Sparkly Half Snowflake Nails

Hey There Polished People!

Today is Christmas Eve!! It’s the start of Christmas fun! This is not exactly Christmas-y but as I type this to schedule it out for the 24th, I’m watching Live At Daryl’s on Palladia (it’s a music TV network) and guess who he has on tonight? Joe Walsh!! My dad is a fan of his, and so naturally I heard enough of him that now I am a fan, too. He’s the singer of Ordinary Average Guy among others. Well, guess what they’re singing right now?? Not Ordinary Average Guy!! 😦 Although they are doing a really good song- Life’s Been Good. I like this song but Ordinary Average Guy is my absolute favorite. I love the part towards the middle when he’s talking about what he and his average friends with average kids and average wives do and he says:

And every Saturday we work in the yard
Pick up the dog doo
Oh that is hard (woof woof)
Take out the garbage and clean out the garage
My friend’s got a Chrysler
I’ve got a Dodge
We’re just ordinary average guys
Ordinary average guys

Just hearing this song makes me flash back to memories of laying out in the backyard at my parents’ house maybe in my hammock, maybe on a floatie in the pool, maybe just in the grass with a towel, getting some sun while my dadΒ barbecues. He still has a little boombox under the eaves on a shelf on the deck that he listens to while he’s out in the back making the yard look all perfect or grilling something for dinner. My brother who is three years younger than me LOVED that part about the dog doo and then the barking. He used to wait for it and sing along to that part. That’s such a fun, happy memory. It’s funny how music just like marks a spot in time and every time you hear it, it takes you back there. Maybe I’ll play it for us all tomorrow on Christmas just for fun and Michael can sing along. But, if I do that he’s gonna want to play and have a duet to Queen’s Bohemian Rhapsody… on the “Galileo” parts he does the high and I do the low. Don’t ask why. It’s quite the sight and sound ;p Christmas is nothing if not about family and creating good memories, so I guess technically that story WAS Christmas-y! πŸ™‚

Remember in the beginning of this post when you thought you were actually going to see some nails? Ha.. silly you. Just kidding. :p Here they are-

Sparkly Half Snowflake Nails

Snowflake Half Moon Nails

Half Moon Snowflake Nails

How To Get These Nails:

  1. Base coat.
  2. Paint your nails with ChG Aquadelic.
  3. Apply a coat of FP Motley (green and blue flaky topcoat).
  4. Apply a coat of Seche Vite and allow your nails to dry and harden.
  5. Use stamp BM 319Β and Konad special white polish to create the half-moon snowflake design on each nail.
  6. Use a silver holographic glitter (I used an unnamed LA Colors polish) and a makeup sponge to sponge some glitter at the tip of each nail.
  7. Apply Seche Vite and try not to stare. πŸ™‚

I want to let you all know that I got the idea of using a snowflake for a half-moon effect from Marta from Chit Chat Nails. You can see her post here. I love this lady… she’s a “big blogger” but so sweet and nice and has always replied to me and just been super nice. She never gives off the impression that she’s above anyone. Plus, her nails are absolutely awesome, she has my favorite pictures anywhere, and her style is just so similar to my own, I want EVERYTHING that she has! πŸ˜‰ Particularly this owl necklace that’s wearing these big over-sized glasses. If I ever see one of those… it’s gotta come home with me. She has a silver one, and Mary from Swatch and Learn has a gold one and I’m so jealous of them both, but particularly the silver!! If you know where to find one- help a girl out. πŸ˜‰ Anyway- thanks to Marta for this great idea.

Do you have a particular song that reminds you of a certain memory? I think I could tell my whole life story in songs. I’m really not kidding. Does everyone else feel like music is such a huge part of their life? I mean, everyone likes music, but do people put as much meaning and memories behind it as I do? I think I’m normal! As least when it comes to this. πŸ˜‰ Anyway, have a great Christmas Eve, let me know how you liked these nails and till next time- Happy Polishing!! πŸ˜€

21 thoughts on “Sparkly Half Snowflake Nails

  1. I love, love how these came out! I have to start to collect more stamping plates – mine are soooo limited – I only have 3 but I use them of late a lot!

    • I love stamping. A lot of people think it’s “cheating” or something but it still takes skill and creativity. I have three sets and am getting a fourth (cheeky) tomorrow for Christmas. πŸ˜€

  2. Oh and forgot to add – Love the addition of the Finger Paints – Motley – I got lucky and got every shade in that FP release and a few extras to give to friends.

    • Haha it did sound a little odd but hey- you are living out in the sticks these days!! :p Jk!!! Thanks! I really liked them but I wore them for like 4 days and now I’m tired of them so I’m actually wearing different nails for Christmas Eve tonight. Haha. I know- I’m weird. πŸ™‚

      • Funny you should mention this, but I’ve noticed since I’ve moved out in the middle of nowhere, how little things seem to excite me that are really commonplace. For example, when Jill came down last month and we hung out in December, I was so impressed that stores were open past 8. Sis thought it was funny and started calling me a hick πŸ™‚

        • Haha!! Well I guess you are a hick these days! :p Just a girl and her trust ol’ dog. That reminds me of where my grandma lives and where we go on vacation- it seems like all the towns roll up at like 7-8pm. I’m used to having places open 24/7 here you know so then I go back somewhere like that and I’m like what?!?! I wasn’t evening thinking about dinner at the time EVERYWHERE was closing! No fair!! :p

  3. I love snowflakes so of course I love this mani πŸ™‚ I know exactly which mani by Chit Chat you are referring to. I really love all of her nail photos. I can’t look too much because I get jealous πŸ˜›

  4. I LOVE THESE! I want this on my nails, now!
    I definitely relate on music, too. Certain albums and/or songs definitely conjure up specific memories. I think it is a good thing!

    • Thanks! They were definitely my favorite. I just wasn’t that into holiday nails this year. I felt like everything had been done and.. idk. But I did love these ones. πŸ™‚

  5. Pingback: Wonderful Winter Nail Art Designs

Commenting is Caring!! ;D

