My 2nd Go At A Gradient…. Kermit-The-Frog-Approved!!

Good Morning Polished People,

Everyone has been doing gradients for weeks now, but not I! I have been far too chicken. I’ve done one decent gradient but I didn’t wear a base color so it was too sheer and it completely ruined it. I just don’t seem to have the freehand skills to pay the bills. It doesn’t matter if it’s painting art or sponging, I can’t do it! When I saw this newer tutorial from one of my top two nail blog idols, Sammy, from TheNailasaurus.com I thought “Hey, I might be able to try this again.” So I did and I’ll show you my 2nd attempt ever and my first attempt with this method.

Green Gradient Nails:

These nails started as my Kiwi Cool-Ada nails, and then I sponged Kiwi Cool-Ada and FP Inkblot Blue on them for the gradient effect.

Kermie gives this first attempt a thumbs up!! Better luck next time, but not too bad for a first try!

I need to try using a finer sponge (I used a kitchen sponge this time) and possibly try sponging each nail twice but overall I am “okay” with this attempt. I didn’t like how the edges stayed the base color though, but I remedied that for my next nails that you’ll see tomorrow. πŸ˜€

Let me know what you think of these nails! What are all of you in the US doing to celebrate Memorial Day? Anyone gone camping like me? Talk to you all when I get back in the land of cell reception and internet! πŸ˜€

5 thoughts on “My 2nd Go At A Gradient…. Kermit-The-Frog-Approved!!

  1. I saw this tutorial too and I told myself that I would give it another try because my last attempt at gradient nails was a big failure. I love how yours turned out and I love Kermit!

    • Thanks! I still need LOTS more practice, but I was pretty happy myself. πŸ˜‰ This method makes it SO MUCH easier. And if you use a makeup sponge instead of a regular sponge it makes it a lot smoother. I think I should try more similar colors… I seem to think I’m some sort of expert and can blend anything… Whoops!!

    • It’s so genius! You’ve gotta try it. πŸ™‚ And thanks so much. I think gradients are my arch nemesis of nail art. They’re so hard! (at least for me!)

  2. Pingback: Father’s Day & My First Gradient Attempt | Of Life and Lacquer

Commenting is Caring!! ;D