Black And White Weekend Continues!

Hey There Polished People!

I really enjoyed our conversations about weak female lead characters yesterday. It sounded like a lot of people felt the same as I did. Just quickly since I’m still thinking about that topic I wanna say that although they are also fluffy reads, Nicholas Sparks’ books always have a MOSTLY intelligent female lead character. In The Guardian which I am reading right now, the main character, Julie, uses her brain like normal people, knows when people like her and doesn’t act as if she has no clue how smokin’ hot she is. I get so annoyed with all these characters that are drop-dead gorgeous but the character themselves think they’re ugly. We are not in high school, people. If you are decent looking, you should at least own up to that. It’s not fishing (for compliments) season. I really love Nicholas Sparks’ books even though I pretty much know what’s going to happen. The two main characters are always a male and female (they’re always love stories) and someone new always moves into town (the male or female lead), they slowly strike up a relationship, the woman always has an older woman friend/confidante, the story always reaches its climax during a storm and then things get resolved and everyone (generally, not always) lives happily ever after. Oh- and it’s almost always set in North Carolina in a coastal town. There are several other similarities between his books but these are the ones that come to mind right away. I’ve read a TON of his books, so I should know πŸ˜‰

Ready to conclude black and white weekend?

Triangle Tip B&W Nails

B&WTriangleTipsWGlitter (2)

B&WTriangleTipsWGlitter

And... the same as above only mattified.

And… the same as above only mattified.

TriangleFrenchWhiteTipsPirouetteMyWhistleMattedHow To Get These Nails:

  1. Base coat.
  2. Paint your nails with Nina Ulta Pro French White.
  3. Apply a coat of Seche Vite and allow your nails to dry thoroughly.
  4. Tape off the triangles at the tips using a square of Scotch tape or triangular manicure guides.
  5. Paint the bottom (closest to the cuticle) half of the nail with FP Black Expressionism. Remove the tape/guides.
  6. Using the polish brush, dab a little OPIΒ PirouetteΒ My Whistle along the line where the black meets the white.Β 
  7. Apply a final coat of Seche Vite and a thin coat of Essie Matte About You if you’d like them matte.
  8. Tweet me a picture of your nails @polishmeplease

Is there an author who always puts out books you like to read? Also- how did you like these nails? Matte or shiny? Thank you all for reading and till next time- Happy Polishing!! πŸ˜€

10 thoughts on “Black And White Weekend Continues!

  1. I DEFINITELY prefer the matte hands down.
    The only favourite, FAVOURITE author I have is Dean Koontz. Never read Mr Sparks. Have a few friends who are fans though.
    Can’t tweet you a pic of my nails as I’ve already deleted the photos off my phone but it is on the blog. Did them today and blogged about them today which is a first ever for me.

  2. I’ve never actually read a Nicholas Sparks book. I’ve seen a few of the movie adaptations though, and I fear that reading the books would require bawling inconsolably at an obscene hour in my bed, and waking up with puffy, swollen eyes πŸ˜›
    I love your nails here. The glitter is a nice touch- it reminds me of a snowy mountain top at night πŸ˜€ I can’t decide which version I like better either. I’m partial to shiny but the matte version really brings out the glitter!

    • Haha. I don’t find the books to be tear jerkers but I’m also not USUALLY all that emotional about books and stuff. Well- unless they’re REALLY sad and really keep talking about it. Then I’m done. Most of his books are pretty happy though or at least have a silver lining type ending. πŸ™‚
      Thanks about the nails. I guess they do look mountainy! πŸ™‚

  3. lol! Ugh that too…I don’t like when there are characters who think they are ugly. I read Divergent and she talked a little about how she wasn’t pretty and had a big nose lol
    I’m loving your black and white manis! This one looks awesome!

    • Thanks!! Yeah I’m just like not in high school anymore when everyone is like omg I’m so ugly!!! But what they’re really saying is, “tell me I’m pretty” so people in real life and books that still do that annoy me. πŸ™‚

  4. Oh, Nicole, it pains me to say this, but my first thought upon seeing these was “duck nails.” Like in the way Cynthia’s crazy Lakers nails were “duck nails.” Shiny, btw. ;p
    Exactly with the female characters – how about they just act like normal women? That works for me! πŸ˜‰
    I think I read one of my roommate’s Nicolas Sparks books in college and I seem to recall it going much as you’ve outlined above, haha.

    • NOOOO!!!!!! Haha but you’re right!! Hahahaha! These are a little ducky especially w the white being the tip. Oof nail art Lord and Fish Jesus please forgive me, for I have egregiously sinned. πŸ™

  5. Uhm, I am 100% sure that I made a comment on this post already, but I guess it got lost or I didn’t press “post comment.” Whatevs. The reason why I know I typed out a comment is because I totally said that these were duck-esque, and now I see that Lesley also think so. Tsk, tsk Nicole. “What have you done to your nails, you crazy bitch?!?” I think I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again: I love black and white nails but maybe not so ducky next time, k? And oh sweet baby fish jesus on rollerskates, I don’t think I will ever get through a Nicholas Sparks book. I’ve seen a few of the movies based on his books and they are all basically the same except with different actors.

    • Oh my gosh!!! This made me laugh so hard!!! I’m sorry I’m sorry!! Yknow what’s funny? I never even considered them duckish till you guys said that!! I need help. I can see you hating Nicholas Sparks books although I’ve seen the movies and not even been able to finish them paying attention, but I do like the books. I think my mind makes them slightly less cheesy, haha. But yeah for plots aren’t TOO far off, although I HATED The Guardian cuz it was so sad!!!

Commenting is Caring!! ;D

