I did. Ready to see my party nails?

Turquoise and Gold Half-Moon Nails

GoodAsGoldOPIFly (2)

 

GoodAsGoldOPIFlyI loved these nails!!! This winter lighting is just NOT cooperating for me so I’m sorry the pictures are kinda odd, thank goodness summer is just around the corner… well, at least spring is. πŸ™‚ If you don’t know how to do half-moon nails it’s super easy.

How To Get These Nails

  1. Paint your nails with your basecoat.
  2. Paint your nails the base color (in this case, Essie Good As Gold).
  3. Apply a coat of topcoat (I used SH Mega Shine, but Seche would be quicker) and allow your nails to dry thoroughly.
  4. Snip one edge of a hole-enforcement ring and use the broken circle to tape off the half-moon.
  5. Paint the exposed nail with OPI Fly and quickly remove the hole-enforcement ring.
  6. Repeat for all nails and when they’re slightly dry apply your final layer of top coat. Ta-daaa!

So after we went to the party, the next day I wanted to finish my Nearly Nailed knockoff nails. I did these by adding dots of the same polishes with a dotting tool.

Nearly Nailed Knockoff Nails

GoodAsGoldOPIFlyRecreatedMani (2)

 

GoodAsGoldOPIFlyRecreatedManiNow, I hope you all checked out her original version of these nails cuz they’re way better. I wanted more dots but the extra dots ruined it. 😦 I should have left my nails alone after I did the big gold dots with the turquoise inside and the tiny gold dots. Oh well, sometimes that happens. At least my half-moon nails were awesome for the party. πŸ™‚

No one commented on them, though (RUDE!!! jk) but it was pretty funny cuz I did my hair all cute, which is rare for me. I straightened my hair, gave it some body on top then kinda wove the sides back into a half pony-type do, then swooped my hair over my shoulder and did a fishtail braid with it. It was very Pinterest-worthy, if I do say so myself. πŸ˜‰ Anyway, so I had my hair like that and was wearing some cute grey booties, my go-to skinny jeans, a light pink with opalescent sequins tank top under a cream-colored open knit/crocheted three quarter-length sleeve top, and I was thinking hey, this is a cute outfit!! Well, one of the guys at the party was this super tatted up, big nose ring, rugby player-looking dude and he came right in to the house and came straight to me and said, quote, “I really like your hair. I’m straight but I just had to tell you that.” And in behind him walks his girlfriend! Haha. It was the funniest thing!! I seriously thought maybe he was making fun of me cuz I was kinda overdressed compared to other people there, but he had to be serious. He was the nicest guy and his gf seemed really nice but was really quiet and didn’t say anything to me all night, but yeah… that cracked me up!! You just never know what people are going to say to you. Even if they don’t notice your nails! ;p

Weren’t Nicole’s (from Nearly Nailed) nails so cute?? She has some super awesome designs. I feel like I could just recreate her manis for daysssss. And how about Siobhan’s?? I LOVE those. Cynthia recently recreated them so I’ll let those breathe for a bit and then I’m going to jump on the bandwagon and do Siobhan’s nails, too. πŸ™‚ I don’t really have any question to pose today I guess, so… say something in the comments below, would ya??! πŸ˜‰ Thanks for reading and till next time- Happy Polishing!! πŸ˜€

 

 

35 thoughts on “Gold and Turquoise Half-Moon Nails (aka: My Nearly Nailed Knockoff Nails!)

  1. i really liked the half moons.. the recycling mani was nice though, the half moons were.. beautiful..
    i know what you mean about wearing plain nude nails.. i mean, people know my nails i can’t disappoint them wearing nude plain nails.. i just can’t.. that’s the only thing fancy or over-dressed about me..
    i’m always wearing weird stuff.. according to people i am a hipster. i am not.

  2. Mani’s that you try recreate from others are always a little bit of a challenge. i reckon its cos you have that frame of reference but, I love this! It looks great and I really need to get Fly. It’s so pretty.

    • I think you’re exactly right. You have a good visual of what you want it to look like and sometimes it just doesn’t match up. Fly is really pretty, but if you get it make sure you NEVER skip the basecoat, cuz it’ll stain like crazy! πŸ™‚

  3. i love those! both the dotted and undotted! i think ill be recreating these in the near future,i just got some dotting tools yesterday! i do the same thing when i get home! its more comfortable!

  4. Noooo you did a very good job! I even like the colours you used better πŸ™‚ I’m probably going to copy this look..:P And that guys girlfriend doesn’t seem to like you that much haha.

    • Aww thanks!! And yeah I was kinda wondering about the gf… Maybe she was just shy. πŸ˜‰ She seemed nice tho! I hope you do do these nails! πŸ™‚ they’ll be cute!

  5. OH MY OH MY OH MY! WOW WOW WOW!
    I LOVE the half moons! The colours are perfection. I LOVE your version of Nearly Nailed’s main. It is unique and SO different. Stands out. I can’t get over it or stop looking at this photo :O :O it is stunning! It reminds me of water bubbles.

    HAHA you sound like me. I’m cute when I go out but a hobo at home. O_o whaaaaaaaaa? It’s comfy and free flowing LOL!!

  6. I love both versions! The second one kinda looks like a doily πŸ™‚ I’m the same way with being super relaxed at home. The second I come home from anywhere I throw everything off and put on sweats or yoga pants. In the winter it’s usually sweats and a pair of my many fuzzy slipper socks.
    P.S. Don’t the best compliments always come from the unexpected? lol

    • Yes it does look like a metallic, colorful doily. I wonder if my grandma could make one? πŸ˜‰ I only trust people who look like bums at their houses… who wants to wear their cute clothes at home all the time? They’re not as comfy as sweats and I don’t even want to wear my nice clothes so they might get stained or wore out quicker or something. And yes, the compliment was nice I was just caught off-guard and like huh??? at first.

  7. I absolutely love these! I sold my bottle of Fly and now I wish I hadn’t…but I bet I wouldn’t use it because of how bad it stains my nails. Wah wah. I really love the half moon look the best but the dotting also looks great. Good show!

  8. haha the first part cracked me up, I do the same thing, I dont put my hair up though, but I go right upstairs, drop the pants and shoes and onward with sweatpants or PJ pants lollol I love this mani! I love the way the metallics look with solids! and these two together are gorgeous! Love the dots added too! ❀

    • I am not even exaggerating when I say that. We just went out with some friends, I got home like… 7 minutes ago?… and I’m already in slippers, sweats, sports bra and hoodie. I haven’t totally hobo-ified my hair yet but it was already in a pony tail so it doesn’t have far to go! πŸ˜‰

  9. OK, so I am super-behind on commenting, but I have still been reading posts, and I have to say the first thing that came to mind after seeing these was I LOVE THESE!!! And I can re-create them with close-enough colors, so, double win! πŸ™‚ I think I actually like the “party” version better, but can appreciate that the final nails look more complicated than I think they are to do.
    And I love this post for so many more reasons other than the nails. Exhibit A – slightly overdressed and derelict hobo. I AM EXACTLY THE SAME. Exhibit B – changing into sweats and putting up hair THE SECOND you get home. I AM EXACTLY THE SAME (except add in taking out my contacts and putting on my glasses). Exhibit C – doing your nails because you’re going out and goodness, you can’t have busted or unpainted nails if you’re going out. I AM EXACTLY THE SAME. Exhibit D – hair rarely looks cute, although I am capable of making it look cute. I AM EXACTLY THE SAME. Although, I don’t know how to fishtail braid…or french braid…so I’m jelly! πŸ˜‰

    • First off, thanks about the nails. Now onto important things- I LOVED your exhibits. Haha. We are two peas in a pod, aren’t we? Hahaha. Seriously though, I am not lying ONE BIT about anything. I look like a straight up BUM when I’m at home. And even when I went out to pizza on Friday I wore a knit blazer, patent heels and cute jewelry… there is no other way for me to be. :p I’m glad to hear I’m not alone!

      • We really are, because I’m like, “Hmm…I have a knit blazer…hmm…I have patent heels…hmm…I have cute jewelry…” hahaha. Sometimes I wonder if my brother even knows what I look like when I am “done up” because I am always in “bum” mode around the house!

    • No they are not! Yours were better but I have to agree w you on the colors- they are pretty cute, huh?? πŸ˜‰ Your nails still win tho. You are the cat’s pajamas! πŸ˜‰

  10. Pingback: iHoot : Nails, Nails, Nails!!!!

  11. Pingback: 60+ Stunning Half Moon Nail Art Designs & Tutorials - Noted List

  12. Pingback: Pretty Nails to Try: Half Moon Nail Designs - 101 NailDesign

  13. Pingback: Pretty Nails to Try: Half Moon Nail Designs

Commenting is Caring!! ;D