Stamping Saturday- Leadlighting Attempt

Hey There Polished People!

Last night I stayed up super late typing up the post for these nails and this morning I wake up and not only did it not post, it disappeared! Yikes! So now today we have a super short post. 🙂

For today’s nails I tried Leadlighting. I don’t know much about the name- I think maybe it has something to do with the blog that brought it into popularity, or the polishes used…? Anyway, you just stamp a design on white nails, then use a tiny brush and jelly polishes to fill in the image. I think it’s supposed to give you different gradations of color and a painterly effect. Let’s see how I did.

Leadlight Butterfly Wings

20140510-090842.jpg
I used BM 424 for the wing stamp and OPI Houston We Have A Purple for the coloring. I think maybe this design wasn’t the best choice for this application, because this method is really doing nothing for me. I would much rather stamp over a nice, solid base or stamped gradient.

How did you like these? Have you tried this technique? Also, do you know just from looking at these that they’re butterfly wings? I was surprised that seriously no one in real like knew what my nails were supposed to be! I had to explain them and even then they were like, “Huh. Okayyyyy.” Don’t forget to check out everyone else’s nails by clicking the button below and YOU CAN ALSO ADD YOUR OWN to the linkup! Yayyyy! As always thank you for reading and commenting and till next time- Happy Polishing!

22 thoughts on “Stamping Saturday- Leadlighting Attempt

  1. Leadlights are a type of window – it’s a simplified style of stained glass where small pieces of coloured glass are set in frames to make a design.
    Love your blog!

  2. I had no idea what you were talking about and didn’t even know about the technique until you explained it. I don’t think I’ll be attempting that any time soon, I don’t have that much effort in me. Also…you know how I feel about butterflies 😐

  3. I’m not certain about the name of the technique, but leaded glass is stained glass and that is what this looks like. I think that us why this is called leadlight. I have not tried this yet, but it looks easy enough.

    • Yeah it really is. I’m just not sure how to do it “right” so it actually looks good instead of just kinda uneven. Oh well… Maybe I can practice some more. 🙂

  4. I haven’t tried it myself but I have seen a few manis that used this technique. I don’t know how I feel about it but it seems pretty easy so maybe I’ll give it a try sometime. That funny that no one knew what the image is supposed to be.

    • I saw some on IG that I liked pretty well but after trying it I’m just kinda like nahhh. I’m not even convinced
      I’m doing it wrong, I think it just looks like this. Meh. Anyway yeah- crazy people not knowing what these were! 😉

  5. ..My gosh, girl! Your manicure is beauteeful. 🙂 I mean it, you hit it out of the park. And yes, they do look like butterfly wings, and shame on anyone who can’t see that, sheesh. lol

    Anyways, gorgeous mani, Nicole. 🙂

    • Aww thanks so much!! Yeah I couldn’t believe people didn’t know what they were! Oh well… 😉 Thanks for the compliments, I didn’t expect anyone to like them THAT much! 🙂

  6. Bummer about losing your post! 😦
    I’ve never tried this technique. My brain is trying to see these stamped over a creme! I think you got the effect correct, but I agree that maybe a different design would have shown it off more. I’m thinking it’d be a good candidate for the sheer tints you want, haha.
    Of course they’re butterfly wings! C’mon, people! I wonder if you went quite literal and did orange if that would have helped, or if people would still be dense, haha.

Commenting is Caring!! ;D