Christmas Squares

Hey There Polished People!

I recently got China Glaze Running In Circles from the Cirque collection and couldn’t wait to do something with it. It’s beautiful on its own (I’ll post the review one of these days but just know- it’s awesome) but I wanted to add some nail art. I decided to do little squares, I do not know why, and I think it turned out like one of those elementary school art projects where you cut slits in a piece of paper and then weave strips of differently colored paper through. Does anyone know what I mean? I think we made place mats out of ours when I was in school. It’s amazing how you can have the weirdest piece of elementary school art, laminate it or but it on black construction paper and leave a border and ta-daaaaa! It’s a masterpiece. When I taught my preschool art classes and when I student-taught first grade I loved taking the kids’ crazy art projects and figuring out how to make them look really fancy. Enough about that- would you like to see today’s nails? I thought so.

Christmas Squares Nails

RunningInCirclesEssencewhiteFameFataleGoodAsGoldTapeMani (2)

RunningInCirclesEssencewhiteFameFataleGoodAsGoldTapeMani (3)

How To Get These Nails:

  1. Base coat.
  2. Paint your nails with ChG Running In Circles.
  3. Apply a coat of Seche Vite and allow your nails to dry completely.
  4. Use striping tape to make a grid on your nails.
  5. Using a dotting tool fill in the desired boxes with color, being careful to stay within the striping tape lines. For the red I used Essence Fame Fatal. For the white I used Essence white Stampy Polish and for the gold I used Essie Good As Gold.RunningInCirclesEssencewhiteFameFataleGoodAsGoldTapeMani
  6. Remove the striping tape and let your squares dry.
  7. When the squares are mostly dry (and no longer smear-able) carefully apply your Seche Vite.
  8. Go make one of those woven paper place mats with your kids, yourself, your spouse, a friend, or not at all you party pooper.

What do you think about these? Do you know what I’m talking about with the paper-weaving business? Do you remember a certain art or craft project in school that you particularly liked or remember? Let me know what you think in the comments below. As always thank you for reading and commenting and till next time- Happy Polishing! 😀

12 thoughts on “Christmas Squares

  1. I do know what you speak of, although I’ve never made them before!!! Be cool to make your own placemats like that though.

    Now for the nails! Yes yes looooove it! Love the colours you used as well

  2. I think these came out super cute! I actually do know what you’re talking about because I loooooooved art/craft time at school. I was such a weirdo when I was a little kid because I begged my mom to take me to school every day since I was like 3 years old. lol I remember that I was such a pain in the ass that she took me to the elementary school and told them to tell me I was too young to go to school. They took it a step further and told my me that they would test me thinking that they could say something like: “Oh, you need to study more so you can come to school.” Well apparently I knew everything. hahahahaha My mom had taught me all the usual kindergarten stuff and I was a little overachiever. Can you imagine what happened after that? I was even more psycho about going to school and I did get in a little earlier than I was supposed to. Since I am the oldest, my mom was all emotional the day that she took me to kindergarten and she said I walked in like I owned the place. I ran off to play with crayons while all the other kids were crying and screaming for their parents. I always remember looking back and seeing my mom with tears in her eyes and I just said: “Later mom!”

    • Hahaha!! That’s so funny. Dang you were all organized and ready to go even as a kid!! You crack me up. I don’t remember my first day of school at all but I did like school, so much so that I remember playing school at home all the time! I was mostly the teacher (surprise!) and my brother was the student, but whatever. Daniel has a funny story about first grade tho- I guess someone told him that in first grade you learn to read and like after the first day or week or something he came home all mad and was like “Im in first grade, why can’t I read now?!?!” I thought that was so cute. 🙂

  3. I saw this on reddit and was like “those nails looks so familiar…..wait…that’s nicole…someone stole hers! i’m going to click this and report the image hosting place they uploaded it on…how….oh wait this is nicole….oh and it links to her blog…..”

    I’m very much sleep deprived…can you tell? lol LOVE these! super cute! I loved basket weaving in school, literally it was my favorite next to making those stupid clay pots and then painting them and waiting for them to come out of the fire thing. I dont’ remember what that’s called…a kilm? kyln? wtf idk. But i made so many little baskets and I was a hella good and would go super fast and make waaaay more than any other kid in the class.

    • Oh my goodness I think you needed a nap!! Haha. Thanks for looking out tho! 🙂 I loved basket weaving too!!! If I had any practical use for them I’d weave a basket just for fun. 🙂 I also loved jewelry class and calligraphy. I sometimes get into a jewelry kick but don’t have the cool tools like the buffing wheel and a torch or whatever to solder things together. I made some cool stuff tho, at least when I was like 16 I thought it was cool! :p

  4. I bought Running in Circles recently. I don’t think I have anything else like it. It is quite perfect for Christmas.
    Of course I remember paper weaving! Although I would never think to translate it to a manicure…that is Nicole territory!

    • Hahaha it wasn’t my intention but that’s just how it turned out. 🙂 I love Running In Circles! I have nothing like it, too, and it’s just so dang bright!!

Commenting is Caring!! ;D

