The Anatomy Of A Nail Design

Hey There Polished People!

In case you don’t know, I just so happen to be one of Big Daddy Beauty’s Top 10 Nail Blogs. As part of that list they sent me some polishes for review and to promote their site. The most amazing thing about their site is that they literally have every color of Stripe Rite stripers you could possible want. Click the link in my side bar and you’ll see what I mean. Stripe Rite is my personal favorite brand for striping polish, as it’s smooth and opaque and the brush is just right for thin or medium width lines. Anyway, so when they sent me the polishes, one that they included was China Glaze Mahogany Magic. It’s a nice brown polish and I have swatched it before (see that post here) but didn’t do much else with it that I can remember. I have been seeing all these awesome ruffian nails lately and I’ve never tried the look myself. I saw some nails that were different blues and maybe silver in different finishes and I thought they looked so awesome so I wanted to try something similar. I pulled out ChG Mahogany Magic, Essie Penny Talk and ChG Desert Sun and thought they’d all look good together since they’re all pretty earthy and the coppery color would be a contrasting finish. Well, here’s how they turned out.

IMG_4346

IMG_4348

IMG_4347

I don’t think these are completely barf-worthy but they weren’t that great. Ehhh actually- they’re pretty barfy. More turdy actually, with all the browns. I felt kind of bad because I wanted them to look cool but then in the end Mahogany Magic was like, “C’mon Nicole?!! Really?! Why do you have to make me look like crap (literally)? What did I ever do to you? I’m a nice opaque brown polish, I don’t make your skin look gross and sallow. I clean up well and dry quickly. What did I ever do to you, huh? WHAT?! TELLL MEEE!!!” It sounded pretty upset and frankly desperate so I was like “ALRIGHT ALRIIIIGHTTTT!! I’ll do something else with you!” While I was having this intense debate with my brown nail polish (that’s totally normal, right?) I was also accidentally watching That 70’s Show. I don’t even really like it, it was just on after the news and I didn’t bother to change the channel cuz I wasn’t really watching TV… you know the story. So I was in a 70’s-type mood (not stoned, you jerks, just into the colors and stuff!) so I pulled out a flower-child-like stamping plate (CH 50) and my orange stamping polish (SH Heat Flash) and did this.

70s Flower Nails

70s Flower Nails2

I think my second design looks a lot better, although it’s not exactly my style. For what it was, all inspired by That 70’s Show and stuff, I think it’s alright. What do you think? Do you have nail designs that evolve all chaotically such as this one? Let me know in the comments below. If you want to pick up this polish or some of those Stripe Rite stripers, make sure to check out BigDaddyBeauty.com! Thanks for reading and till next time- Happy Polishing!! 😀

15 thoughts on “The Anatomy Of A Nail Design

    • Yeah I agree. Idk what was different about the nails I saw but they looked so good!! Maybe they all bad the same under color or something. Anyway- whatever. Thanks about the second design. It was much better although still nothing too too special. 🙂

  1. I have to agree that the second design looks much better because the first one…uuuhhh…Nicole, you know I love you and that I love to talk about turds and all, but man…even I did not like those browns together. I like the idea of the mani and I would love to see you do it with different colors. Sometimes I have no idea what terms means so when you said ruffian look I was totally confused because I kept thinking: horse nails?? I don’t know what the flowery design reminds me of, but it’s like a memory from my childhood. How weird!

    • Maybe you have a grandma that has a couch like that or something!! Haha. Yeah… trust me, I agree with you on the turd nails. I swear, the ones I saw that led me to believe that this would be a good idea were so pretty!! I promise. Idk if I’ll try them again. The memory of these nails will haunt my dreams forever. :p

  2. Nics, I really like both designs. I understand why you feel the first one is turdy but I really like it and think it’s due to the COLOUR of the polish that makes you feel that way.
    This is why I only have one brown polish, because it just looks turdy to and on me. The brown I have is more shimmery and coppery so it isn’t even turd brown but still.

    • Coppery brown isn’t too turdy at all. Wooden Shoe Like To Know from OPI is my favorite ever. This brown is nice w the right complementing colors but these were weren’t them. Haha.

  3. The ruffian mani confuses my eyes! I like the second one much better, although I’m not a big That 70s Show fan, either.
    You are NOT KIDDING about Big Daddy’s striper selection. Holy frijoles!

    • You know why it confuses you? Cuz your eyes don’t even want to acknowledge the hideousness that is my nails! Hahaha. Seriously tho- yikes. Oh well- it’s good to post ugly nails sometimes too. Right? Oh.. No? Whatever. :p

  4. I have been exploring for a little for any high-quality
    articles or blog posts on this sort of area . Exploring in Yahoo I finally stumbled upon this web site.

    Reading this info So i’m satisfied to convey that I’ve an incredibly just right uncanny feeling I
    discovered just what I needed. I most undoubtedly
    will make certain to don?t omit this site and provides
    it a look regularly.

Commenting is Caring!! ;D