Essence Sweet As Candy Nail Art and Review

Hey There Polished People!

I know you’ve heard/read me rave about Essence polishes lately. The more I try of them the more I just absolutely love them! I keep saying I think they’re the most underrated drugstore brand of polish and I’m sticking to it. Essence is a brand that’s HUGE in Europe, and it’s only now starting to become a much-sought-after brand in North America. Trust me when I say you wanna jump on this bandwagon. πŸ™‚ I’ll tell you where you can find Essence products at the bottom of this post. For now let’s see the nail art I did with this polish and then I’ll tell you my thoughts on this particular color.

Essence Sweet As Candy

Essence Sweet As Candy stamped with BM 312 and Essie Nothing Else Metals

Essence Sweet As Candy stamped with BM 312 and Essie Nothing Else Metals

Jelly Sandwich done with Essence Sweet As Candy and OPI The Living Daylights

Jelly Sandwich done with Essence Sweet As Candy and OPI The Living Daylights

Color:

Essence Sweet As Candy is cotton candy for your nails. It’s a sweet baby pink color, although a bit sheer. For the nails I stamped over I think I applied 4 coats of polish. Granted, they were rather thin coats, but that’s still a lot and more than I expected. The good news is that this polish is perfect for a pink jelly sandwich. Who needs those Nails Inc sprinkles polishes when you can get the same look with this Essence polish and some glitter like you see in the second two photos? πŸ™‚

Formula/ Application:

Like I mentioned about, I thought Sweet As Candy took more coats of polish than I’d hoped but other than that the formula was great. Smooth, dried quickly, easy to apply all around. If you really hate VNL (visible nail line) you’ll want to use some undies with this or just apply a ton of coats. However if you’re looking for a soft, sheer pink perfect for french manicures and jelly sandwiches then this is your perfect pink polish.

Yes, Please! or No, Thank You:

I like this polish for jelly sandwiches and I think I’ll do some french manicure nails in the future, so for me this is a yes, please. That being said, this particular one isn’t my favorite Essence but that may be because I’m not THAT big of a “pink” fan, or a fan of VNL. πŸ™‚

If I Named This Polish I Would Call It: Naughty Ballerina PantiesΒ 

It’s baby pink but made to be sheer… you connect the dots.

How do you like this polish? Which nails were your favorite? Are you someone who hates VNL or does it not bug you? Also- have you bought any Essences? You can find them at Fred Meyer, Ulta and HEB in the US and Shoppers and Pharmaprix in Canada. πŸ™‚ Go out and grab some, their new colors for fall/winter of 2012 are really pretty! Thanks for reading and till next time- Happy Polishing!! πŸ˜€

**This product was provided by PR for honest review.**

21 thoughts on “Essence Sweet As Candy Nail Art and Review

    • Yeah I didn’t even want them at first, then decided hmm maybe I’ll get the copper one. Got that, then saw how well it stamped and picked up two more. πŸ™‚ I’ll probably grab the rest if I get a chance.

  1. I thought exactly the same thing! Very sheer, to the point that it gets annoying. But I’d never thought of using it for jelly sandwiches.. That, my dear, is genius! πŸ˜€

    I love Essence colours! Not to mention the price tag… I especially love Grey-t To Be Here and Chic Reloaded. Such lovely hues!

    • I haven’t tried those essences. I’ll have to keep an eye out for them! Yeah when I first tried it I was like ehhh too sheer. But then when I used it to layer I was like yayyy!! Perfect use for this polish.

  2. Baby pink and sheer? It’s not my bag, baby.
    My favorite nails were the stamped nails because they look so feminine and delicate, and we know how I tend to like your subtle looks, too!
    I’m not a huge fan of VNL, but it doesn’t drive me completely, completely insane.
    I don’t have any Essences *pout*. My Ulta does seem to be slowly upping its crapola level of stock, so I’m thinking positively. πŸ™‚

    • Yeah I feel you on the sheer baby pink. It’s not my favorite but I do like to change things up so I really do wanna try doing a French manicure with it. We’ll see if I get around to that. It sounds boring. :-/ I hope your ulta gets some in stock. Mine is super lame too and I’ve found the ones I’ve bought at Fred Meyer. I suppose you don’t have one of those tho… 😦

  3. You really worked this polish. I love how you did different manis with it because it shows that it’s rather versatile. I might have this one but I’m not sure. My favorite was the sammy mani…it looks cool. THAT STAMP!!! That’s the one I think looks like spiders. LOL

    • Well I had to work it cuz for my taste I didn’t like it plain so I wanted to show how I DO like it. πŸ™‚ I can totally see how this looks like spiders. Now it’s creeping me out!!! It’s like a FANCY spider! Haha. Anyway thanks about these nails. I hope I did the polish justice. πŸ™‚

Commenting is Caring!! ;D