Essie Penny Talk Swatch And Review

Good Morning Polished People!

I’ve been hearing a lot about these Essie Mirror Metallics polishes but I didn’t pick any up right away cuz they seemed kinda “meh” to me. Well, as usually happens, the more swatches I saw and the more chatter on twitter I read I was like, “Hmmm.. maybe I just need to go look at them.” Well- I went and bought Penny Talk. Despite the fact that it reminds me of those stupid long distance phone service commercials, I really like it! Now let me show you my swatches so YOU have to go out and buy it. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Essie Penny Talk

Under some dark clouds

Bonus picture- see! I DO have thumbs!! :p

Color:

Essie Penny Talk is the color of a perfect new, shiny penny. And it’s metallic- surprise!

Formula/Application:

I had no problem whatsoever with application. It was opaque in one coat, but I added a second just to smooth out the edges. I NEVER wear less than 3 coats, but I felt like it was unnecessary to even use two with this polish. Also- I didn’t find it too streaky at all.

Yes, Please! or No, Thank You:

Definitely a yes, please for me. I have other copper polishes (ChG Harvest Moon comes to mind) but none of them are as beautifully smooth and coppery as this. Unless you already have this polish (or if metallics show too many lumps and bumps on your nails… that could be a deal breaker)- you NEED this. Trust me. ๐Ÿ™‚

Do you have any of these polishes? Are you a fan of metallics at all? And- do you know which long distance commercial I’m talking about? It has the world’s cheesiest actors and it’s driving me nuts that that’s all I can think about. Let me know what you think. Thanks for reading and till next time- Happy Polishing!! ๐Ÿ˜€

15 thoughts on “Essie Penny Talk Swatch And Review

  1. I have it and found it to be a huge mess, but, I was in a hurry. I am willing to give it another shot with more careful application.

  2. As I said on twitter, I think this color looks amazing on you. I don’t think it would look too good on me. I think metallics look kind of icky on my dark skin so maybe that’s why they’re not that appealing to me. Last year there was a color club collection that was like shimmery metallics that I thought was pretty cool and I did get it. I should swatch it some time. Oh, and….Dang Gina! Your nails are getting long, girlfriend. I bought a couple of the super old metallics from CG and they do show every single bump/ridge. A ridge filling base coat helped but it still drove me bananas.

    • Thanks! That’s too bad they don’t work for you. Oh well- lord knows you have plenty other beautiful polishes. ๐Ÿ™‚

      And yes, I know!!! These things are getting LONNNNG! Oof. I filed them a teensy bit tonight but I need to do a full hard core file-down one of these nights when I’m not so pooped. It takes me a long time cuz its hard to get them the same length and straight across the top. I’m apparently not that good at that. On a similar note- I told the kids at work that if I ever see them with those impractical, super long, curved nails I will snatch up their hand and cut them down with scissors. Gotta teach them young! :p

Commenting is Caring!! ;D