Semi Disasticure- First Attempt at Vintage Roses

Hey There Polished People!

As we approach Valentine’s Day I just want to put it out there- I don’t like flowers. Is this weird?? It’s not that I don’t think they’re pretty, or I don’t appreciate getting them as a surprise gift but to me, getting flowers either means “I’m sorry I did something crappy, please accept these as my apology” or “I can’t think of anything more personal to get you so here. Don’t all women like flowers?” NO. We don’t. I also get just absolutely agitated when I see those stupid Vermont Teddy Bear ads on TV. I don’t know for a fact, cuz I certainly haven’t looked into them, but I’m pretty sure they’re ridiculously expensive and seriously, what grown woman needs an overpriced doll? Not me. I like when my husband gets me stuff that is specific to me- he knows I like makeup and plants and nail polish and orange things and things with owls on them and music and books and jewelry and clothes and notepads and pens and shoes. πŸ˜‰ I even like it better when he brings me home something random (today it was a picture of an owl that a customer of his drew and gave to him) or even a little treat (like those chocolate pies that come in a little bag, mmm) instead of flowers. For Valentine’s Day we aren’t planning anything too extravagant. We are probably just going to get some Chipotle for dinner and hang out at home. You couldn’t pay me to go out to a restaurant and sit elbow to elbow with 5,000 other people on actual Valentine’s Day. Plus, we can go do something fun and special any day, I’m not sharing my time with all these other people trying to go out just cuz it’s the 14th. No thank you. Coming back to flowers, today I have some flowery nails that, if done correctly, could have been cute for Valentine’s Day. As it turned out… I’ll need to come up with something else. Shall we have a look at this mostly failed attempt at vintage roses?

Vintage Rose Near-Disasticure

CreativeFantasyPirouetteYourWhistleNothingElseMetalsGreenLAColorsBlackStripeRite (2)

 

CreativeFantasyPirouetteYourWhistleNothingElseMetalsGreenLAColorsBlackStripeRiteHow To Get These Nails (hopefully with a better result)

  1. Paint your nails with a jelly sandwich using ChG Creative Fantasy and OPI Pirouette My Whistle by alternating coats of the two polishes, beginning and ending with Creative Fantasy. I covered up most of this super-pretty base, but I’ll post just the base alone in the near future so you can see it by itself. πŸ™‚Β 
  2. Paint random imperfect dots on your nails with Essie Nothing Else Metals using the polish brush.
  3. Use the edge of the polish brush from a green polish (I used an unnamed LA Colors) at the edges of the dots to make the leaves.
  4. Outline the “roses” and “leaves” with a black striper and then draw a couple of semi-circles inside the “rose” for the petals.
  5. Cover your nails with topcoat (I’m using SH Mega Shine these days) and tweet me (@polishmeplease) a picture of your much-better-looking flowers. πŸ˜‰

I’m calling these a near-disasticure (as opposed to a full-on disasticure) because I kind of like the final result… I like the colors I used and I like the metallic on the jelly sandwich base, I even like the green I chose to use. It’s a real pearly grass green and it looks almost metallic in this combination. I just was extremely disappointed with my roses. I think in the future I need to use a dotting tool or a tiny paint brush instead of the striper brush to make better lines around the roses and inside the roses, also I think I just need practice. πŸ™‚

Have you done vintage roses? So many people have and they always look fantastic! Why not mine?!?! Haha. Let me know if you have any tips or tricks for me. πŸ™‚ Also, do any of you have exciting Valentine’s Day plans? Just cuz I’m a party pooper doesn’t mean YOU have to be! πŸ˜‰ Thank you all for reading and till next time- Happy Polishing!!! πŸ˜€

 

27 thoughts on “Semi Disasticure- First Attempt at Vintage Roses

  1. I’m the same with Valentines day. I don’t mind celebrating, but not on the 14th. This year I told my boyfriend that all I want is to go to Fiesta so I can eat my peruvian chicken with lime and garlic infused rice, but NOT on the 14th. Like a day or two after haha. It’s not a fancy place or anything which is what I prefer. We’re not exchanging gifts and I told him I don’t even want to do cards…just gimme my peruvian chicken and I’m happy. I just CANNOT WAIT to see all the over the top in your face valentines day posts I’ll see on my FB feed. (I hope you picked up on the sarcasm there)…If everything wasn’t so connected to FB I would have deactivated mine by now. Ok…I’m going off topic…I’m hating FB these days sorry πŸ˜›
    Anyways! I like your vintage rose attempt. Your roses may not be perfect, but I like how they came out because they remind me of those more abstract modern art type roses if that makes any sense. Plus the colors you chose aren’t traditional vintage colors and the metallic and jelly have a good contrast that makes it pop. Don’t be so hard on yourself, I’d be proud of these πŸ™‚

    • Ehh thanks. πŸ™‚ That is so funny what you said about valentines day and Facebook because already me and my mom were looking at Facebook just DYING making fun of all the stupid posts people post. Idk if you want Portlandia on IFC but they JUST did a bit about how people make their life look soooooo wonderful online and it really sucks. Haha! When I see people always posting how wonderful their life is and how much they just looooove everyone and blah blah blah I just always think- who are you trying to convince?! And then I delete them. πŸ˜‰ I seriously only have like 90 “friends” now and I have hidden probably 20% of those people’s posts.

      • Lol no I haven’t seen portlandia, but I know what you mean. I feel like the less people post, the happier they are because who cares to get on FB when you’re having the time of your life πŸ˜› I really need to get on with the hiding people from my feed though.

        • I think you’re right. When people are bored and have nothing really going on then they post a lot. And good heavens those people w the inspirational quotes… I can’t do it. I want to give them the number or a therapist.

  2. I totally agree, my husband and i went to dinner and a movie last week, no thank you to the crazy crowds. Aso not a fan if flowers…. I do love them, they are gorgeous and smell amazing but what i hate most is he price for them to just die in a week… My husband got me one time mini rose bush from this place, now that i loved because i could plant them and have them forever! πŸ™‚ i very much love this mani! For a first time vintage rose attempt they are amazing! I agree with Frosso your color choices really made it pop!

    • I really love plants. Like potted plants. Those are the best because like you said they can live forever! Or at least if you kill them (like I sometimes do, especially to azaleas) at least they had the chance to last. Haha. When I worked at a grocery store w a floral department the dozens of roses were like 10 bucks, then valentines day comes around and they literally add one sprig of baby’s breath and BAM- 20 bucks. It’s ridiculous.
      Thanks about these nails. I think I’ll try then again sometime cuz I really like the designs I’ve seen. I did like my colors here! πŸ™‚ haha.

  3. lol I agree with you about flowers and overpriced bears…I don’t know if we’re doing anything for Valentine’s Day and it’s perfectly fine for us. It’s become a non-celebratory holiday for us the past few years haha.
    Anyway, I really love your manicure! It really does have a vintage-feel! Really gorgeous!

    • Aww thanks, Traci! Yeah idk for me valentines day is cool and all but I’d just as soon prefer to stay home and hang out. I hate crowds so that’s probably my main thing. Plus I kind of enjoy NOT buying any presents for a few months after Christmas. Haha.

  4. The only thing I don’t like is the jelly sarmie base. Other than that, I like the flowers. The colours you chose, gives the flowers a cool, futuristic appearance.

    No plans. We’ll also probably chill at home together (and irritate each other). We don’t go out on these occasion days because it’s too busy and it isn’t my style!

    • What!! You don’t like the base?? I’m Jk you don’t have to like it. I totally agree w you on the v day business. Not my style either. I like my outings to be relaxed, I don’t really care if I can tell people I was at some special restaurant for the night. Plus- my husband isn’t big on planning ahead so it would be a disaster anyway, haha.

  5. I really like how your nails turned out BUT if you hadn’t told me they were vintage roses, I probably would have been wondering what the design was. lol I see it now, but they’re different enough and unique that they don’t look like every other vintage rose mani–which is a good thing! About Valentine’s day..I have never given a rat’s ass about it. You know I’m pretty anti-holiday and this is no exception. I like flowers in general but not really to receive them because I think they’re overpriced and die right away. I’m like you in that if someone gets me a thoughtful present, it really means a lot more to me even if it’s not all expensive or anything.

    • Yeah that’s exactly what I thought about these- like when I say HEY
      THESE ARE ROSES it’s like ahhh yeah! I see them. But if I was like guess what??? People would be like “uhhhh…? Melting grape Popsicle? Barney in a microwave??” But that’s ok. I liked the colors and I’ll just have to practice. πŸ™‚

  6. i must confess that i would cheat on this mani using the BM plate with the vintage roses on it, and then just draw the borders LOL..

    regarding valentine’s, I LOVE this “holiday”.. i love receiving flowers in the office (i am the only person who receive flowers this day so all my coworkers are all like.. lucky you.. and I’m all like yeah i know i am the best bla bla, LOL.. i must say, women don’t like receiving flowers because flowers are beautiful, but to make other people jealous, true story bro).. i love receiving a nice present that i’ve wished for a while, on xmas I received (finally, after 2 years asking) a pandore bracelet (http://www.pandora.net/en-us/) so i guess i will receive charms for it and we already had reservations for a nice restaurant i really want to go.. the thing is that this valentine I had to share Jorge with a co worker, because she’s coming from mexico (yeah thanks a lot hubbie’s work for getting in the middle of my holiday).. but I did all reservations like super early, so i can eat a LOT and spend a lot of time eating there..
    valentine’s, my bday and our anniversary are the days i love to go out.. and be the center of attention..

    well it was good to let it out..! :$

    • Oh my gosh you are so funny!! I have to say- if I worked in an office situation I would want flowers just to be like hey look at me! Haha. But since I don’t it’s pointless to me. I’m sure you will have a wonderful valentines day! πŸ™‚ Sounds like you have all your plans made!

  7. I don’t really like flowers, either. I used to like having them occassionally as a “nice touch” in my old apartment, but really, they are kind of an expense and they just die, sooo…I don’t quite get it. ALTHOUGH…”i must say, women don’t like receiving flowers because flowers are beautiful, but to make other people jealous, true story bro)” LOL, Maria! Like you said, Nicole, if I worked in an office with a lot of people, I’d totally want them just to show off, but no one where I work would give a crap, haha.
    I am so baffled that you sometimes kill azaleas…they are one of the heartiest plants! When I worked at a flower ship when I was 15, I got my mom an azalea for Mother’s Day, and it is STILL in the backyard, and it has been ABSOLUTELY IGNORED in every way for years. You are good with plants, so, I am confused! :p
    I think I “get” your “near disasticure” titling, but I also don’t think they’re that bad. Just maybe a little more definition on the roses? I like the base, but probably would have just done a creme, myself. If I ever did nail art. Which I don’t. Hahaha.

    • I’d do x, if I ever did y, but I don’t so…. Hahaha! And ugghhhhh don’t remind me about azaleas!!! Seriously I have killed like three. And I KNOW they’re so hearty because my mom just like throws one in the backyard and my dad plants it and boom, 15 years later its like this beautiful flowering hedge!! I think if I had one again I MIGHT get a survivor though because before I think I left them in their pots too long so definitely next time I would plant them outside like ASAP and maybe they’d make it. Maybe. 😦 haha

      Thanks about the nails… I’ll give them another try sometime and do a plainer base and try to give them more definition, although I don’t know how. Better re-read my instructions in my wonderful Wah Nails book!!

Commenting is Caring!! ;D

