I Dare You To Not Be Cheerful When You See These Nails

Hey There Polished People!

Many of you may know that I am a licensed teacher. I have my Masters Degree and I’m a substitute teacher currently, but I hope to some day relatively soon have my own classroom. As it stands though, I do enjoy subbing and I especially enjoy subbing for the younger grades. I think if I had my choice, I would choose to teach AM/PM kindergarten classes. The kindergartners are just so cute, and a half day of class is really just long enough to keep their attention and get some stuff done without wearing them out and having to allow half the day for free play. I also like first grade, which is where I subbed last week. There was one student in that class that has some behavioral difficulties and after I brought him back from the edge of a near-melt-down, his assistant said something kinda funny to me. He said, “You turn frowns into smiles.” Β That was a very nice compliment and was rather fitting because, well for one- I do, duh πŸ˜‰ and for two- my nails were super cheerful. Must’ve been the nails. Ready to see them?

Cheerful Sunny Yellow Nails

Sunlight

NinaUltraProFrenchWhiteWUltaSun-Sational (3)

How To Get These Nails

  1. Basecoat.
  2. Paint your nails with NUP French White. I love this white, in fact I recently bought myself a backup bottle “just to be safe.” πŸ™‚
  3. Apply a coat of Jessica Brilliance and allow your nails to dry thoroughly.
  4. While you’re waiting for your nails to dry, use a dotting tool and Ulta Sun-Sational to add the polka dots to your accent nail.
  5. When your nails are completely dry, cut up some tape into medium width strips. You’ll need three per nail if your nails are about the same length as mine.
  6. Apply the strips of tape to each nail (except the polka dot nail of course) and make sure they’re pushed down and sealed well.
  7. Paint over the tape with Ulta Sun-Sational and after every two nails, use tweezers to remove the tape from your nail. Using tweezers is optional, but it really makes things a lot easier and will prevent you from messing up your finished nails while finishing the rest.
  8. When you’ve painted all the nails with the yellow polish, use a brush dipped in acetone to clean up any smeared lines you may have. I usually have at least one line that I need to fix.
  9. Allow your nails some time to dry, then apply your final layer of topcoat over all of your nails. To make absolutely sure I didn’t smear my polka dots or my stripes I applied a layer of OPI regular clear base and topcoat, followed by a layer of my quick dry Jessica Brilliance. I find that the quick dry topcoats tend to smear my polish more easily than the regular “slow dry” top coats. Plus, I mean, what else are you going to use those regular topcoats for?? Certainly not really as topcoat and wait fifty hours for your nails to dry, right?? ;p
  10. Smile at your cute and cheery nails. (Do this in private though so no one thinks/knows that you’re insane.)

I loved these nails!! They actually match a shirt that I have, it’s a yellow and white striped tunic and I wear it with leggings and it’s just so cute and comfy. These nails and that top makes me think of my friend Ami. Her favorite color is yellow and I just knew she’d like these nails. Sure enough, when I posted a picture on Twitter of something else entirely, she noticed these nails and was like, “Hey- I like those nails!” πŸ™‚ I knew she would. πŸ™‚ Speaking of Ami, she has since moved to Oklahoma and now Texas (womp wommp… I miss going out to lunch and occasionally going shopping with her) and has a photography blog where she posts pictures of her adorable boxer named Molly, country scenery, her nailsΒ once in a blue moon, and the occasional buffalo among many other things. Check out her blog here.Β 

So, do you have a soul? Did these nails make you feel cheerful?? C’mon now, be honest!! πŸ˜‰ I hope you liked these nails as much as I did. I thought they were simple but cute. Let me know what you think in the comments below. As always, thank you all for reading and till next time- Happy Polishing!! πŸ˜€

39 thoughts on “I Dare You To Not Be Cheerful When You See These Nails

  1. Do I even need to tell you that I love these? I mean really? But in case you’re in doubt, Nicole, OF COURSE I love these because they’re sunny and yellow!!!!

  2. i love the fact these nails looks like the perfect start for summer.. and summer makes people cheerful..!
    the tweezers are the perfect assistant to get this done.. i always have a hard time working with decals, because, well it is damn difficult to use decals when your nails are still wet, and waiting an hour, Lord, Ain’t nobody got time for that! So, i bought these nice decals and the instructions recommended using a tweezer.. it was like suddenly, the sky divided in two, and a small sunlight appeared while angels play the trumpet …

  3. You know I like yellow polish so this definitely looks bright and cheery. I can totally see you in a classroom dealing with a whole bunch of little kids. I think kids are fun but not if they’re acting like jerks. I think it’s normal for them to have tantrums and all that, but if they are one of those kids who have never been disciplined and the parents are assholes who let them be rude, then I have a huge issue. Yesterday I was watching The Hangover 3 with my friend and two ladies had a baby in the theater. Seriously? The kid was under a year old and he was being fussy and noisy. I don’t pay $10 to hear your baby at the movies. I was so irritated. I also always ask to be moved if there is a family with young kids near me at a restaurant…now I sound like a total child hater, huh?

    • Kid hater!!!! Hahaha. I’m just kidding. Kids can totally be jerks, believe me I know! :p However it’s great, cuz when you’re the teacher you get to tell them how to behave and it’s totally acceptable. Sometimes I find myself wanting to go into teacher mode at home around other people’s kids and then I’m like ok, chill out, you’re not the teacher now. So instead I just silently fume, like you. I would be really irritated if someone brought their baby to a move… I mean what went through their head that made them think THAT was a good idea?! Probably the same people who take their 2 month old out trick or treating on Halloween to total strangers’ houses and even have the nerve to carry a candy bag and collect candy “for the baby.” I feel like being like here- give the baby this jawbreaker. Babies love small, round windpipe-sized candies!

  4. These are so flipping cute…I guess I do have some sort of a soul πŸ˜› I can see you painting a little bumble bee in the corner of your nail on these too.

    • That would be really cute! However my bumble bee would probably end up looking like a turd so I think I’ll have to pass. Good idea tho! And yay for having a soul!

  5. I loved this idea and immediately tried it myself… But when i went to pull the tape off, it took off ALL of my layers, base color included! Oops! I think the base coat must not have been dry enough! #TryTryAgain πŸ™‚

    • Oh no!!! I’m sorry that happened! That’s the only bad thing about tape manis- they definitely have to be DRY before you slap on the tape. Also idk if you did this or not but if you remove some of the stickiness w on your hand first that can help. Better luck next time! πŸ™‚

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt: You’ve Got The Power // 365 Day 137 – Rules | AmiLoo's Photography

  7. I love ’em! These nails remind me of bumble bee’s and babies. The colors are so fun and summery while the accent nail reminds me of a baby shower cake, booties or diaper bottoms. The first thing that came to mind.

  8. β€œYou turn frowns into smiles.” AWWWWWW TIMES A THOUSAND! πŸ™‚
    I failed the dare…they are, indeed, cheerful. I guess this means I have a soul. *phew!*

    • Hey- I’m used to turning mild amusement into horrific mental images so this was a nice change! ;p
      I’m so glad you have a soul. I was wondering a bit.

  9. Pingback: 25 Amazing DIY Nail Arts Tutorials for Debs - Fanny Crown

  10. Pingback: COOL YELLOW ACRYLIC NAIL DESIGN IDEAS | Nails And Hair Style

  11. Pingback: COOL YELLOW ACRYLIC NAIL DESIGN IDEAS | ALL FOR FASHION DESIGN

  12. Pingback: 15 Cute Yellow Acrylic Nail Designs Ideas For Girls Stylish 2015 | Gallery Nail Art Design

Commenting is Caring!! ;D

