Easy Denim Herringbone Nails

Hey There Polished People!

I hope you all had a nice weekend and those of you in the US, I hope you got a three-day-weekend and enjoyed it. My mom had Presidents’ Day off so we went shopping for some new tennis shoes for me and guess what? Wommmp wommmmmpppp… unsuccessful shopping trip. I hate when that happens!! I just want some cute but not-too-expensive tennis shoes, and all I could find were shoes that were in the wrong sizes for me and a few that were way too expensive. Booo!!! I’m hoping to go look at some other shoes tomorrow and maybe find a pair. I don’t need a new pair for any specific reason, I just seriously only have ONE pair of athletic shoes that I bought like IN HIGH SCHOOL!!! I am 28 years old… that was a while ago!! Haha. So, needless to say, I’m a woman on a mission πŸ˜‰ Keep your fingers crossed for me tomorrow!

Today I have some super cute and easy nails to show you. All you really need is some blue polish and a silver striper or a striping brush and some silver polish. Ready to see em?

Denim Herringbone Nails

RockAGuyBlueSilverStripeRite (2)

 

RockAGuyBlueSilverStripeRite

 

How To Get These Nails

  1. Use your favorite basecoat.
  2. Paint your nails with Sation Rock A Guy Blue. I used two coats.
  3. Apply one thin layer of Cult Nails Doppelganger to add some shimmer and a denim look to the blue polish.
  4. When your nails are dry to the touch, use a silver Stripe Rite striper to make vertical lines down the length of your nails.
  5. Next, add the slanted lines between the vertical nails, making sure they don’t meet on either side of the vertical lines to create the herringbone pattern.
  6. When the striping is slightly dry use your favorite topcoat. I have been using SH Mega Shine, which dries quick and shiny, but not quite as hard as Seche Vite, hence the squishing/wrinkle on my pinkie. 😦

These nails aren’t all that special exactly, but they were cute enough for a day at work, which is where I wore them. Also, which NEVER happens, they matched my outfit perfectly. I wore a navy top with subtle striping and then I had these nails so I was, like, SUPER matchy-matchy. I don’tΒ necessarilyΒ think that’s a good thing, but it’s okay. πŸ™‚

Let me know if you did anything exciting over the weekend and how you liked these nails! As always thanks for reading and till next time- Happy Polishing!! πŸ˜€

24 thoughts on “Easy Denim Herringbone Nails

    • Thank you! I don’t know why but I like my nails to NOT match, haha. I don’t want them to clash horribly, but I do like them to kinda offset my outfit. Is that weird? Haha. I bet yours always look super great and match perfectly πŸ™‚

    • I found them!! πŸ™‚ I went to a different store and what do you know- they had like 12 pairs. Only two in my size but hey! That’ll work! πŸ™‚ Thanks about the nails.

  1. These are simple and yet so cute. Lately I’ve been all about buying shoes. Since I have a longer than usual walk from the office to the parking lot, I’d rather wear flats than heels. I’m obsessed with flats now. The only time I ever wear sneakers is when I go to the gym which hasn’t been very often lately. lol

    • I love flats, too. I absolutely love my heels, wedges, etc but man, it seems on days I wear especially impractical shoes I end up walking sooo much and my feet kill me. There’s nothing uglier than someone hobbling around on a cute pair of shoes, so I definitely don’t want that to be me. I needed some tennis shoes so I can like walk the dogs and just have some nice new springy athletic shoes. I thought it was a good time to get some since I could use a little light exercise while I’m pregnant. πŸ™‚

  2. Ugh I HATE it when I’m on a mission to buy something and come up empty. Of course when I’m not looking to buy anything I want everything I see….I hope you find a pair you like soon! I really like how simple, but nice your nails turned out. I wasn’t in the mood to do anything nail related tonight, but now you’ve given me the itch again…I will blame you for my staying up late tonight πŸ˜›
    I used to always unintentionally match my nails to my outfit. I would do my nails the night before and the next day after I change I realize I’m matching…I guess when I had a color on my mind it really showed. Now I’ve kinda lost that since I’m lucky to finish a whole mani or even pick out my clothes with both eyes open.

    • Haha.. you like to pick out your outfits blind huh? πŸ˜‰ Sounds interesting!
      I found my shoes today!! πŸ™‚ I got the Nike Revolution 2s (like that means anything!) and they’re light grey with bright/neon blue details and laces the color of Flip Flop Fantasy. I LOVE THEM!! πŸ™‚ I had to go to a different store but I found em. It’s funny when you’re looking for something particular how it’s so hard to find them. In fact, tonight I was looking at maternity clothes tonight online and found like $200+ worth of stuff I “had to have” and btw… I don’t need them. Haha. I could use some comfy pants tho so I might go find some this weekend for work next week. There’s nothing worse than having to be at work and feel like you’re stuffed into a sausage casing. 😦 Hopefully I can find something that will work this weekend… wish me luck. :p

      • I kinda know what sneakers you’re talking about! I’ve been noticing a lot of girls in my boxing class wearing neon nikes and now I want them too, but I’m too poor for sneakers right now so I just go barefoot lol. Is it weird I’m jealous you get to buy maternity clothes? Sometimes I see the most awesome maternity clothes and I’m like DAMN IT….but I want it >.< … I do that too with kids clothes sometimes too, so maybe my taste is just all over the place. Oh well, At least in the summer you'll be able to wear loose flowy dresses when you're at your widest πŸ˜€ Btw you should probably start teaching your husband how to paint your toe nails for when the time comes when you can't reach/see them. I'm half joking half serious there…. πŸ˜›

        • That’s a valid concern!! I didn’t even think about that!! Oh no I might have to get a pedicure and have someone else touch my feet. That is seriously terrifying. 😦 I hope I can find some cute maternity clothes. I think my existing summer dresses will fit for quite a while but I did already find a REALLY cute white eyelet dress on the Old Navy website. I’m excited to get maternity clothes and LOOK pregnant. Right now I’m just kinda… bloated. Haha. Not fun! I’ll post a pic on IG of my new shoes when I get them out. πŸ™‚ they’re cute.

  3. So I bought my first pair of “gym” shoes by spending FOR-EV-ER in Sports Authority trying on a million pairs. When those wore out (although I still have them for dog-walking and wearing on the beach when I visit my friend in Monterey), I went to this fancy place downtown that a friend recommended. I never liked the pair I got there as much as that first pair. So, I guess the lesson is, stick with your gut! Also: stick with Asics, although be prepared to pay for those Asics, haha.
    OK, now that I’ve read the comments, you have your shoes, so, yay! I don’t have good luck with Nikes…they’re too narrow for me.
    Check out Target for maternity clothes! I always want their stuff and am like, oh, dangit, like Frosso said!
    I like the Sation color with the Cult Nails topper over it. I think I would not be able to concentrate on getting the herringbone design correct, haha.
    I prefer my nails to not match, but not to clash with my outfit. But as I only do my nails about once a week, it just kind of is what it is. I only really “plan” them for my outfit if I’m going to some kind of event.

    • I’m exactly the same.. I only plan my nails according to outfits when I’m going somewhere special and then it seems like I usually just do something sorta plain… like no stamping at least. Idk why really.

      I will check Target. I bet I’ll find some cute tops there cuz I have done the same thing- went ohh this is cute!! Wait.. it’s maternity?! I actually have a friend who bought maternity tops there and she wasn’t even pregnant cuz she just thought they were cute! Haha. I hope they weren’t all shirred at the sides, but I never noticed so they must have been fine! I’m excited to actually look pregnant so I can do the whole maternity thing. I read that most people “pop” between 12 and 18 weeks, so I’m hoping within the next month or so I’ll start to look it. Right now… I look normal to slightly fatter depending on the day and the outfit. :-/

      • Aww…I’ve kinda been wanting to go check out clothes at Target, too…I wish we could go together! *pout*
        I really haven’t noticed my friends looking pregnant until around 5 months, and they look pretty noticably pregnant from about 6 months on. I hope it happens for you soon, though!

        • I read that people usually “pop” between 12-18 weeks so I guess I have 1-7 weeks to go. :-/ I’ll be patient. When I’m a dang blimp I’ll probably be wishing for these days.

Commenting is Caring!! ;D

