Silly Lily J-E-L-L-O (and kind of a weird needle drag)

Hey There Polished People!

I have had Silly Lily J-E-L-L-O sitting around forEVER and just finally got around to trying it. You may remember me sharing this Silly Lily polish with you, or perhaps this one quite a while ago. The ironic thing is that J-E-L-L-O is the polish I actually went to their store to find!! I don’t know why I didn’t try it for so long but today I finally have the post for you! Let’s see what I did with it, shall we?

Silly Lily J-E-L-L-O (and kind of a weird needle drag)

J-E-L-L-OOPIDSClassicRapidRedBriskBlueLicketySplitLime (2)

 

J-E-L-L-OOPIDSClassicRapidRedBriskBlueLicketySplitLimeHow To Get These Nails:

  1. Basecoat.
  2. Paint your nails with 2-3 coats of OPI DS Classic.
  3. Apply Silly Lily J-E-L-L-O to all finger nails except for your accent nail, then top with a coat of Seche Vite. Yes, I’m back to using Seche Vite. I couldn’t stand not using it any longer!
  4. On your accent nail, apply a coat of SV and allow your nail to dry thoroughly.
  5. When your nail is dry, apply the following polishes thickly in horizontal stripes across your nail from top to bottom (all are SH Insta-Dri polishes): Rapid Red, Heat Flash, Brisk Blue, Lickety-Split Lime.
  6. Quickly grab your needle and drag it through the polish, alternating directions.
  7. Top the accent nail with SV, clean up, and check out your fun nails! 🙂

In my head, the Silly Lily polish being all rainbow-colored was going to play off the holographic finish of OPI DS Classic, and then the accent nail was just going to like bring it all full-circle and it was going to be amazing. Well… it just turned out OK. Now, did the cloudy lighting help me at all? No, but even under bright artificial lighting it was just so-so. In good news, Silly Lily J-E-L-L-O was awesome! I love the rainbow-colored squares as much as I love a good Jello shot 😉 (well, did love before getting all pregnant) and the formula was good as well. It was a little thick, but as you can see it didn’t cover my nails in bubbles, so yay for that! 🙂 If you’d like to check out Silly Lily‘s polishes, check out her Etsy store here. As of the time I’m writing this post- J-E-L-L-O is still available!! She also has some cherry almond cuticle oil on there that I’m dying to try… maybe with my next order.

How do you like these nails? I know I set us all up to dislike these nails with the odd title, but that’s just what came to me and it’s my blog so.. :p Have you tried Silly Lily Polish before? Which polishes on her Etsy shop are particularly calling your name? Let me know in the comments below! Thank you all for reading, till next time- Happy Polishing!! 😀

 

24 thoughts on “Silly Lily J-E-L-L-O (and kind of a weird needle drag)

    • That’s a big compliment, thanks!! Your nails always look nice too!! How are things going w you lately? I’ve been behind on blogs and have even been a little MIA on twitter, etc.

  1. I really like this J-E-L-L-O polish – I just popped over to Silly Lily’s Etsy page to see what it looked like in the bottle. It reminds me of Jello shots!!!

    • Yes!! And they’re my favorite 😉 Cynthia (from Of Life and Lacquer) actually was the one who told me about this polish cuz she knows I’m a fan of Jell-O shots. 🙂

  2. I love the needle drag.Really beautiful!!
    Weird is what I do. I end up digging it too deep and it looks like a weird wounded drag 😛

    • Haha yeah!!! That’s how mine turned out. Sometimes it works better if my under layer is totally dry, but sometimes it works better if it’s still wet. I just don’t quite understand. But when it turns out… It’s super pretty! 😉

    • Awww well thank you! I’m sure you could though. I used to be absolutely horrible at needle drags but w enough practice and mostly experimentation I do get a few good ones now and then! 😉 If you really want, just keep trying and you’ll get it. I think it’s more about finding the just-right polish than the technique, in my experience. Maybe a 60/40 split. 🙂

    • Thanks! I had to try this one twice but in the end I thought it turned out ok. Maybe less smooth than I would have liked but hey- they can’t all be perfect. 😉

  3. Your needle drag makes me think of a native american headband. Maybe cause it looks feathery? I dunno. I do see what you were doing with incorporating the colors and I love that you put it over a neutral but sparkly base color. J-E-L-L-O looks like a really cute polish. I’m having a huge craving for jello now…I’m going to get on that.

    • I hope you got yourself some jello! Add some vodka in that and call it a night! Mmmm. 😉 I see what you’re saying w the headband… It does look kinda feathery.

  4. I feel like these are somehow kind of odd and I shouldn’t be digging them, but I do! I think they’re really cool! In fact, this tutorial just convinced me that I can try a needle drag and probably make it work! THAT is pretty magical. Maybe the unicorn is assisting with boosting your nail mojo to the point that you can now influence nail art scaredy-cats. :p
    I have Silly Lily Holy Holo (which I kept calling Holly Holo and Holy makes WAY MORE SENSE, OMG) and After the Storm, enabled by Cynthia and acted upon when I was in a flu haze. I’ve tried Holy Holo, but not the other one yet, and they are GLITTER. BOMBS.

    • Ooh those sound pretty!! Get busy and use them! 😉 I’m glad the magical unicorn mojo is translating via Internet! That’s some special power for sure! You should totally try a needle drag, they’re pretty easy if you find the right polish and don’t be afraid to lay it on pretty thick. 🙂

  5. This is one of my favorites that you have done, I absolutely love the accent nail that ties in the glitter and that glitter topper looks awesome over the tan sparkles. love love love love it!

    • Wow!! Thanks so much! I always love seeing how different manis are received. Also sometimes I change my own mind once I’m looking at pictures of them and stuff. Thanks again! Glad you liked it! 🙂

Commenting is Caring!! ;D

