Lush Lacquer Clowning Around Half Moon Mani

Hey There Polished People!

Ever since my summer job started I’m just exhausted by the time I get home from work. I only work part-time but 4 hours out in the heat at the park with up to 45 children just wipes me out. Plus we have a lot of set-up and take down and the walking back and forth, and back and forth across the park to get supplies from our shed wears me out, too. That being said, it’s a pretty nice summer job and I’m thankful to have it. It’s been cutting down on my creativity for my nails though and I think my fatigue and impatience due to the fatigue are exacting a cost on my nail art. It seems like I’m having a hard time with EVERYTHING, nothing is looking right and I don’t even have anything very interesting to talk about in my posts. Sorry about that- hopefully I’ll bounce back. πŸ™‚ For today I have a simple look with my favorite white and Lush Lacquer Clowning Around to show you. The pictures are a little terrible, my apologies, but I hope you get the idea and still like the nails. Let’s get to em.

Lush Lacquer Clowning Around Half Moon Mani

Clowning Around  (2)

Clowning Around

How To Get These Nails:

  1. Base coat.
  2. Paint your nails with NUP French White. I used two coats, maybe three.
  3. Apply a coat of Jessica Brilliance and allow your nails to dry thoroughly. It wouldn’t be a bad idea to have white nails for a day and come back to finish these tomorrow.
  4. When your nails are completely dry, use hole reinforcement circles to tape off the half-moon area of each nail. Press them down well so you don’t have any place for the polish to seep underneath.
  5. Apply a coat of Clowning Around over the hole reinforcement circles on the end of the nail. If you can’t get the large glitters out easily, which I could not on this night, don’t worry about it and you can get some out and use your dotting tool to apply them later. If you look carefully at these pictures, you will see some bubbles as well as a fiber (great, not) on my nails. I don’t know why I have been getting bubbles so much lately (maybe all these super-thick glitter bases??) but I’ve about had it.
  6. After you’ve painted Lush Lacquer Clowning Around on top of each nail, remove the stickers and apply topcoat (watch out for fibers!!!) and enjoy your neon glittery nails. πŸ™‚

These nails really frustrated me because a) bubbles, I hate you, b) fiber, I also hate you and c) I wore these nails for like 3 days, forgot to take pictures of them and then had to take pictures in less-than-stellar lighting which made my pictures look all funky. I clearly can not be helped at this point. I hope I get this glitter topper to work better for me in the future because I love, love, LOVE the mixture of neon glitters in different sizes but I can not deal with the bubbles. If anyone has any tips for me, please don’t hesitate to share them with me in the comments.

Do you get in a nail slump sometimes? What do you do to bust that slump? Help me out with some slump busting suggestions, my nail polish friends! πŸ˜‰ As always, thank you all for reading, and till next time- Happy Polishing!! πŸ˜€

35 thoughts on “Lush Lacquer Clowning Around Half Moon Mani

    • Yep… I’m getting a pretty good farmer’s tan! :-/ When it stops being 90+ degrees outside I need to lay out for a bit and tan my pale parts! πŸ˜‰

  1. well..
    i loved this manicure and i couldn’t see the bubbles!!

    at least you’re doing your nails.. i’m just getting too lazy to do my nails..!! all my polishes are starting to get thick..!

    • Ugh I feel you on the thick polishes!! I feel like some of mine are getting that way too, and even thinner doesn’t totally fix it. I’m getting lazy too, well, mostly busy and unable to stay up till the butt crack of dawn to do them. 😦

  2. I don’t really see the half moon because of the nature of the glitter, but I still really like this glitter! I actually went and purchased three minis last week after I saw your first post on Lush Lacquer. I forgot what I ordered so I hope I get them soon.

    • Oh my gosh… I hope you got something you wanted! You and your wild eyed purchases! I bet you’ll get them before long. They say it takes super long but mine was here pretty dang quickly. Can’t wait to see em!

  3. I love Lush Lacquer, I have tons of their polishes!
    So you’re in a slump. Slap on something bright that you love and take it easy πŸ™‚

  4. You know… I ADORE this polish. It reminds me of paint splat and EVERY time you use it, I love it MORE!
    Ps: u better be using sunscreen huh! Watching you (O)_(O)/

    • Oh I do, I do. If I didn’t I’m pretty sure I would actually be black before the end of the summer. I have a bottle of the spray kind that I try to use every day. I love this polish too and think “paint splat” often. It’s like the neon version of KB Shimmer oh splat! πŸ™‚

  5. Nicole, your mani looks really beautiful, don’t put yourself down, love! I had to ZOOOooom way in to even see the fiber and the bubbles.
    If I had to venture a guess, it might be due to the heat or humidity? Otherwise, did you maybe use a topper that did not play well with the glitter base? Or lastly, (and I’m sure you know this) did you shake the bottle too vigorously? I could imagine that bubbles would easily get trapped in with these massive size glitters. I know my Lush Lacquer is not happy on super hot days.

    • Ah thanks. πŸ™‚ yeah I think it’s a combination of heat and humidity and me just overworking the polish. Thanks for the input… Hopefully I’ll figure it out and fix it soon!

  6. Ugh I feel the same way, I think that I am going through that too, with the exception of my last two manis I felt like nothing I did worked and I had the hardest time coming up with combos. I really need to pick me up one of these neons I am loving them so much!

    • I am really enjoying all my neons right now too. Maybe it’s just the summer blahs or something making everyone so slumpy feeling. I’ve gotta start thinking about the 4th and plan some nails for that.

  7. I got into a big “argument” once with a guy over “exacting.” It’s OK because I know I am right. πŸ˜‰
    This almost looks more like a gradient to me, but it is quite summery and awesome-looking. I am still debating on getting Clowning Around…I should probably stop doing that. πŸ˜‰
    You are so over this manicure in this post, lol. Cheer up! πŸ˜€

Commenting is Caring!! ;D

