What’s Your Fancy Friday

Hey There Polished People!

Do you all like the title of this post? πŸ˜‰ I don’t always take requests on Fridays but when I do, I’m gonna call them that. πŸ™‚ I had a request a while ago from a friend of mine. Actually “friend” isn’t the exact right term. It was from my faux son, Bubba. You may remember him from some posts in the past and on Instagram if you follow me there. The reason I call him my faux son is because he’s one of the teens from my summer program and I’ve known him for a few years now and every summer he spends a lot of time with me, helping, harassing just generally hanging out. Something about the way we interact makes everyone think he’s my son!! Now, just FYI, if he were my son, I’d have had him when I was 14 and people are constantly guessing I’m younger than I actually am, so I guess they think I started WAYYYYY early. Ha. One of the funniest things about people thinking he’s my son is that for one, if I say, “Yeah, he’s my son. Don’t we look alike?” People always say yes. Haha! The other funny thing is that he’s biracial and has lightish but mostly medium skin and when I tell someone that no, he isn’t really my son, they’re like, “Oh yeah… cuz he’s black and you’re white.” Me and Bubba always roll our eyes at that cuz his (actual) mom really is white. People are funny. Anyway, enough back story on us, I could tell you lots of hilarious stories but “aint nobody got time for that!!” (have you seen that woman on YouTube or Tosh.0? She’s hilarious!) Β For whatever reason he wanted me to do some black and white nails. He wasn’t clear at first so I did a different black and white look that you’ll see maybe tomorrow, but in the end he said he wanted black nails, white tips, the black should be matte, the white shiny and the tip should be straight. No funny (fun) business. Ready to see the nails?

Black and White Request Line Nails

Matte Black Shiny White

Matte Black Shiny White

 

I took all these weird angles trying to show the shiny white tips.. I don't think it worked.

I took all these weird angle pictures trying to show the shiny white tips.. I don’t think it worked.

Super weird shot number dos.

Super weird shot number dos.

In this picture in front of my wood stove you can KIND OF see the shiny white. I give up. :p

In this picture in front of my wood stove you can KIND OF see the shiny white. I give up. :p

These nails are pretty self-explanatory. You just paint your nails white, tape off the tip and paint the bottom black, then cover it all with top coat. When that’s dry you can add the matte topcoat to the black part only.

Polished I Used:

  • Nine Ulta Pro French White
  • Finger Paints Black Expressionism
  • Seche ViteΒ 
  • Essie Matte About You

If you have any questions, feel free to ask in the comments below. I didn’t LOVE how these turned out but at least in person you could see the contrast between the shiny/matte parts and it was slightly interesting. In pictures I think these look wonky and boring. Sorry, Bubbs, but your nails aren’t winners in my book. I hope you like em! πŸ™‚

Let me know what you think in the comments below. In the future I want to try some all-black nails with shiny accents. I know some of you aren’t matte fans at all, but do you like nails that use matte AND shiny? There are some awesome ones floating around Pinterest and Instagram. I think that’s where my faux son got this idea. As always, thank you all for reading and till next time- Happy Polishing!! πŸ˜€

25 thoughts on “What’s Your Fancy Friday

  1. Does Bubba read your blog or does he just follow you on IG? I think it’s so cute and funny! I’m not so sold on the black and white nail look. I think maybe the contrast is too harsh–especially since it is matte. Maybe I’d like it more shiny and if the tip was thinner. πŸ™‚ That is the first time I have ever said I like a thin tip…

    • Yeah it’s just too much. I did some other ones I like a little better (before I understood his specifications) that I think I’ll try to type up the post for tonight. We’ll see. I’m trying to he more personal in my posts since the new year. There for a while I felt like I was so busy and really just cranking out posts to the point I hardly enjoyed it, so I’ve decided that for the majority of posts, if I don’t have time to really think of something to say I’m just not gonna have a post that day. Idk if that’s good or bad but I think that’s what I’ve decided. And to answer your question- I’m pretty sure he just follows on IG and twitter but he might peek in once in a while. Who knows. That kid’s a mystery. :p

      • I really like your stories so that’s good! I mean, I think that you have to enjoy writing the posts in order for your readers to enjoy them too. I think we both keep feeling the same way about our blogs and where we want them to go so it’s always good to slow down a bit and step back. Oh dear lord you are going to think I’m a weirdo when this new series of stories pops up on my blog…they’re going to have drawings and stuff. LOL My friend and I have been talking about them for MONTHS and I think I’m finally going to do it.

        • What what what?? Stories? Like you were saying about branching out into just writing?? It’s funny you mention stories cuz I wanna do some nail basics posts and draw diagrams to go along with them. Haha. But I’m thinking that’s a different kind of drawing than I’m gonna see from you. I can’t wait!! Hurry up and post em!! πŸ™‚

          • LOL…well, it’s like I’ve always been like super into storytelling only because my dad is the grand master storyteller in my family. He remembers EVERYTHING and whenever he tells a story, everyone stops to listen even if we’ve heard it a million times before. When I was in Paris, my friend used to send me comic strip drawings about stuff that happened to us when we were kids…I loved that cause I was so homesick. So now she might be helping me by doing some drawings for my crazy stories. I’m going to start with stuff from my childhood just cause they are kinda funny–at least to me! πŸ˜› I really want to do it just to document all that stuff like…maybe when I’m old and stuff I can go back and read them, you know?

  2. I like this even though you can SEE on the PHOTOS really the contrast between shiny and matte.
    I love those matt looks that have shiny accents on them. Saw once a matt black look with shiny polkas. Was sooooo awesome! It’s the MAIN reason I want a matte top coat! Also because I looooooooooooooooooooooove matte looks.

    • I really love matte nails too. I’m going to do a monotone matte/shiny look soon, I’ve been meaning to all this time and just never do. I guess it’s because matte nails are a lot less durable than shiny. My matte nails seem to start chipping and kinda peeling away the next day. I usually only wear my nails for about a day anyway, but I like the matte look so much that sometimes I’d like it to last a little longer!! If you can get your hands on it, the matte top coat I like the best is the Essie one, although I haven’t really heard anything bad about any of the big name brand matte top coats. I hope you can get your hands on some.

  3. I like these! They’re kinda like tuxedo nails, but more simple. You’re crazy if you don’t like these..Bubba has great taste. (and I find it weird that both him and your dog are named Bubba, or am I getting confused and theres only one Bubba and I’m being offensive in some way)

    • Are you calling me crazy?!! How rude! Haha. And yes there are two Bubba’s. I know, weird huh. The weirdest thing is that (dog) Bubba’s full name is actually BubbaCharles and (person) Bubba’s actual name is Bailee but Bubba is his nickname and I swear to god I’m telling the truth, his middle name is Charles. When I first met (person) Bubba I couldn’t believe it. And get this- there’s a little girl at my summer program named Minnie, too, so sometimes I’d be hanging out with Bubba and Minnie!!! It’s so weird!!!

  4. OMG, Cynthia…”thin tip”…*dies laughing*.
    They’re…OK. I dunno. Kinda chunky looking? They do remind me of a tuxedo. Maybe it’d be interesting to see the colors reversed and the tips thinner & less straight?
    I do kind of like the manicures I’ve seen with a matte base and shiny polka dots. I’m not sure I’d ever do them myself (especially since I don’t have a matte top coat yet), but, who knows?
    I so did not even connect the two Bubbas, hahaha. Normally that’d be something I’d notice, but I guess that one passed me by!

    • Yeah I would have liked these better reversed, too, I think. Oh well- they were apparently to his specifications so there we go. πŸ™‚ I liked my other b&w nails best but I wasn’t the designer here. Only the worker bee. πŸ˜‰

Commenting is Caring!! ;D

