I Have Sinned (you could call it Earth shattering)

Hello Everyone,

Today I have a confession to make. I hope no one loses respect for me as a nail blogger, but I’ve gotta come clean. I wore crackle/shatter polish on my nails for 2 days. And I liked it. Well, if I’m confessing, I guess I need to be completely honest. Dr. Phil always says if you wanna deal with something you have to be completely honest… so, I LOVED it! This was the top nail trend of 2010, so old that it’s definitely out but not so old that it’s coming back in, and I rocked it and was happy about it. I would promise not to do it again, but I can’t do that. I predict I’ll be shattering it up again sometime soon cuz I just really liked it that much. I’m rationalizing it by saying it doesn’t look like the typical shatter polish, but I know that’s just an excuse.

Earth Shattering Confession Nails:

These nails were so easy and I thought they turned out so great!!! Don’t you think with different colors they’re look like a tortoise shell? All I did was apply a couple of coats of Ulta Concrete Evidence, apply a coat of Seche Vite to give me a nice smooth surface over which to apply the shatter, then apply a coat of OPI Superbass Shatter in a zig-zag pattern and let it do its thing. When it was done, I applied another coat of Seche and called it macaroni. šŸ™‚

I have to tell you that the shatter trend was the first time I REALLY got into nails. I always liked nails of course, but when the shatter polishes came out they REALLY flipped a switch and made me get into texture and nail art and stuff like that. It was the first time I realized what a ground-breaking different top coat makes and just really changed my nail polish life. Now, did I think I’d be rocking shatter today? No. But it does hold a spot in my heart šŸ˜‰ What was the catalyst to your nail obsession? Do you still wear shatter polish or are you going to hop back on the bandwagon with the glitter crackles/shatters coming out lately? Thanks for reading!

16 thoughts on “I Have Sinned (you could call it Earth shattering)

  1. When I started reading this I thought you had done something horrible like kicked a puppy or something. šŸ˜¦ Well, shatter/crackle is almost as bad. hehehe. I am one of those people that NEVER got into that trend. I think I tried it maybe two or three times and didn’t really think it was that interesting. I am tired of seeing OPI release shatters. Enough already! However, I think that everyone has different tastes and if you like shatters rock them! (I just started humming Herbie Hancock and doing the worm.) I do like how the zig zag brush strokes make it look different than the usual chunky pieces.

    • Hahaha no… No puppy kicking. Not on purpose anyway. Sometimes my little dog (who’s KINDA an idiot) gets in front of me and she’ll get the boot. Anyways- I have a love hate relationship with shatters. Like I said they kinda kicked off my obsession and I think they’re interesting but I’m with you for goodness sake OPI and China Glaze and NOPI- shatters are over!! Quit coming out with them! Plus- people wear them without topcoat all the time- now THAT is a sin. I had feather extensions like a year and a half ago and the lady was a nail tech too and wore some shatter polish with no top coat and I was like “I’d NEVER get my nails done by someone who wore shatter with no topcoat!” I was appalled. Do you have a major nail sin that drives you nuts?

  2. I wanna say in the words of Dr. Phil “how’s that workin’ for ya’?” LOL! I have to admit I still love the crackle.I don’t plan on buying anymore,but what I do own being used for an upcoming mani,and the rest,they are still waiting for me to get to them,as they are still in my untrieds.

    • Haha. I love Dr Phil even tho he is a bit much at times. I can hear his voice when I read that. The shatter polished are definitely interesting, it’s just unfortunate that everyone and their mother came out with 14 of them cuz it killed em for me (for the most part. Haha).

  3. i really tried to love Shatter polish…. i even own 4 bottles. But i won’t use them…. Yours, however, is great!!!!! it actually looks like a design —- as opposed to the messiness I seemed to create when I tried my shatter polishes. lol

    • I have like 8 bottles!! Haha. I have all the colors they came out with through the Nicki Minaj collection. Thanks for the compliment on mine- I thought they looked ALMOST stamp-ish, too. šŸ™‚ I think the key is a good, dry, smooth surface and the zigzag strokes. Sometimes when I used to use the shatters I couldn’t even get them to look decent but with the zigzag pattern it seemed to alleviate that. šŸ™‚

    • Hey, that’s ok! šŸ™‚ I am a lover of all things nail polish and if they wouldn’t have became the go-to nail trend I’d still be liking them. They’re cool.

  4. *shaking head* ….I guess I’ll give you a shatter free pass for this since it actually looks good. I think your zig zag application really saved it šŸ™‚ I have a few shatters, but I haven’t used them in forever. I used my black one like crazy when they first came out, but its gotten very goopy. Did you see the Barry M crocodile pattern one?

    • Thanks for the pass!!! haha. I just checked out the Barry M polishes and they’re a little different but basically the same thing. Plus, one of the nails in the video tutorial looks like CRAP so if they can’t even get it to turn out perfect, you know it’s gonna be hit or miss in real life. Do you have that polish?

  5. lol! I really like the zigzag way you applied this shatter! I think the shatter and crackle polishes are a great way to do an easy and fun mani! Although, the trend kind of died, it’s still pretty fun to play with!

    • I completely agree. I just love this color… Too bad it’s a shatter. When I saw the previews for the collection I was like “Really… Nicki Minaj would SO not wear last years trend!!” but here I am sporting it so who knows. Haha. Maybe Roman’s into shatters. ;p if you don’t like Nicki Minaj you’re not gonna get this… Sorry. :-/

Commenting is Caring!! ;D