The Lacquer Ring does Cherry Blossom Nails

Hey There Polished People!

Welcome back to The Lacquer Ring challenge! As you may remember, May is my month so I chose “orange” for the color prompt and today it was my turn to choose a design! I chose cherry blossoms because they’re always the first sign of spring and are so delicate and pretty. (It seems like everyone and their mother has done cherry blossoms between the time I selected them and the time that they were due (today), but oh well! I guess despite my best efforts, other people can have the same ideas as me so… Hmph!!!) Also, I’ve never attempted them so I thought this would be a good opportunity. After all, it’s called a “challenge” for a reason! 🙂 Let’s see how I did!

20140417-095759.jpg

20140417-095934.jpg

How To Get These Nails
•Apply your basecoat.
•Paint your nails with Essence Sweet As Candy, then add a diagonal tip w NYC Robin’s Egg Blue. Your line doesn’t have to be perfect, so I would recommend you freehand it, but you could use tape.
•Using Essence Oh De Prep and a striping brush, add the “tree” along the diagonal, and then add some branches. (Square 1)
•Use a small dotting tool to dot some OPI Pink Friday onto the branches. (Square 2)
•Use an extra small dotting tool, or the sharpened tip of a cuticle stick to dot some super teeny dots of Avon Strawberry in the middle of the blossoms. (Square 3)
•Apply your topcoat and VOILA!!

20140417-095905.jpg

I hope you liked how my cherry blossoms turned out. I know the typical design is to use the robin’s egg blue color with cherry blossoms, and I could have been more original but hey, if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it and that color with the pinks looks pretty. 🙂 Make sure to check out everyone else’s cherry blossom nails using the button below. Thank you all for reading and commenting and till next time- Happy Polishing!!

9 thoughts on “The Lacquer Ring does Cherry Blossom Nails

  1. My original mani idea was the “traditional” pink and mint, too, but you added in a twist! The background color combo is so cute! It was a cool idea to do the art over more than a blank base.
    Thanks for picking this prompt because it really did for me what I think The Lacquer Ring is all about. It challenged me to try something I hadn’t tried and “get outside the box” and all of that, so it was a good experience to have. 🙂

    • When Cynthia was talking about the regular mint background I was like… Well, that’s one person who isn’t going to like my nails!! Haha. I just like the combination of those colors. I’m glad you think it looks nice and not too boring. I’m also glad you liked the prompt… I’m with you.. The whole point is to try something maybe a little different and all do the same design so I’m glad we did. I think it’s fun!!

  2. I LOVE these, yours is my favorite from the bunch (don’t tell). I love the branch dividing the two base colors and even the “style” of your cherry blossoms. They look more cartoon-y if that makes sense? I dunno, it makes sense in my head. Also I’m really digging your nail shape!

Commenting is Caring!! ;D

