Day 29: Inspired By Art Work- Album Artwork

Hey There Polished People!

I have a late post for you all today. I’ve had a cold/flu bug and combined with the busy Christmas season I just did not get around to painting my nails on time like I usually like to. Anyway today is day 29… TWO MORE TO GO!! Can you believe it? This was the challenge that refused to die! Haha. We did have a few casualties as several of the people in the challenge had to bow out, but hey- me and Cynthia are still going strong! Well, maybe not strong, I’m feeling slightly injured and tired. :p Just kidding!! It’s been really fun. πŸ˜€

Today’s theme was “inspired by artwork” and since I’m just like NOT that talented in free-hand nail art, I had to find something I could actually do. Also, I’m just not that big of a consumer of traditional artwork so I was devoid of inspiration. That is, UNTIL I thought about all the album artwork that I always loved checking out back in the day when we all listened to CDs… remember those days? We used to actually go to a STORE and buy a CD when we wanted new music! You’d peel off that awful security sticker carefully so you didn’t break your CD case, then pull the little booklet out from behind those tiny little tabs that held it in and always seemed to make a little indent if not a full-on tear in your booklet. And you open that up and see all the pictures of your favorite singer/band and the lyrics to the songs so you can sing along properly?!?! Ahhh those were the days. πŸ˜‰ I loved seeing the pictures in there. I wonder if people even look at the digital booklets that come along with iTunes albums. Most of the albums don’t even seem to come with them, and the ones that do… I don’t think I usually look at them. Anyway- album artwork is art too! And I decided I could pick an iconic album cover to do on my nails. My first idea was to do the Sublime album cover with that big crazy sun-face, but then I quickly realized I would not be able to do that well. That’s one of my favorite albums of all time, though, just FYI. Eventually I decided to do the Pink Floyd Dark Side Of The Moon album cover. It’s iconic, it’s an album I was obsessed with in middle school when me and my friend Michelle were into this big phase where we listened to all of our parents’ old albums, and I think I did it sufficient justice. These may not be my best nails ever, but they’re cool enough. Ready to see them after all this rambling??

Dark Side Of The Moon Nails

DarksideOfTheMoonArtworkNails

 

I think the design here is pretty self-explanatory, but here are the polishes I used:

  • Julep Patti (base color)
  • Silver Stripe Rite striper (silver)
  • SH Eel Skin (triangle)
  • SH Rapid Red (red)
  • SH Heat Flash (orange)
  • SH Lightening (yellow)
  • SH Lickety Split Lime (green)
  • SH Brisk Blue (blue)
  • Seche Vite (top coat)

This late post ended up being pretty chatty! I hope you all survived it! πŸ˜‰ Let me know what you think about my artwork nails, and tell me- what is one of your favorite albums? πŸ™‚ Also, if you have any questions about the design, don’t hesitate to ask. Don’t forget to check out Cynthia’s legit artwork nails on Of Life and Lacquer! As always, thanks for reading and till next time- Happy Polishing!!!Β 

25 thoughts on “Day 29: Inspired By Art Work- Album Artwork

    • Thank you!! Me and my friend went through this like stage when we just thought we were the absolute coolest rocker chicks ever. This album was the soundtrack. Well- at least a couple of songs. I love “wish you were here.” I hope that’s from this particular album, haha.

  1. Cosmic design! I’ve decided to buy Albums for my foreseeable future……(or until I scratch them up, the needle goes out or stereo stops working). But I do remember those days of breaking the cd trying to get that darn security plastic off!

    • Awesome! I don’t even have an actual album player, it was before my time and I just haven’t ever found one or had the desire to find albums. My mom and dad have an old album player though and it’s awesome. We used to listen to some music on it occasionally. Thanks about the nails, too. πŸ™‚

  2. Believe it or not, I have never really listened to that album. I am kind of a freak when it comes to music. I sometimes listen to the most obscure stuff and all the stuff that everyone knows, like this album, just flies over my head. I have no excuse, but at least we can bond over our love for Hall & Oates. I am definitely familiar with this album art and I think you did an awesome job. Omg…I have so many memories of going to Virgin Megastore after school and buying CD’s. I remember one of my first cd’s was Alanis’ Jagged Little Pill and I was like a freaking obsessed fan. I still love that album.

    • Oh my gosh…. I LOVED my jagged little pill CD. For some reason I’m thinking I had a tape of hers but I think she was in the cd era. I loved it anyway and actually I think I’ll buy it again on iTunes cuz I don’t have the cd anymore. Thanks for reminding me!! And yeah that’s ok we can like different music and come together w H&O πŸ˜‰

  3. Sublime? Pink Floyd?? How did you fit your love of Taylor Swift into this?? πŸ˜› Btw your description of opening up a brand new cd case gave me that nostalgic smell of the freshly opened booklet. I have absolutely no idea what my favorite album is. I definitely went through phases growing up…I was a teeny bopper totally in love with Brian Latrell from Back Street Boys, and then I cheated on him with ‘NSYNC (although I was never really attracted to any of those guys)…then I randomly got into whatever “rock” was popular on TRL (somewhere around here I got obsessed with Alanis too just like Cynthia lol) …then I got into punk lol then I got heavily into Industrial Rock. My favorite band is Nine Inch Nails….*cry* but they are no more. I actually met my current boyfriend going to the last nine inch nails show. I guess I keep him around for sentimental reasons…. πŸ˜‰ ….I do really love a lot of random types of music, but my heart usually stays with industrial/rock (NIN, Tool, Perfect Circle, etc.)

    • I should have included T Swift!!! Missed opportunity!! I have so many favorite albums. In fact somewhere I have a list of all the albums I love so much I could listen to them on repeat and not get sick of them. Sublime is on there, 311, Unwritten Law, Beatles Abbey Road, Stevie Ray Vaughan, Bob Marley, maybe the Shakira laundry service cd… I should find that list. As you can tell I like a bunch of different kinda of music too. πŸ™‚ I don’t think I ever got into the NIN types of music although I’m sure I like some of their songs. I, too, liked Backstreet Boys and N*Sync back in the day. Although Brian was not my favorite- I always liked Nick. I guess I like future-crackheads. Aw that reminds me of an old boyfriend… don’t get me started. :p

  4. Aw I hope your cold/flu bug is going away….
    I miss CD days lol! That darn security sticker was a killer sometimes. My bf showed me how he dealt with that…he would take off the cd cover and detach it from the bottom part and peel the sticker off that way. Did that make sense? lol. I thought it was ingenious haha.
    anyway…I love the way your mani came out!

    • Yep!! That’s how I did it too!!! In fact I just did it when I bought my target exclusive Taylor Swift cd on Black Friday! πŸ™‚ Your bfs a genius. πŸ˜‰ Im feeling a lot better today, thank goodness!!

  5. Nics this is actually bloody awesome!
    I love that you did ALBUM artwork! So unique and out of the box.

    My fav album right now is Ke-with a dollar sign-ha’s Warrior because I can relate to all the songs right now.
    But over all, geesh Nics, so much, I listen to everything hey. So hard to say just ONE

    • Thanks! I don’t know “art” exactly, but I know music!! πŸ™‚ I like doing things a little different than what’s expected. This isn’t that crazy unique but it’s a little different take. I’m going to check out that album!!!

  6. I am so proud of you & Cynthia for sticking it out until the bitter end! Maybe next year, when I start the blog that is my New Year’s resolution, I will join you two in a challenge!
    I do completely remember buying CDs. There was a store by our house (I want to say The Warehouse? or something) that we used to go to. Ace of Base was my first CD, although Alanis was pretty early on, too (I still have both, haha). I also remember buying Smashing Pumpkins there (which I also still have). I still buy physical CDs a fair amount…I guess so that I can listen to them in my car? I took out the tape deck (yes, my car is that old) and put in a CD player back in college, but now it would be better to just put it back in (I still have it) and use one of those iPod cassette connector thingies…I even have one! Somehow I’ll never get around to this.
    You saying that you were into your parents’ records in middle school reminded me of what I was into in middle school, which was watching scary movies (mostly Stephen King) and Beavis and Butthead during sleepovers with my purple splatter-paint sleeping bag, haha!
    Very representative nails! I don’t think I’ve ever listened to this album, either.
    I will ramble on and on if I try to list favorite albums, so I will spare you. πŸ™‚

    • I’d like to hear it!! But we can save that for another day. πŸ˜‰ I used to go to Music Warehouse all the time for CDs, they had like used CDs or something so they were a lot cheaper. Idk if that’s the same store that you’re talking about but I went there all the time. There was also a Tower records nearby but it was more expensive and ran out of the popular new albums quickly. Anyway- I also remember watching scary movies while I was over at my friends house sleeping over. I wasn’t that into them but she was so I went along with it. I can’t wait till you start a blog!! That will be so fun!!! Yayyyy! πŸ˜€

Commenting is Caring!! ;D

