The Lacquer Ring- Unicorns Unite!

Hey There Polished People!

I have a fun announcement today! My group of nail blogger friends created a group that we’re calling The Lacquer Ring and we’re starting a bi-monthly challenge. For the Lacquer Ring challenge, each of us is assigned a month and during that month we choose a color prompt for the first post of that month, and a design for the second post’s prompt. May is my month, and I chose orange and cherry blossoms so please “stay tuned” for that πŸ™‚

The Lacquer Ring is:
Amanda from Mae’s Beauty
Amy from The Fancy Side
Cynthia from Of Life and Lacquer
Frosso from Lacquer Me Silly
Jessica from Once Upon A Polish
Lesley from misfitlesley on Instagram
Me, Nicole, from Polish Me, Please!
and last but not least-
Siobhan from For The Love of Nail Art.

Today we are introducing The Lacquer Ring by all using the same polish- Candy Lacquer Unicorn Bubbles. This is a polish that I actually got for everyone as a thank you for all the things they’ve all done for me including but definitely not limited to participating in all the baby stuff before Madeline was born. Unicorns are sort of the mascot of all that is pretty and sparkly, but also unicorns are kinda a theme within our group because before Madeline was born she would never show if she was a boy or girl so everyone teased me that she was going to be a unicorn. Anyway, that’s enough backstory- let’s see the nails!

Candy Lacquer Unicorn Bubbles over Julie G Rio De Janeiro/Santorini Gradient
20140424-111325.jpg

I did these nails by first starting with a diagonal gradient that looked like this:
20140424-111428.jpg

It’s not perfect, but it’s perfect enough for under another polish.
Then I applied two coats of Unicorn Bubbles over top and a final coat of Seche Vite. I LOOOOOOVE Unicorn Bubbles. I did thin it some, as the base is the typical thick, large-glitter suspension base, but I just love it. When I bought it I thought it was perfect EXCEPT for the blue shimmer in amongst the circle glitters of all sizes, but now I thoroughly believe that the blue shimmer makes the polish. I hope everyone else liked this polish as much as I did!

How did you guys like this mani? Are you a fan of circle glitter? This was the first circle glitter I have ever used. I own one more that I haven’t tried yet, so I’ll have to get on that. I hope you will stay tuned for more posts from The Lacquer Ring. If you’d like to check out all of our manis from here on out, check the hashtag #thelacquerring on twitter and Instagram. As always, thank you all for reading and commenting and till next time- Happy Polishing!!

Check out everyone else’s manis using the button below!!

20 thoughts on “The Lacquer Ring- Unicorns Unite!

  1. This is utterly delicious. The angled gradient is the perfect, unicornariffic background for these shiny orbs of awesome. Gorgeous stuff, this. Looking forward to the Lacquer Ring’s future nail triumphs. ^^

    • Uh first off- best comment ever!! “Shiny orbs of awesome”… Just write my posts for me from now on, okay?

      And thank you! I really love this polish and I’m glad you liked what I did with it! I’m excited for The Lacquer Ring to get started too, should be fun! πŸ™‚

  2. I think it looks great. I’m totally jealous of your gradient. It looks awesome. Thanks for the polish. I’m so glad we all used it together!

    • Thank you!!! And you’re welcome. Your nails looked awesome, of course. πŸ™‚ I think it’s going to be fun doing somewhat structured group posts. I hope we all do stay pretty on-task w the prompts because I think that’ll be more interesting and cohesive that way.

  3. It look fantastical! I never thought about doing a diagonal gradient…*takes notes for Stamping Saturdays* I love the two Julie G polishes that you used…weren’t they awesome?! Thank you again for the awesome polish. I am so glad that we were all able to use it for our first post.

    • Thanks!! I just thought ehhh I’m going to cover it anyway, let’s see how this works! Haha. So far these are the only two JGs I’ve used but they were great. The only thing I don’t like is- WHERE ARE THE LABELS?!?! I’m glad you like your unicorn polish. πŸ˜‰ I really think it’ll be fun to have actually cohesive group posts.

  4. Big Edna wins the comments section for this post, lol.
    I am glad that you shared the history of the unicorn theme, haha.
    I don’t think I’ve ever seen a diagonal gradient! Lookatchoo, being all creative and stuff. πŸ˜‰
    Unicorn Bubbles is my first circle glitter, too, and I think the shimmer really adds to it. Thanks again for the gift and for enabling us to kick off The Lacquer Ring right! πŸ˜€

    • Haha thanks… πŸ˜‰ Sometimes I have an interesting idea! I really love this polish, so I’m glad everyone else seems to as well… It’s hard picking things out for people!! You’re very welcome!

    • Thank you!!! I think I’m now officially obsessed w circle glitter. I have just recently seen triangles though which are intriguing but I think I have to stick w circles being my favorite. πŸ™‚

Commenting is Caring!! ;D

