Fun. Nails

Hey There Polished People!

Before I get to today’s nails, I just have to tell you- I absolutely love Fun. I likeย having fun, but what I’m talking about is the band called Fun. The period is part of their name, so don’t be confused when I say I like Fun.’s music. ๐Ÿ™‚ They’re a mix of pop/alt music and like the style of Billy Joel with the story-telling and unapologetic drama within their songs. I just love them! I listen to them every day while I’m doing my housework/job applications/blogging (today) and I just listen to their album Some Nights over and over on repeat. I think my favorite songs off their album are Carry On (I’m a sucker for a good inspirational song) and Stars. They even do autotune in a cool way. Seriously, I love them, and the sad thing is that I JUST bought their album like a month or two ago. I could have been enjoying them for so much longer!!! I had a song or two but never got the album and now I just feel foolish. I thought it was funny (but still awesome!) that they won several Grammys including “Best New Artist” because they aren’t really new. I think they’re song, We Are Young, has been out and popular for like a year or more. Also, the lead singer cracked me up because when they won their first Grammy for Song Of The Year for We Are Young, he said, “I don’t know what I was thinking when I wrote this song, because when you see us in HD you will see that we are NOT young!” hahaha. Also, when they won for Best New Artist he was like, “We are so OLD!” but I’m thinking maybe he meant old, as in, “not a new artist” instead of his age again. The guy is only 30, but sorry to say for him, he does look a good 5-10 years older than his actual age. Sorry man, I still really like you!! ๐Ÿ™‚ Anyway, if you are looking for some “new” music to add to your iPod I highly recommend Some Nights. You’ll love it.

Somewhat unrelated but also “fun”, these next nails are the ones I previewed on Facebook late last week. I hope you like them! Once you have the base design done, the stamping is quick and easy! ๐Ÿ™‚ They really have nothing to do with Fun. except that with this blog post I made them connected. ;p

Fun. Nails (Rainbow Nails with Stamping)

Rainbow Nails with Stamping (2)

 

Rainbow Nails with Stamping

 

How To Get These Nails:

  1. Start with my Melted Rainbow Nails.ย 
  2. Using Konad Special Black polish and BM 319 stamp this design onto each nail.
  3. Use your favorite top coat very carefully so as not to smear the stamping. I used Ulta X Dry on these nails and I was NOT impressed. For one, it streaked like a crazy drunken frat boy, and it dried to an almost gummy consistency. I am so spoiled by my Seche Vite. I have, since this mani, used Jessica Brilliance and it’s an AWESOME quick dry topcoat. So awesome, in fact, that I was nervous if it was really big three free or not, but it’s supposed to be so I believe them. It dries the glassiest of any quick-dry, non-Seche topcoat. Even glassier than SH Mega Shine, but Mega Shine is still a good option. It dries quick and super shiny. ๐Ÿ™‚
  4. Show your friends!

How do you like these nails? Do you like the band Fun.? Let me know what you think in the comments below! As always, thank you all for reading and till next time, Happy Polishing!! ๐Ÿ˜€

22 thoughts on “Fun. Nails

  1. These nails are definitely fun. I hadn’t been paying much attention to Fun. except for We Are Young which I instantly liked but felt silly singing because I’m not young. hahaha I also thought his comment on the grammys was hilarious. Anyway, I’ve been like trying to pick some good music to get myself worked up at the gym and I kind of like that song even if it is kind of slow at certain parts. This is one of my favorite stamp designs–it’s so different looking. I can never get enough of crisp black stamping.

    • Black stamping, when it cooperates always looks nice in my eyes. I actually quite liked these myself ๐Ÿ™‚ I got this workout mix that like has all the songs sped up by a DJ so the beat is like the same speed you’d run or whatever (does that even make sense??) and I remember liking it but I don’t remember what songs were on it. I think they were kinda older songs, but good ones. I’ll find that playlist and tell you more about it. Fun.’s album is really good. But don’t buy it. If I find you this workout playlist and you’re interested I’ll burn you both of them.

  2. I love the nails. I think they’re super creative and I thought so from the first time you posted the picture on FB.
    I quite like Fun. I think they’re relatively different and their music is catchy.
    A cd I’m DYING to get hold of is Ellie Goulding. I’m SO into her right now and she’s like old too lol. Not old age wise but old artist wise lol.

    • You know, on the US X Factor this one group of young girls redid her song Anything Could Happen and until that moment I didn’t even like her! And even still I think the group did a better job of that song than her (sorry) but it made me curious about her album. I wonder if I’d like it. Do you have an ipod and itunes? You could find her album there. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. I love blogging about my musical interests too ๐Ÿ™‚ I hadn’t heard “Carry On” until the Grammy’s, but really enjoyed it then. It took me awhile to get past how much “Some Nights” sounds like Simon & Garfunkel’s “Cecilia” but once I got past that, I fell in love with that song! I’d def be interested in hearing more about music you like, in future blogs ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Oh yes! I forgot that they did Carry On on the Grammys! I actually don’t know that S&G song, but now I’m going to look it up. ๐Ÿ™‚ I like so many different kinds of music, there is nothing that I love more than discovering an excellent album and just playing it till I know every word, note, nuance, story and beat. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thanks! ๐Ÿ™‚ YES “We Are Young” is fun.!! Haha. Also “Some Nights” which you’ve probably also heard on the radio and I bet Carry On will be on soon as it seems to be their latest single. That’s funny that Taco Bell used it in their commercial.

  4. “We are Young” and “Some Nights” are all over every channel on the radio, so I’m getting a little burnt out on Fun. (hahahaha). I did download “Some Nights” when it first came out, though, so there’s that. I feel like I am falling into the “it’s popular, so I’m over it” attitude that my brother is EXTREMELY guilty of (well, his is more “it’s popular, so I HATE it). Nonetheless, I can see the potential!
    I liked your melted rainbow nails and I like this stamp on top of them! You’d think it would be too busy, but it looks cool!

    • I think the plain black stamp kinda chills out all the colors.. does that even make sense?? Haha. I totally relate to you about getting sick of “popular” songs. Nothing kills a good song like the radio. I try my best to never listen to it. I’ll buy a song/album, put it on my ipod and love it, then I’ll listen to the radio for a few days and be like “ugh I HATE this band!” cuz they’ll just seriously play the same song like 4 times while I’m out and about for like an hour or two. It’s ridiculous. It’s MURDER!

Commenting is Caring!! ;D

