Stamping Saturday- A Favorite Color Combo

Hey There Polished People!

Can I just first tell you how EXHAUSTING having a baby is? Oh my gosh!! Maybe I’m just not adjusting well because it’s really hard. Madeline is 6 months old now, and for the first couple of months it seemed like I never got any sleep at all, then she slept a little better, then a lot better, and a few weeks ago she even slept till noon which was WONNNNNDERFUL. Now for the last couple of weeks she’s been sleeping terribly again, refusing to actually go to sleep for the night until sooo late, like 2 am, and then waking up every 4 hours for the last few days. I’m dying here, people! There seems to be a billion phases babies go through so hopefully this is just one of them. The other night I was so tired that my husband got up with her and I cried myself to sleep. How pitiful is that?! Continued lack of sleep really messes with me. I hope this “phase” is almost over. Please please please.

In less pitiful news…
One of my favorite colors is coral. I find it to be a much easier color to wear than, say, bright orange, but still has that fun, summery feel. And I’m ready for summer!! I especially LOVE coral when combined with white. Let’s see the nails, shall we?

Coral & White Stamped Nails
20140404-232547.jpg

This polish is Nina Ultra Pro in Tangerine Dream, and I stamped the image with Konad White from BM206. I believe Tangerine Dream is a dupe or near-dupe for OPI Toucan Do It If You Try from the Brazil collection. I can’t be sure because I don’t own it, but they looked identical in the store. The only problem is that, uncharacteristically for this brand, this polish takes too dang many coats to be completely opaque. I think I used 4 thin coats here. šŸ˜¦ So needless to say, I still need the OPI. Pooh. I hate when that happens.

I really enjoyed this color combination. How about you? Make sure to check out everyone else’s Stamping Saturday nails using the button below. As always thank you all for reading and till next time- Happy Polishing!!

15 thoughts on “Stamping Saturday- A Favorite Color Combo

  1. Aw, Nicole! šŸ˜¦ I know you are not alone in this frustration/exhaustion, but I don’t like to hear that you’re going through it! šŸ˜¦ Madeline needs to access her unicorn powers in order to allow you some sleep.
    On the plus side – your nails look good! I love that stamp and it’s particularly good with the color combo. Too bad about the 4 coats, though…based on that white you recommended, I am surprised!

    • I know right?? If they can have such a fantastic WHITE, what’s up w this? Oh well, since it’s like 3 bucks w my Sally’s card I don’t mind TOO much but it’s still annoying. When Madeline doesn’t sleep like this I feel like I’m doing something wrong. Like I need to change something or I don’t even know. I’m so exhausted and so is she! She’s crabby and clingy and I’m dying here. Right now I just finished cleaning the kitchen and bathroom while she basically bawled for the last 20 minutes of it. And I have all this laundry piled up on the couch that needs putting away and some isn’t even folded. Right now I feel like I’m drowning again like I did in the beginning.

  2. Love the coral and white color combo– very summery! And I feel you on the sleeping issues… my babes refuse to nap during the day and only sleep for short periods of time when they do, then scream bloody murder to be released from their prisons… er, cribs. Makes it very hard to do anything at all!

    • Thanks about the nails. šŸ™‚ Do the boys at least sleep at night for you? Madeline WAS but now it’s like “SURPRISE! I need no sleep.” šŸ˜¦ And she seems awake like AWAKE and ready to play when she wakes up, but I really want her to sleep and also not form any bad habits about being up at night but I’m seriously just about ready to stick her in her chair and let her play when she wakes up.

    • Does all the right things huh? Does G know about that? šŸ˜‰ And- you noticed the watermark!!! You like it? I’m just kinda playing around with it right now. Idk if I want to keep it uniform all the time or what. We’ll see. šŸ™‚

  3. This is gorgeous; the colours, the stamping, the whole shebang! So sorry Madeline’s not letting you sleep. Hopefully she’ll get back to her regular routine soon. Always impressed when mums of little ones find time to paint and post! I barely find time regularly and I have no excuse x

    • Thank you šŸ™‚ Painting my nails is something I’ve tried to get back to doing just as something I do just for myself. Some weeks I get a few manis done, some I’m lucky to get one so I’m glad people have been understanding and still read my blog! šŸ˜‰

  4. I’ve noticed the opacity of a lot of Nina Ultra Pro leaves something to be desired, which is a shame because the shades really are smashing.

    Also living through the 6 month sleeping disruptions and I have become a special angry zombie woman, so I’m feelin’ yer pain. The good news is I’ve done this before and it DOES even out eventually. Fear not, fellow zomb-mom. Fight with honor, you will win. Er… sleep. ^^

    • The 6 month sleeping problems is an actual thing??? I have no idea, this being my first baby and all. I am definitely an angry zombie woman. It’s so hard and feels endless. Plus it’s not like I’m the only one who’s tired, so is she so she’s crabby all day too. AND she has decided that every time she’s laid down in her crib, it’s time to wake up, so she hasn’t really taken a decent nap lately either. Oof. Thanks for sharing your experience so at least I know I’m not alone and/or doing EVERYTHING wrong. šŸ™‚
      About the polish- it’s always surprising to me when a NUP polish is sheer cuz they make my absolute most-favorite, holy-grail white!! How do you do a perfect white and then a half crappy coral??? :-/ whateva. I’d drink it if it would make the baby sleep. šŸ˜‰

      • You’d think if you’ve got white right everything else would be easy, wouldn’t you? On your recommendation I will give more Nina’s a chance. I trust you.

        Yeah, the 6 month thing is something I noticed in all my babies. I’m sure it has something to do with growth spurts or developmental milestones or brain maturation or something else that’s gloriously technical and whatnot, but it all adds up to crankiness. The only thing I can say is however you decide to deal with it, persist. Don’t give up after 3 nights or even a week. You can have a sleeping baby once again. I believe in you.

    • Thanks! I started sleep training her, so I am definitely getting more. The sleep training comes with it’s own problems, but with a little more sleep it’s easier to deal with. šŸ™‚

Commenting is Caring!! ;D

