Mary Kay Vox Box Review

Hey There Polished People!!

I received the Mary Kay Voxbox a while back and have been using the products for a while now and am finally ready to write my review! I like to use products like this for a little while to really get a feel for how they work, but sometimes I just KNOW they’re not going to be for me right away. I had a little bit of both of those types of things in my box this time around. Ready to see what’s in there?

Mary Kay Voxbox

marykayvoxboxMy Voxbox included lipstick, mascara, eyelash primer, cream eye shadow and a cream eye shadow/concealer brush. I’ll show you each one and let you know what Mary Kay has to say about them, and then what I thought of them. 🙂 Here we go!

Mary Kay True Dimensions Lip Stick in Pink Cherie- $18.00

Mary Kay True Dimensions Lip Stick in Pink Cherie $18.00

IMG_5776

MK says: Intensely moisturizing. Exquisitely smoothing.

I say: Is this worth 18 bucks? I think not. It was a pretty pink color, which I enjoyed, but it seemed to really settle in the little lines of my lips unless I applied a LOT of lip balm along with it. I like this lipstick just fine, but I think I could find something I like just as much for about 6 bucks at the drugstore.

Mary Kay Lash Primer- $15.00

Mary Kay Lash Primer $15.00

Mary Kay Lash Primer $15.00

MK says: Dramatic definition. Fulller-looking lashes.

I say: My tube of this was really watery. I applied it after I curled my eye lashes and it just made my lashes super limp and completely uncurled them. It didn’t seem to coat my lashes much. I expected a little thicker consistency for a last primer.

Mary Kay Lash Love Lengthening in I ❤ Black- $15.00

Mary Kay Lash Love Lengthening in I <3 Black $15.00

Mary Kay Lash Love Lengthening in I ❤ Black $15.00

MK says: LASHlicious! Long. Strong. Seriously separated lashes.

I say: HahahahaHA- Fail. After using the primer, which completely killed my curl on my lashes, I re-curled them, then applied this mascara. This mascara made them completely limp and uncurled again, and also seemed to make them really clump together. I can’t really attest to whether or not they lengthened my lashes because my lashes looked like a big ol’ mess all stuck together and sad and limp-looking. Maybe if you’re someone who doesn’t need to curl their lashes this wouldn’t be so problematic, but I always use waterproof mascara to hold my lashes’ curl and this is not a mascara I’ll be using again.

Mary Kay Cream Eye Color in Violet Storm- $22.00

Mary Kay Cream Eye Color in Violet Storm $22.00

Mary Kay Cream Eye Color in Violet Storm $22.00

mary kay cream eye color in violet stormMK says: Soft, creamy, long-wearing formula.

I say: Finally something I can agree with Mary Kay on! This eye shadow works really well, the cream formula dries quickly and wears well. Do I think it should cost $22? No. However, I will keep this and use it in the future because I did like it. The only disappointing thing was that out in the sun you could really see some almost holographic particles in the shadow that was super sparkly, but it didn’t translate to the eye lid.

Not Pictured: Mary Kay Cream Eye Color/Concealer Brush $10.00

MK says: The perfect brush for applying any cream product.

I say: I agree! The brush is stiff enough to pick up product, but soft enough to apply it well to your delicate eye area. This is a nice brush and at what I consider to be a good price!

Overall impression:

I thought the vast majority of these products were overpriced. Specifically the mascara and the lash primer because they didn’t work at ALL for me, but also the lipstick and eye shadow which I actually liked, but would probably never buy at that price. I usually buy Bare Minerals, Urban Decay or Too Faced brand makeup and I find their prices to actually be a better value than these Mary Kay products. This one cream eye shadow is 22 bucks and I buy a whole small palette of eye shadow colors for 30ish at Ulta. I will say that my problem with the eye lash products may not be relevant to everyone, as I have quite finicky straight lashes that take a bit of coaxing to curl, but for someone like me… these do NOT work. 😦 I was excited about the primer, too. 😦 I have used some Mary Kay products in the past, and I especially liked their skin care products, but unfortunately most of these products in this box are just not for me. Darn.

Have you used Mary Kay products in the past or recently? Are you a fan? Let me know what you think in the comments below. If you’d like to check out these or any other Mary Kay products, you can find a Mary Kay Beauty Consultant or order products on Marykay.com

**Products in this post were provided for honest review. Please check my disclosure tab for more info.**
18 thoughts on “Mary Kay Vox Box Review

  1. I’ve always thought that Mary Kay products are kinda blah. In the past, I have always found them very bland and predictable. Sorry you didn’t like the products more but at least you got to try them out.

  2. I agree. I’ve tried a few Mary Kay items only because my aunt sells it. And I’ve only really liked about 1/4 of the stuff I’ve tried. The shadows weren’t hardly pigmented, but the lip scrub is nice. I’ll never purchase from them, they are WAY TOO PRICEY!

    • When I tried some of their stuff before I liked all their exfoliators/etc but this makeup is just ok at best. The mascara is probably a problem w my eyelashes instead of the actual product but nothing really blew me away.

  3. I agree with the prices, I probably would have never tried any Mary Kay makeup if I didn’t receive the box either. I didn’t have an issue with the mascara, and don’t really use lash primer either so I couldn’t compare it to anything, but overall I was pleased…If I paid for everything full price it probably would have been a different story.

    • Yeah it was too bad they didn’t work well for me. And about the creme eyeshadow- I wonder if that’s a special price or if their PR sent out the wrong info? In all of our Vox Boxes the paperwork says 22. 14 is better! 🙂

  4. My heart is broken reading about a poor-quality eyelash primer and mascara. Anything that interferes with the eyelash game is NOT WELCOME.
    At least you got a few things you could use that you wouldn’t have purchased yourself out of it.
    I don’t think I’ve ever tried Mary Kay. I probably won’t anytime soon, given the prices and the “buy through a rep” nature of it.

    • I completely agree w you- DON’T MESS WITH MY EYELASHES!! I’m cursed w super straight lashes, squinty eyes and somewhat hooded lids so they need all the help they can get. Plus add the fact that I don’t leave myself even close to ample time to get ready in the morning and if something doesn’t work quickly and easily- see ya! If I could only use makeup on one part of my face- it would definitely be my eyes. And if I could only use one product it would be my eyelash curler. And if I could only do one eye, it would be my right one cuz the left never likes to curl properly. And if I could only do one single eyelash hair, it would be the 7th from the outside corner. And if I could only curl it once, I’d curl it at the base. Ok, I’m done.

      • LOL! Looks like we’re on the same page here because I’ll do my eyelashes no matter what. I’m pretty picky about them, too…I usually layer several products and always I curl the shit out of them.
        “I don’t leave myself even close to ample time to get ready in the morning”…also me!
        “it would be my right one cuz the left never likes to curl properly.” Me, too!!! There’s always these wonktastic pieces near the end that just don’t want to join their brethren. GO TO YOUR HOME!!!
        I don’t have a favorite individual eyelash, though. 😉
        Do you have a curler that you like? I have only used the standard Revlon one. I tried getting their fancier one once and it SUCKED majorly.

        • I was just kidding about the favorite individual lash and all, but I do have a favorite curler!! I get the black plastic ones at sephora, and I buy them in bulk- well at least 4 at a time- because I heat them up over a little candle before I curl my eyelashes w them and sometimes they get worn out so then I toss it and open a new one. I guess I’m slowly polluting the earth, one eyelash curler at a time.

  5. that sucks abotu the mascara 😦 I find their shadows to be very blah and don’t last even with primer.. but I love/d their lipglosses and lipsticks if I still wore even that.. lol the lipstick looks pretty!

    • I do like the color. I’m not sure I really know how to wear lipstick though… It always kinda just either sits on top of my lips weirdly or like settles into the wrinkles of my lips and looks all uneven.

Commenting is Caring!! ;D

