I’m Having A Baby, and It’s A…

Hey There Polished People!

As you may or may not know (see my announcement nails here), I’m about 30 weeks pregnant with mine and my husband’s first child! We are, of course, very excited as are our parents since this is the first grandchild on either side of the family, but one little thing has been missing- we didn’t know the gender!! We had our standard 20-week ultrasound, but the baby wasn’t cooperating and we couldn’t find out what it was. Then we had an ultrasound a week later in my doctor’s office and SURPRISE! not cooperating, so we couldn’t tell. My doctor said she’d do another ultrasound at 28 weeks so a couple of weeks ago I went in, she said she was all set to do the ultrasound, I was in the exam room and a nurse came in and said my doctor had to leave for a c-section!! So needless to say, I was feeling like we were just never going to find out. I ended up looking into 3D ultrasounds, and found out that they’ll do a quick 2D ultrasound “gender check” for $75 so I called, had the scan on last Saturday, and I’m finally here to tell you that we found out and…

It’s A Girl!!!

It'sAGirlNails

ItsAGirlGradient (5)

How To Get These Nails:

  1. Base coat.
  2. Paint your nails with NUP French White, allow them to dry.
  3. Paint a stripe of each, SC Cinderella (blue), SC Purple Diamond and ChG Naked (pink) onto a makeup sponge, overlapping slightly.
  4. Dab the makeup sponge with the polish on it onto your nails, moving slightly up and down to blend the colors a little.
  5. Do steps 4 and 5 for each nail.
  6. Repeat steps 4-6 once or twice until your gradient is exactly how you like it and the polish is opaque enough.
  7. Apply a layer of ChG Fairy Dust for some extra sparkle!
  8. Top your nails with Seche Vite and admire your pretty, girly nails! πŸ™‚

It feels sooo good to finally know that it’s a girl! I felt like I was paralyzed in my decision-making until I knew what was cookin’ in there! πŸ˜‰ For my “It’s a Girl!” nails, I just wanted to come up with the prettiest, girliest nail design I possibly could and although I think these are a little plain, so I feel marginally lame, I absolutely love them!! I just love how each of these three pastel polishes have their own shimmer, and then the ChG Fairy Dust just adds a little scattered holographic sparkle and brings it all together. I wore these nails for like 5 days, because I loved them so much! I have some awesome nail polish friends who are sharing my exciting news today by doing baby girl nails along with me. They teased me forever about it being a unicorn baby since it wasn’t showing itself, so I’m expecting some unicorn nails. πŸ˜‰ I think a unicorn would like the ones I did, don’t you? Be sure to check out all my friends’ nails here:

Cynthia from Of Life and Lacquer

Lesley fromΒ TwitterΒ andΒ Instagram

Frosso from Lacquer Me Silly

Siobhan from For The Love Of Nail Art

Amy from The Fancy Side

Amanda from Mae’s Beauty

Thank you so much to everyone who participated in both my Baby Announcement Nails from several months ago, and today’s It’s a Girl Nails! I really appreciate all the support and entertainment (most times in questionable taste, at best ;p) I get from my blogger/Twitter/IG/Email friends. Thanks, ladies!!

I hope everyone enjoyed these nails and everyone else’s as well. Please let me know what you think in the comments below!! Thank you all very much for reading and commenting, and till next time- Happy Polishing!!! πŸ˜€Β 

40 thoughts on “I’m Having A Baby, and It’s A…

  1. Pingback: It's a......! | Lacquer Me Silly

  2. Yay, congrats congrats congrats! I’m so happy for you & your family. As if I couldn’t tell by the colors of your accent wall…. Hehehe! I love the nails & she’s going to be so adorable & spoiled sweet!! Happy sugar & spice & everything nice!!!

    • Thank you so much. πŸ™‚ I’m thrilled to know and maybe even a little more thrilled that its a girl! πŸ˜€ I can hardly wait to see what she looks like and what her little personality will be like and all that stuff. I hope she’s at least a little girly so I can paint her nails. I was a tom boy and my husband is way into sports so idk if I stand a chance! Haha.

    • Thank you!! I can hardly wait! Then we can having dueling baby pics on Instagram πŸ˜‰ We have mostly decided on Madeline for a name. We don’t have any other names that we’ve liked so I think that’s it!

  3. Pingback: For Madeline and Nicole | For The Love of Nail art

  4. Congratulations!!!!!!!! I love the idea of a polish-a-holic having a little girl… I hope there are many “mother-daughter bonding over polish” moments in your future πŸ™‚ And I adoooore these nails girl!! They remind me of cotton candy.

    xox
    Bailey

    • That’s what my husband said- they look like cotton candy!! I wish I’d added a little stamp or something but I really did still like these. Thanks so much for the congratulations and I hope she lets me do her nails, too. πŸ™‚

  5. lol this is quite appropriate for a little unicorn, hmmm did you do that on purpose? πŸ˜€ Congrats again on lil Helleborine! I can’t wait see her lil face!

    • I did! Haha. I only wish I had a unicorn stamp because I would have totally played into everyone’s unicorn predictions and added it for an accent! Thanks again for participating. I’m thinking of recreating your nails (my moms favorites, remember) for my baby shower. πŸ™‚

  6. Pingback: …And it’s a…. | Mae's Beauty

    • Thank you! I’m super excited too. She’ll be here before I know it! I’m already to the 2 appointments per month point! It’s going by quickly.

  7. Awww girl you’re having a girl that’s fantastic news, I’m happy for you & the hubby. Can’t wait to see her…. And one day her nails lol

  8. Yay! I’ve been following along in your antics- we just found out we are aging a girl, too! She ain’t touching my polish though! Just kidding! I can’t wait to paint little toes!

    • Aww how exciting!!! Congratulations!! Do you have any other kids? How far along are you? I think a baby girl will be so fun! You can always buy her her own polish if you don’t want to share πŸ˜‰

  9. Congratulations! These are so girly and pretty and I’m happy you liked them enough to wear them five whole days *gasp*!
    I’m glad that you found out because you have been ON IT ever since you did. πŸ˜‰
    Thank you for including me in both your announcement and gender reveal nails. πŸ™‚ It’s been a lot of fun to see what everyone comes up with and I’m happy to celebrate with you. πŸ™‚

    • Thanks! Yes I really do like these collaborative things- I get a lot of good ideas from everyone and it’s just fun to do something all together. πŸ™‚ Next up is our travel nails and Cynthia’s mysterious weekly challenge. I want her to tell us what she has in mind! I gotta get thinking!! πŸ˜‰

    • Thank you! Yours were so cute, mine are kinda plain but… Idk… I guess I was afraid of messing them up by adding something. Should have taken a picture of them and THEN tried a stamp or something. Instead I just left them, then used them at the end to try some 3D nail charms that I got from Winstonia. :p

  10. woot woot loved being a part of your Unicorn reveal. I love these super cute! love the beautiful pastels and your gradient is like beyond perfect! I can’t do them. only with glitter :/ Love these !

    • I seem to have luck w fairly sheer polishes. I guess that gives me plenty of leeway to perfect the gradient and that’s just what I need! Haha. Thanks for participating!

  11. Pingback: 3D Bow Mani Using Winstonia Nail Charms | Polish Me, Please!

  12. Congratulations!! I am so excited for you!!! I had my first and only baby 9 years ago. I hope you are having an easy pregnancy!! Mine was a beautiful boy but I cannot imagine the fun you will have with a baby girl!! All those fun clothes. About your nails…they are beautiful. I have never had good luck with gradients but you did a beautiful job. I think the bow looks pretty but something like that would drive me crazy!

    • Thanks so much!! I really have had a pretty easy pregnancy so far (knock on wood!!). πŸ™‚ And I totally agree w you on the bow- cute, but it would drive me crazy as well. I don’t like things getting caught on stuff and tangling in my hair.

Commenting is Caring!! ;D

