Rainbow Collab Nails

Hey There Polished People!!

Are you all still there? Hello? Hello…? (insert echoes here) Sorry it’s been so long since my last post. As you may know, I am expecting a baby soon, and in the last month I have been so dang busy!! I wrapped up my summer job, my cousin got married so we had a lot of family in town for a week and then this nesting thing kicked in and I’ve just been busy as a big ol’ pregnant bee cleaning things and getting them ready for the baby! She’s not due until September 27th (which also happens to be V’s bday from For The Love Of Nail Art) but as you probably know, babies don’t always arrive on schedule so I’ve been kind of nervous actually that I wont have everything done. I have a huge to-do list on my phone that I check a few things off of every day, but I still feel like I’m in a bit of a race against time. Anyway, what I mean to say is that I appreciate all of you who are not forgetting about me over here, and thanks for hanging in there while I’m on baby hiatus or at least semi-hiatus. 🙂 Thank you all very much, sincerely. 🙂

I participated in a Rainbow Nail Art Collaboration on Instagram (check out the hashtag collablikerainbows2013 to see everyone’s creations) lead by Amber from Nails Like Lace a while back and I never got to post them on my own blog. So today, here they are!! 🙂

Rainbow Collab Nails

rainbowCollabNails (3)

 

rainbowCollabNails (4)

 

 

rainbowCollabNails (5)

 

How To Get These Nails:

  1. Start with your favorite base coat. I like SH Hard As Nails.
  2. Paint your nails with NUP French White, top with Seche Vite and allow them to dry thoroughly. You’re going to sponge them, and the last thing you want to do is smudge up the white while you’re sponging your colors.
  3. When your white nails are completely dry and hardened, get all your neon rainbow polishes out. I used NUP Punki Pink, ChG Knockout Orange, Orly Glowstick, ChG Kiwi Coolada, FP Inkblot Blue and CC Mrs Robinson. I also used ChG Fairy Dust over the top, so you might as well grab that out too. Remove the lids of the rainbow colors so you’re ready to go.
  4. For each nail the technique will be the same, you’ll just use different colors. I’ll share the technique and then tell you which colors are on which nail, although if you’re familiar with the colors it’s easy to tell 😉
  5. Cover half of the sponge with NUP Punki Pink, and the other half with ChG Knockout Orange. Allow the colors to overlap a little on the sponge.
  6. Dab the polish-covered sponge on your thumbnail, wiggling it a little from side to side to blend the colors a bit. Make sure the colored polish is covering all the white under-polish. The color will probably be a little faint at this point, that’s ok.
  7. Give that nail a second to dry a little, then repeat steps 5 and 6 so that your colored polish is a little more opaque. You may need to sponge each nail as many as 3 times, but it will vary based on your polish’s consistency and each polish’s opacity.
  8. Repeat steps 5-7 on each nail using different colors. On my index fingers I used ChG Knockout Orange and Orly Glowstick, on my middle fingers I used Orly Glowstick and ChG Kiwi Coolada, on my ring fingers I used ChG Kiwi Coolada and FP Inkblot Blue, and finally on my pinkies I used FP Inkblot Blue and CC Mrs. Robinson.
  9. After your nails are sponged to perfection, apply a coat of ChG Fairy Dust, then a coat of Seche Vite and call it macaroni! 😀

Neons are so hard to capture properly on camera, so I hope you get the general idea of these even though they look kinda weird in the pictures! I really liked how they turned out and they got a lot of attention, too, which is always fun. Everyone seemed to have a favorite nail. 🙂 Which nail is your favorite? Be sure to check out the other nails in the collaboration using #collablikerainbows2013 on Instagram. Thanks again for hanging in here with me while I’m on semi-hiatus. 😉 Thank you all for reading and commenting, and till next time- Happy Polishing!! 😀

25 thoughts on “Rainbow Collab Nails

  1. “Busy as a big ol’ pregnant bee” LOL!
    I finally bought that white on Saturday! BWAHAHAHA! It was hard not to buy other stuff, too, but I restrained myself.
    I haven’t tried this sponging business, but I think I need to. I have the perfect white now, right? 😉
    I think my favorite is the pinky! These look great and I can see why they received so many compliments! 😉

    • Wow good job to you!!! Although if you got it at Sally’s, which is what I’m assuming as I don’t even know who else carries it, the collections they’ve been carrying have been kinda lack luster if you ask me so I’ve been successfully cutting back on polish purchases lately. I hope you like it as much as I do… I seriously think it’s the white to end all whites. It’s fantastic. And I think the pinky may be my favorite too. I like the purple and blue w the fairy dust on top. 🙂

    • Oh man it’s been so long since this comment with no response! I’m sorry!! As you know by now, the baby is here and almost 3 months old! It’s been a whirlwind pretty much since I wrote this post. I hope to be “back” soon! 🙂

  2. Yay! You’re back. I mean, not that you were really away considering the emailing but it’s nice to see you post. 🙂 You know I love rainbows so these are awesome. I still can’t do gradients so i’m crazy jealous. On another note, I know we talk about the baby and baby stuff but I swear to GOD that I didn’t realize she was coming this month. Seriously. I was thinking of some far off date in the future like it wasn’t real and then right now, I was like…HOLY SHIT…No wonder Nicole is doing so much stuff. LOL I am such a spaz. Anyway, she’s almost here! YAY! Internet Auntie is very happy right now. 😛

    • I was “back” then gone for forever and now hopefully I can actually get “back” for real! Yes there was so much to do, but nothing in comparison to now! Although I have to say, I’m not up till 3 am scrubbing the fridge anymore so that’s a plus! Haha.

  3. I don’t have a favourite nail because they’re ALL my favourite!
    I love these manis where the gradient/colours travels from one nail to the end! Love love love!!!
    Don’t worry, we ready for the 27th. I’ve discussed it with Madi already 😉 hehe

  4. Beautiful rainbow mani. Rainbows, gradients, glitter, and holo! That’s the best of everything in one cute mani. Fairy Dust is one of my most used polishes, ever.

    • Thanks so much! Sorry about the crazy delay in responding. She’s here and now I’m busier than ever! Haha. If I’d only spent my time relaxing while I was pregnant. As they say- I can sleep when I’m dead! Haha.

Commenting is Caring!! ;D

