This Post Is Bananas! B-A-N-A-N-A-S!!!

Hey There Polished People!

I recently got three drawer cubes from Michael’s. I think most people know these as “Melmers” because they’re the Michael’s craft store version of the Ikea Helmers. However, if you go to Michael’s to find them they are in the storage section, are called “drawer cubes” and cost about 40 bucks apiece. I got mine on black Friday and got all three for 39 and change. πŸ™‚ Anyway, so when I got those I assembled them right after Christmas and then unloaded all my nail polish from my former nail polish storage (a spinning hardware rack, like for in the garage.) and organized all the polishes by color on my craft table. Well, I estimated the number of polishes I have, and although it’s much less than many other blogger-types have, it was way more than I anticipated. I was actually a little ashamed at how many I had. That being said, sometimes my nail obsession makes me feel a little silly. Not like I don’t want to have awesome nails but sometimes I’m like oh boyyy this is a bit much. When I looked at some of my new Cheeky plates, some of those designs are a bit much, too. Some in fact, are, dare I say… bananas. Check em.

These Nails Are Bananas B-A-N-A-N-A-S!

IMG_4248

IMG_4247

How To Get These Nails:

  1. Base coat.
  2. Paint your nails with ChG Creative Fantasy. I LOVE this polish. I’ll do a proper review some time. It takes about 3 coats to be opaque.
  3. Apply a coat of Seche Vite and allow your nails to dry and harden.
  4. Using CH 42 and Konad special polish in yellow, stamp the banana design on each nail.
  5. Carefully apply a final layer of Seche.
  6. Watch out for flying monkeys.

Are there designs that you think are a little too juvenile or maybe even a little too loud for your age/taste? I’m not saying grown adults can’t wear fun designs, and actually once I got this design on my nails I liked it, but especially anything too sparkly and pink makes me feel a little juvenile. Let me know what you think in the comments below. There are no wrong answers, only wrong cuticles. JK!!!! HAHAHAH!! On a serious note, thank you all for reading and commenting and till next time- Happy Polishing!! πŸ˜€

17 thoughts on “This Post Is Bananas! B-A-N-A-N-A-S!!!

    • Thanks! I do too. The longer I wore them the more I thought of them as one of those prints that’s so cute and then only after further inspection do you notice that it’s tiny pictures of something, like… bananas. πŸ™‚

  1. I’m thinking of using the credit cards stamp when I go to credit counseling. Ha! Just kidding. Sort of…anyway, Yellow and purple is such an obnoxious combination, and I totally don’t like it. I don’t know if you remember when I did those hideous purple and yellow nails with rhinestones and you were like dying. I think that’s when we first started following each others blogs. Those were some horrid purple and yellow nails that I did, and then one of my friends told me she wanted me to do her nails like that for a Lakers game–I refused. lol The purple polish is pretty, but I think I finally have enough purple polishes….it’s like they are all the same now!!!! I was like super excited today because I had an interview scheduled for tomorrow and then they called me back to reschedule for Monday. GRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR!!! Oh well, now I can be more prepared as one of my friends said. πŸ˜€

    • That sucks about your interview but you’re right- now you have more time to prepare so that’s good. I hate when things get rescheduled. Seriously, I like to follow a schedule and know what’s going to happen so much that when people reschedule things on me I don’t even want to go anymore. Not a job interview of course but just like random stuff. Anyway- being a trailblazer fan I’m automatically programmed to hate lakers colors, but I didn’t kind these too much actually! Isn’t that weird!! I vaguely remember those nails you’re talking about. I guess we started off on a good foot from the get go. πŸ˜‰ When you said all your purples look alike, it made me realize that Im being the same way lately. People are like omg this is so special!!! about a polish and I’m like ehhh not really. I have like 5 any normal people wouldn’t even know are different from that. :p We are such jaded nail bloggers. πŸ˜‰

  2. lol! Aww I used to love that song…well, I still do haha. Gwen Stefani and No Doubt Love ❀
    This banana mani is awesome!!

    • I do love Gwen Stefani. I was a huge no doubt fan but ever since their comeback I haven’t even listened to their new album. Shame on me. Thanks about the nails! πŸ™‚

  3. I feel the same. I don’t have a seriously MASSIVE nail polish collection but sometimes I’m like waaaaaaait… This is A LOT!
    I need to get/make me a storage thing because right now it’s a big fat mess my side.

    I had to laugh at your mani because I wasn’t expecting that at all!!! Lmao!!! And yes it’s cheeky but it’s cute and I love the colours you used!!! I like it!

    • Thanks!! In a quirky way I actually liked it! πŸ™‚ Shhh don’t tell Cynthia.

      I have had several nail polish storage things, most recently the drawer cubes which I’ll do a post on shortly. You just have to find what works, but you definitely need something to keep it half organized. πŸ™‚

  4. Isn’t it kinda scary when you go through a re-organization? Not only are you scared by the amount of polish that you have, you are scared by how many are alike!
    I can’t decide if I find the stamp cute or goofy. I think I am thrown off by the fact these are my exact high school colors.

    • Yeah I actually was surprised at how many pink polishes I have! Who’d have thought! Luckily though guess how many dupes I had? ZERO!! Wow. I’m so thankful of that. I have “backups” of course but no unintentional dupes. Yay. For. That.
      Now I remember you saying your colors were yellow and purple. Like the Vikings. πŸ™‚ Well, if only your mascot was a monkey then these nails would be all for you. :p

Commenting is Caring!! ;D

