Ahh Back To Nail Art With A Stamping Sandwich!

Hey There Polished People!!

I’ve probably told you this before, but the first nail polish that REALLY got me into nails was the OPI Black Shatter, and to be fair- only in tandem with SH Mega Shine. Before then I liked wearing nail polish like anyone else, mainly liked red and black, but wasn’t THAT into it like I am, of course, now. πŸ™‚ When the shattered polishes started coming out I hated them. I thought they looked like chipped up, month old manis. Slowly though I came around to them and decided if I could just find some sort of top coat that would make them look REALLY shiny I would like the look. So I bought some OPI Black Shatter (which I still have but I doubt it’s usable at this point) and started looking up top coats. I eventually tried Sally Hansen Mega Shine, which dried super fast and was extra, extra shiny and BAM! The rest is history. Once I did all I could do with the shattered polishes, I started reading nail blogs. The first nail blogs I found were All Lacquered Up and Swatch And Learn. I still read Swatch And Learn and follow Mary on Twitter, Instagram, etc, but now that I’ve kinda learned about nail polish and have my own methods and ideas I prefer to keep up with myΒ new-foundΒ friends’ blogs more than the “big” ALU type blogs with little interaction. Anyway, the point I’m trying to make is that my first real nail polish love was the shatter/ SHMS combo, but my first real nail art love was stamping. I found out about stamping plates on various blogs, got some for Christmas that first year of nail polish obsession and it’s still probably my favorite form of nail art. Fittingly, today’s post includes my love of stamping, AND a polish given to me by one of my new friends I made through blogging and nail polish obsession. I received this polish from Lesley (@MisfitLesley on Twitter AND now on Instagram!!Β If that IG link doesn’t work, just search @misfitlesley) for my birthday last month, and I actually did these nails before I finished my swatch-a-thon just because I could NOT resist, but now I’m just finally getting around to posting them. Ready to see what I did? It’s pretty simple, but still fun and cute if you ask me. πŸ™‚

Star Stamping Sandwich

Nuance by Salma Hayek in Orange Poppy with Konad Special White and CH51 sandwiched inside.

Nuance by Salma Hayek in Orange Poppy with Konad Special White and CH51 sandwiched inside.

How To Get These Nails:

  1. Base coat.
  2. Paint your nails with 2-3 coats of Orange Poppy. You want the base to be pretty opaque, but don’t worry if you still see some VNL, the stamping will cover/disguise that. πŸ™‚ Allow your nails to dry and harden to the touch. We don’t want any squishing!
  3. Using CH51 and your Konad Special White polish, stamp the star design onto each nail.
  4. Once you’ve stamped all your nails, your stars will be dry since the stamping polish dries lightning quick, so you can very carefully apply one thin, even coat of Orange Poppy over the stars to give them the sandwichy, buried look. Be careful to make the layer even because the white Konad polish will definitely reveal patchiness or too-thick areas.
  5. Clean up your cuticles with a small brush dipped in acetone.
  6. After your top layer of polish, add top coat (I’m using Jessica Brilliance) and ta-daaaa! Cute starry starry nails! πŸ™‚

Quick Review of Nuance by Salma Hayek Orange Poppy:

Orange Poppy is a bright red-orange jelly polish. I didn’t quite grasp the concept that this was a jelly polish at first, so my first intention was just to paint my nails this color and leave them at that. When I look up this polish on the CVS website (where you can find this brand) it doesn’t SAY it’s a jelly, but it clearly is. You will have VNL unless you use a base of some sort or use it for sandwiches like I did. That being said, this polish is super cute, it’s a little different color for me (which is why Lesley got it for me, how sweet! :)) and I really love it! I’m anxious to try it with different things inside the sandwich (that sounds a little weird huh??) and maybe even by itself over some polish undies. It dries super shiny, goes on smooth… it’s a great polish! She sent me another bottle from this brand in a pretty, neutral greige-y color so I’ll be trying that shortly as well. Thank you so much to Lesley for the bday polishes!!

What was your first nail polish and/or nail art love? How did you really get into nails? Or maybe you just are starting to get into nails… let me know in the comments below! Also- tell me how you liked this design. Thank you all for reading and commenting, and till next time- Happy Polishing!! πŸ˜€

EDIT:
Hello Again Everyone!!

I just have to share something so funny with you all. I always try to cite and link where I get ideas from, but I’m sure sometimes I think that I think of something on my own when in fact a little seed, subtle or obvious, has been planted by someone else somewhere along the line. When I did these nails I wasn’t thinking about any nails I’ve ever seen before, but then today Cynthia (from Of Life And Lacquer) tweeted me and pointed out some nails that look VERY similar to mine. Here’s the picture.

Cynthia's Nails from our 31 Day Challenge!

Cynthia’s Nails from our 31 Day Challenge!

I completely copied her design- same stamp, same color (mostly), same everything!! Haha!! Oh my gosh, when she tweeted me I had to show my husband and we just laughed!! I did not even REMEMBER these nails!! Somewhere deep in my head, when I was trying to decide what to do with that polish Lesley sent me, I must have remembered these nails! Is that funny or what?! Click on the picture or click here to be taken to that ancient post of Cynthia’s. I even commented on them so you KNOW I saw em!! As they say- Β Great minds think alike!! ;D

26 thoughts on “Ahh Back To Nail Art With A Stamping Sandwich!

    • Thanks! I’m a fellow star lover. I wish I had more star stamps because I feel like for the 700 flower and heart designs I only have like 3 star plates. People need to get on board!!

  1. So CUUUUUuuuuuUUte! I love the jelly sandwich stamping πŸ˜€ At first glance I had thought you had just stamped a creamy color on top and had a super shiny finish, but I see the sandwich now. This looks awesome, but I know I wouldn’t have the patience for it. I have a hard enough time waiting for a cream to dry in order to stamp….waiting for a jelly would just go badly for me πŸ™‚
    I don’t remember what nail art really got me into nail art. I’m pretty sure my first try was stamping, and then dotting. I’ve never been into the elaborate nail art looks, those tend to creep me out. I know when Sephora started carring SOPI is when I really started to get into nail polish because I never really knew anything about OPI before then and hadn’t seen such a variety of “crazy” colors before.

    • When I finally started paying attention to nail polish and realized there were like seasonal collections that come out w all new (well, presumably but not always new) colors of polish I was like ahhhhhhhhhh (angels singing) and in total nail polish heaven. It’s funny how you don’t even realize what’s out there till you kinda dive right in. πŸ™‚

  2. I am all about this post right now! I can’t resist a shout-out! LOL!
    I enjoyed hearing the story of your nail obsession. Mine is kind of similar. I have always liked nail polish, but wasn’t as obsessed with it as I am now. I think it started when, in passing on some news-y type website (like maybe MSN or Yahoo after logging into email accounts) I saw something about The Daily Nail when she was doing the 365 day nail art challenge. I started reading other blogs after her blog (All Lacquered Up was an early one for me, too) and the rest is history.
    I completey have to agree with you that I enjoy the personal interaction on “smaller” blogs. I still read the big ones, but the smaller ones are more fun! ;P
    Now that I am newly on Instagram (I still don’t really know what I’m doing), I am getting more into nail art. I can do half moons, dots, and apparently vintage roses (since I did OK on my first try and have some ideas for improvement), and I have some striping tape to try out I feel pretty positive about. Yet, I am still an utter fail at stamping. One day!
    “I’m anxious to try it with different things inside the sandwich (that sounds a little weird huh??)” Hahaha!
    Well, I am biased, because I just get a freaking kick in the pants when I see swatches of polish that I gifted to people, but I think this looks fantastic! πŸ™‚

    • Shout outs are fun!! Except when you’re being a big bum and don’t catch up on blogs forever and then see someone mentioned you like 2 week ago and then you realize you’re a big turd cuz you’re just seeing it now. That’s happened to me. :-/
      I don’t even really remember exactly how I even found out there were such things as nail blogs. I don’t even know if I knew what a blog was… But now I sure do!! Haha. Although if I tell people I post my nails and stuff, I call it a “website” because to say I’m a “blogger” sounds kinda weird. You always hear things like “the bloggers went nuts over…” And stuff that makes us sound like fanatics, which actually I guess we are but, uh, I’m done here.
      I’m jealous of your vintage rose skills cuz as you saw a while back it didn’t work out so well for me. I need to get back to the Wah Book and try some more of their designs. It sits on my end table on the living room like a trophy and even when my nail polish goes away it stays there as some sort of fanatical statement. :p I should pick another design from it soon. πŸ™‚

  3. That looks awesome! And the stamping sandwich is such a good idea, I’ve only ever seen glitter sandwiches before. I must remember this for the Fourth of July…

  4. This is so hilarious. I hope you don’t think that I was trying to say you ripped off my mani when I tweeted you. We just tend to think alike in so many ways that it doesn’t surprise me at all!

    • Nah I didn’t think that at all. That was just so funny I had to share it! I mean, it doesn’t surprise me, but I seriously was like “are those my fingers? They look kinda different and how did they get that other polish behind them?!” when you sent me that picture. Too crazy! We do have kinda the same style and tastes. And especially hates. ;p

  5. omg SH Mega Shine used to be one of my go-to top coats when I first started blogging lol. haha I can relate to you about used to keeping up with bigger nail blogs at first, but am now just keeping with fellow friends’ blogs πŸ™‚ The interaction is the best part between bloggers! (btw, thanks for the comment spamming on my blog lmao. I love getting a whole bunch of emails showing your mass commenting!)

    • I still do love SHMS… It’s so dang shiny!! And you’re welcome for the comment bombing. πŸ™‚ I always feel so bad because I tend to slack on the commenting, only because my phone is so finicky and won’t let me comment on soooo many of my favorite blogs, so then some night when it’s on the verge of absolute ridiculousness I get on my laptop and spend like 2 hours commenting on posts from the blogs my phone won’t cooperate with.

    • Thanks! I did it once before w stripes and I may have used a different stamp in the past, but it’s just kinda fun and makes a different type of sandwich look. πŸ™‚

  6. gorgeous. love love love. I am most likely going to try and do this myself to some degree. Probably not as gorgeous but I am going to try anyway πŸ™‚

Commenting is Caring!! ;D

