Sally Hansen Debu-Tint- My New Favorite Layering Polish!

Hey There Polished People!

Have you ever seen a polish in the store and thought, “Ehh that doesn’t look too special” only to later realize it looks FABULOUS when layered and here at the store you were thinking it would be too sheer and it never even occurred to you to layer it?? Have you ever had a polish like that and actually THROWN it AWAY because you didn’t know how to properly use it?? I have done that! I had some awesome pearly-looking sheers and glitters in my collection that were super duper old that I threw away because it was before I knew to layer those polishes and I just threw them out because I knew I’d never wear such sheer polish! Oh the tears I have thought about crying because of that!!! Don’t ever let that happen to you, and if you see this next polish at the store, grab it up, cuz I’m pretty sure you’ll love it. I recently got Sally Hansen Compete Salon Manicure Debu-Tint for review and it turned out to be my surprise favorite! Shall we see it?

Sally Hansen Complete Salon Manicure Debu-Tint

Ignore these nails that hold this polish, you'll see them later :)

Doesn’t look like much in the bottle, huh? (Ignore these nails that hold this polish, you’ll see them later 🙂)

SH Complete Salon Manicure Debutint w mojito madness and creative fantasy (6)

Layer it over ChG Creative Fantasy for a Zoya Daul/ Julep Julia dupe only brighter!

Layer it over ChG Creative Fantasy for a Zoya Daul/ Julep Julia dupe, only brighter!

SH Complete Salon Manicure Debutint w mojito madness and creative fantasy (2)

Layer it over Essie Mojito Madness for a really pretty effect.

Layer it over Essie Mojito Madness for a really pretty effect.

SH Complete Salon Manicure Debutint w mojito madness and creative fantasy

 

In indirect lighting.

In indirect lighting.

SH Complete Salon Manicure Debutint w mojito madness and creative fantasy (5)

Color:

Sally Hansen Debu-Tint is definitely a layering polish. It looks just like a milky, pearly flaky polish with a bit of a gold glow in the bottle. On the nail it’s the absolutely most lovely yellow-gold shimmer topcoat that goes perfectly with almost any polish!!

Formula/Application:

Everything you see is one coat. It goes on smooth, looks great, no complaints from me.

Yes, Please! or No, Thank You:

Yes, Please!! I can hardly wait to layer SH Debu-Tint over navy blue, OPI Koala Bear-y, white… everything. I absolutely love it. This is my favorite polish that I received for review. It’s so versatile and is perfectly on trend right now.  I think especially for someone who doesn’t have hundreds of bottles of polish this would be a super-valuable addition to their collection. You can turn any polish into a golden shimmer polish with a couple strokes of the brush. 

What do you think about this polish and my color combinations? Do you like layering polishes like this or do you prefer your shimmer to be in each bottle of polish? Let me know what you think! As always, thanks for reading and till next time- Happy Polishing!! 😀

**Products in this post were provided for honest review. To read more about my policy or to have me review your product, please see my disclosure tab.**

30 thoughts on “Sally Hansen Debu-Tint- My New Favorite Layering Polish!

  1. This reminds me of China Glaze Sea Spray! It’s pretty over all of the colors you swatched it with. Polishes like this are so good for sprucing up day old manis too. It’s funny that you tossed out your old sheers, I did too since I had no clue you could later them! I would slap on layer after layer until my nails were so layered with polish they almost always got wiped off before they dried.

  2. This is really pretty! I remember that my mom had tons of old polishes and I made her throw them away and I could cry now because she probably had some really amazing gems. Oh well…that’s what we get for being dumb. I was just thinking about you right now because I have spent the last couple of hours filling out job applications and it’s so freaking time consuming…then you never hear back. stupid mother fuckers.

    • Ugh I know… I wish I’d saved all those polishes I tossed out before I was a legit hoarder. And I totally feel you about the job apps. It takes sooooo much time. Luckily for me I’m done w apps for now unless something fantastic comes along cuz I actually have like 5 jobs booked through the next month (and good assignments too) and then my summer job starts up in June. Thank goodness for that cuz I don’t think anything is more demoralizing than applying for jobs. Good luck and I’m sorry.

      • Ugh…I just hate applying for jobs but there is nothing much I can do except keep applying like crazy until something comes my way. I’m glad to hear you have a lot of stuff lined up!

  3. Oh I was guilty of the same not understanding that polishes could be layered. Back before nail art and nail blogs and learning how to do a proper mani. I have this polish and really didn’t know exactly what to expect but I layered it over a creme beige and the polish came to life with the most beautiful pale golden shimmer. It positively glowed.

  4. NICOLE!!!! Please please teach me because I have a sheer polish that I LOVE and I have no idea how to layer! Teach me your ways master because this is just f*****g GORGEOUS!!!!! Especially the green and the purple one! MAN!!!!
    Mine is a duochrome blue that shines like a green, it’s Sally’s Blizzard Blue. Do you think it’s layerable?

    • If I’d had enough reception while I was out of town this weekend I would have said, “There’s no magic! You just thinly paint it on top of a base color! :)” And I would have said to try black w the duochrome. But…. since I know you already mastered it I’ll just wait patiently for the post. I’m trying to catch up on blogs a little tonight. 🙂

  5. You made this shimmery sheer polish look really good with your layering, but I still pass on sheer polishes even if they have layering potential. It’s nothing against the polish, its simply my being slightly lazy and not wanting to put the effort into finding good layering combinations. I already put too much effort in layering glitters so another task is just not for me 😛

    • Haha I totally understand about the not wanting to even mess w layering. I feel like that about glitter sometimes. I have a hard time pairing it up just right, and then I know I’m only going to wear it for like 1 day and then have to foil it off so it’s like ehhhh… At least these sheer or shimmery polishes are easy to remove. 🙂

  6. I agree that this is a winner! I like it best over Mojito Madness, for some reason, but I like all of the other options, as well.
    I still haven’t used any of my Cult Nails toppers that I dreamed about and therefore convinced myself that I had to have, so I am apparently not good at this layering thing, haha.

    • Haha! You know what? I was in LOOOOOOVE with the Cult toppers too, used them a couple times and was convinced I was going to do all these things and they were going to be wonderful and used all the time and guess what? Have YOU seen them on my nails? Me neither. :p

  7. I just picked up debu-tint the other day and thought it might be weird but I layered it over revlon trendy and the results are stunning! I have to say I’m less than thrilled with the quality of revlon but sh complete manicure series is my all time fav polish. Glad I found your post to see how it looks with other colors!!

    • You know I have had some ups and downs with Revlon too. I like their glitters in particular- I love Heavenly, and Royal which isn’t a glitter, but a jelly- but I find that a lot of the plain ol’ drugstore brand nail polishes are thin and kinda awful to work with. SH is an exception tho because I really haven’t found a polish of theirs yet that is bad quality. Yay for that! 🙂

Commenting is Caring!! ;D

