Chic Green, Black and Gold Nails

Hey There Polished People!

As I type this up Wednesday night (I’m going to be at the beach over the weekend so I had to get this ready early if I wanted a post on Monday) I’m watching Jimmy Fallon and I just have to tell you- I love him. I think he’s going to be great in the cursed Leno/Tonight Show spot. I liked Conan but he’s a bit of a “niche” comedian if you know what I mean. He’s got some nasty bits, and I think you have to have a certain type of sense of humor to get him. Sometimes I even find myself to be like, “huh?” when watching him. Jimmy Fallon on the other hand is a lot more generally understood I think, and he’s cute and really friendly-seeming and I just think he’ll appeal to older people more than Conan. Right now Jimmy’s got Bill Cosby on and although I love Bill Cosby, I always think how nerve-wracking it must be to interview him. He’s just so unpredictable and always says “no” when someone tries to go along with a joke with him… it cracks me up but I would just be so nervous! He’s hilarious though. I remember my parents listening to a record maybe or watching some old video (both?) of him and the topic was about how children have “brain damage.” I just remember him saying whatever about weird stuff kids do and then shouting (in typical Cosby style) “They have brain DAMAGE!” And I remember this one line where he says until he was like 10 he thought his name was Jesus Christ cuz every time he would do something his dad would say, “Jesus Christ!” Haha. Anyway- let’s get on to the nails.

Chic Green, Black & Gold Nails

KhloeHadALittleLamLamFPBlackExpressionismEssieGoodAsGold (2)

KhloeHadALittleLamLamFPBlackExpressionismEssieGoodAsGold (3)

Indirect lighting

Indirect lighting

KhloeHadALittleLamLamFPBlackExpressionismEssieGoodAsGoldHow To Get These Nails:

  1. Base coat.
  2. Paint your nails on a diagonal (a Spanish French) with NOPI Khloe Had A Little Lam Lam nearest the cuticle and FP Black Expressionism towards the tip. I just freehand my diagonal line but you could also paint your nails with KHALLL, let them dry completely, then tape off the diagonal line and paint the tip with the black. While we’re talking about KHALLL and Nicole By OPI (NOPI in case you didn’t know what that meant) I have to tell you that I had the bottle beside the couch where I do my nails and my husband took one look at it and goes “What the f***?! Did you break that or what? You BROKE that bottle!” cuz it’s so odd-shaped. I was like, “It’s funny you say that cuz it’s a big annoyance among nail people…” and proceeded to tell him how it doesn’t fit well in your hand, it’s just awkward, etc and I think he was sorry he said anything to begin with.
  3. Once your nails are painted in the Spanish French design, get out your dotting tool and use it with Essie Good As Gold to add the dots along the diagonal line.
  4. Give your dots a few minutes to dry and then coat your nails with a healthy layer of Jessica Brilliance.
  5. I don’t ever use the work “chic”, I even googled it to make sure I was thinking it with the right pronunciation but for whatever reason, these nails just made me think “now THESE are chic.” I hope you like them too! I love this design because it looks pretty sophisticated and cool, yet it’s really simple and especially using the taping method instead of just freehanding it, I think everyone can do it. If you give it a try, don’t forget to show me! Tweet me @polishmeplease or tag me on Instagram @nicole_423 šŸ™‚

Did you think these nails were as cool as I did? Maybe I’m just delusional and they suck! Let me know in the comments below. Thank you all for reading and till next time- Happy Polishing!! šŸ˜€

 

 

PS: Sorry the black is all scuffed-up looking. I keep forgetting to take pictures of my nails till like day 3 and this is exactly why I need to take them on day 1. Even though they generally don’t chip or anything, they still don’t look great in pics. At least my nails don’t look like melted spoons and my hands don’t look like deflated balloons or lumpy green beans or something. We can all be thankful for that. šŸ™‚

17 thoughts on “Chic Green, Black and Gold Nails

  1. I can’t believe your nails still look that good on Day 3. You must have some incredible top coat! My shit looks busted by the end of Day 1! I really like this look though and I will have to try it myself!!

    xox
    Bailey

    • I’m usually not too TOO hard on my nails, but also I am just kind of lucky and have pretty strong nails. Also, I think right now with my prenatal vitamins they’re extra strong so that helps with the chipping and stuff, too. I use Jessica Brilliance most of the time these days, and sometimes SH Mega Shine which REALLY helps with the wear time, just FYI in case you’re interested. Who care tho, really, cuz at least then you have an excuse to redo your nails! ;p

  2. I am surprised that the black and teal differentiate enough from one another, but, they do! I like that look this appears fairly easy to achieve. šŸ™‚ I also always enjoy the appearance of the abbreviation “KHALLL,” haha.

    • Yeah I was happy that the black set the teal off cuz in my head I was expecting a lot of this combo and happily it mostly delivered!! šŸ˜€ And yes, they were really quite easy so yay for that! I have to abbreviate it because a) it hurts me to even reference the Kardashians even in the name of a nail polish and b) I am NOT writing that whole name out more than once :p

  3. At first glance, I didn’t see the color difference between the black and the dark teal. I think this mani looks so sophisticated and love how it turned out. Oh sweet baby Jesus that PS made my day and you know what kind of shit-tastic day I have had. LOL

    • There’s your favorite word again!! “Shit-tastic”!! I’m glad you saw it (the PS part). I actually only got a few comments on these nails (from my favorite regulars mainly, so far) so I was wondering if people were offended!! Haha.

  4. I do like them especially the colours used as they go so well together!!! They definitely are CHIC yes but also sexy I feel… Maybe that’s just me :-/ hehe
    ~Don’t forget to enjoy this day~

Commenting is Caring!! ;D

