Pink and Nude Striped Tape Mani

Hey There Polished People!!

I always admire striped nails. I love the various width stripes, even stripes, fat stripes, thin stripes, bold stripes, neutral stripes… there’s just something about stripes that I love! Some of my favorite striped nails were my nautical striped nails that you can see here. Maybe the stripes just appeal to my love of order and regularity. Whenever I tell someone about how I like organization and symmetry I just can’t help but think of one time my brother and I were at Chevy’s restaurant. We had arranged our napkins and drink cups so that they had rotational symmetry (google it) and when the waiter came back he saw how we had things laid out and said, “Whoa… are you guys GEOMETRY MAJORS?!!” Me and my brother just looked at each other and were like, REALLY!?! And started laughing. Now whenever we see that we’ve done something like that- arranged things just so- we’re like, “We’re GEOMETRY majors!!” ;p For the record- we are, in fact, not! πŸ˜‰ Let’s see today’s nails, shall we?

Pink and Nude Striped Tape Mani

PinkFridayDSClassic

PinkFridayDSClassic (2)How To Get These Nails:

  1. Apply base coat.
  2. Cut some tape into different widths. I did a wide, a medium and a thin strip for each nail, but you can do it however your little heart desires. πŸ™‚ I leave my tape stuck to my hand while I wait to use it to remove a little of the stickiness. You might want to do this, as well.
  3. Paint your nails with OPI DS Classic. You’ll need 2-3 coats.
  4. Apply a coat of Seche Vite and allow your nails to dry thoroughly.
  5. When your nails are all dry, apply the tape to each nail. I did the thick at the free edge-side, the medium in the middle and the thin near the cuticle. Again, feel free to be a hardcore rebel and do this however you see fit.
  6. One nail at a time, make sure your strips are pushed down all the way, then paint over the strips with OPI Pink Friday. Do not remove the tape yet. You need two coats.
  7. Once you have all your nails painted with the first coat, go back and one at a time, paint your final coat of OPI Pink Friday and then remove the tape immediately after painting each nail. Just FYI I use tweezers to remove the tape, I just find it easier and then I don’t totally mess up my other hand’s nails.
  8. Let the pink dry a bit then carefully apply a final coat of Seche Vite.
  9. Show your friends your fun nails!! πŸ™‚

Is there a particular nail design that allllllways calls to you? Also- how do you like this color combo? I feel like it looked better in my head than in real life. I sometimes think holographic polishes are hard to pair. They’re already so awesome on their own, I think sometimes doing anything with them just dulls them. The good news for these nails is that the holographic-ness of DS Classic doesn’t show much in these pics so maybe that helps em πŸ™‚ As always, thank you all for reading and till next time- Happy Polishing!!! πŸ˜€

23 thoughts on “Pink and Nude Striped Tape Mani

  1. Polka dots always call out to me, I love me some dots, I am obsessed. I own a lot of polka dotted clothing as well. I love these striped nails, love the neutral with the pink so classic ❀

    • My grandma used to loooove polka dots too so whenever I see them I think of her. I like polka dots too but idk… I don’t have that many shirts or anything w them on it. They’re so cute tho! What’s wrong w me!!? πŸ™‚

  2. Great color combo – never would have thought of it. LOL over your geo thing! I work in the medical technology field and taught in the same areas at Univ level for eons – so that is where my mind goes which is a lot of finite and absolutes on the how to ends of things with the end open when it comes to the old +/- 2 standard deviations – now that I lost all the non math folks – what it did eventually for me is I found my work area was so into tiny small print and working on a micro level – I no longer found I enjoyed doing things I had done for years with a passion like needlepoint and tiny tiny cross-strich – it was I found later – too much like work – so I had to find hobbies that were larger scale. I took up my water color painting which I had done in my teens and got back hard into playing piano – it’s a love hate thing I have with guitars as it destroys my nails – never could figure out how Dolly Parton has those long acrylics and can push down on the neck string area to form her cords – I buzz like all get out if my nails are too long playing the guitar. I have both these shades and I am going to try something to use them togehter – it’s a cool look and honestly never thought of these 2 together in anything.

    • Thanks! Wow you have a lot of cool hobbies!! I actually have been thinking about taking up guitar recently… I think it would be so fun but haven’t ever played before so… Idk if I’d be any good. Haha. Maybe some day I’ll give it a go πŸ™‚

  3. So perfeeectt!! I really like the colours together πŸ˜‰ And somehow I always want to stamp gradient glitters on…But I hate removing them so I should start practicing normal gradients πŸ˜›

    • Thank you!! I love a stamped gradient but gradients are so unpredictable for me so I tend to shy away from doing them. They always look so pretty though!! πŸ™‚

  4. I love both your stripes and the colour combo! The mix of holo+creme is really visually interesting πŸ˜€ I always gravitate toward tribal prints- lots of triangles. Maybe I’m a budding trigonometry major πŸ˜‰ LOLjks I hate trig with a burning passion D’:

  5. I don’t know why, but all I could think of when I saw these nails was sneakers. That’s weird, huh? I looooove how this mani turned out. I like dots a lot but you know, when you see other people dot the crap out of every SINGLE manicure, you just kind of want to stay away. haha I still like dots, though.

    • Ha!!! I feel ya there!! Too much of anything just breeds hate in my mind. You see the same thing over and over and over and then it’s just like ok! We get it! There are dots on your nails!! Haha. And for some weird reason I totally get the sneaker reference. O.o

    • Hey, I know some of you are just crazy wild women who only do things your own way. πŸ˜‰ Thanks, tho! πŸ™‚ I’m liking this combo more the more I kinda “let it sink it” haha. Polka dots are always a good choice πŸ™‚

  6. At first I did not realize that the stripes were differing widths. Maybe I’m just one of those “hardcore rebels” who want to deviate from the plan! πŸ˜‰
    I do like the color combo and I like the stripes. Much like the ladies above, I like polka dots, but I’ve been more interested in stripes lately. I kinda want to get some striping tape. Of course, I could cut tape myself, too…I feel like this extra step makes it so much more difficult, hahaha. Laziness.
    I can relate to beachgal above regarding hobbies reminding her too much of work. It may not necessarily be a hobby, but I can’t watch The Big Bang Theory (which everyone loves) because of that! Also, I tried picking up guitar in college and failed miserably, hahaha.

    • Ehhh don’t cut tape yourself.. it’s overrated. :p Striping tape is much easier to work with and it’s the only way to get nice, thin lines. Thanks for being a kindred rebel spirit πŸ˜‰

  7. I just wrote a comment and thought that I posted it, but it is not showing up. Hmm. I will try this one as a test before I re-write it!

    • Oh you know what? I changed the comment layout to do newest ones on top… I don’t know why I did that, I’ll change it back and confuse you next time as well. ;p Sorry about that. πŸ™‚

Commenting is Caring!! ;D

