Sally Hansen Complete Salon Manicure- Eel Skin

Hey There Polished People!

I’ve had quite a busy time lately. My husband’s aunt recently passed away, which was, of course, sad but it reminded me of when my grandpa passed away the year before last. Β I don’t know if it’s my place to talk about her passing, so I think I’ll just mostly talk about my own family after saying that she was a very nice, loving (people and animals) woman, a funny woman who always called me weird cuz of my heels πŸ˜‰ and she was forgiving and laid back. Everyone will miss her.

It’s horrible when someone dies. Everyone is sad, we all wish our family could live happily forever but there comes a time when everyone has to go. My family is awesome and I’m always proud of how we handle stressful situations but particularly what made me proud about the way we all dealt my grandpa’s death is that we all focused on the happy memories of my grandpa. He was always so funny and cute and would say the silliest stuff. My grandma and grandpa lived in Eastern Montana (Grandma still lives there) so we always drive back there each summer for vacation to visit. It’s a 2-day drive but well worth it. Whenever we were there visiting he loved telling everyone (waitresses, neighbors, strangers in the store) we were there from out of town. I think he was proud that we drove all that way to visit them for our only vacation each year. We’d be out and about and it’d be like “Where’s Grandpa?” and sure enough, we’d find him telling some random person “These are my kids from Oregon!” It goes without saying that we all loved him very much. Anyway- what I’m getting to is that we all chose to be reasonably happy and spend our time with the family around the time of his funeral instead of all bawling inconsolably for a week. I felt like my grandpa would be really proud and happy with how we all did that. And whether you believe in God or Heaven or nothing at all, I think my grandpa knew we kind of honored him with a bonus family reunion instead of retreating into ourselves to be sad. That thought makes me really happy.

Okay, well I’m sorry for that depressing note but it’s been on my mind lately. Today in polish-related news I have a super-clean grey to show you! It is…

SH Eel Skin

SHEelSkin (2)

SHEelSkin

Color:

Eel Skin is a super-clean, unadulterated light grey. There’s no shimmer to this as “eel skin” might suggest. It’s a beautiful grey creme. I went to the Shoshone Ice Caves this past summer and the ice (which I believe at the time was 14 feet thick) is this pure grey color when you can get a good look at it. This color reminds me of that ice. If you want to see some images from Google for the Shoshone Ice Caves check it out here. If you want to see some pictures of my vacation there you can check out my Instagram account.

Formula/Application:

No complaints here. Goes on smooth, dried quickly. I think I used three coats. I always do.

Yes, Please! or No, Thank You:

Yes, Please!! I love this color. Also- I found mine at the Dollar Tree for guess what? A BUCK! So go check yours cuz maybe you’ll be lucky too! πŸ™‚ Need a nice plain grey? Not dirty, not greenish, not anything but grey? Get SH Eel Skin!

If I Named This Polish I Would Call It: Shoshone Ice GreyΒ orΒ Zombie Flesh

They both totally fit. Although this is a bit pretty for zombies. Maybe it’s from fresh zombies. πŸ™‚

Let me know how you liked this polish, if you even like greys (I feel like they’re the new nude) and how your week has been! Thanks for reading and commenting and till next time- Happy Polishing! πŸ˜€

16 thoughts on “Sally Hansen Complete Salon Manicure- Eel Skin

  1. This is a great color and yes…fresh zombies fits better! I got a few of these polishes on sale but haven’t tried them yet. Did you know that this line is being re-vamped? Most of these are probably going to be marked way down to make room for the new formula/bottles. I’m sorry about the losses in your family. I think it was really touching how you all handled everything.

    • Thanks. πŸ™‚ Ahhh that makes sense about the revamp because I saw a bunch of different colors at the dollar tree and was wondering why since they weren’t off colors or anything. Just regular greys, navys, reds. Yknow- if they’re gonna revamp I wish they’d made their bottle neck like 2mm wider so the dang brush could fit inside without rubbing polish all over the rim. Sally Hansen apparently is a lover of messy bottle rims cuz ALL of their bottles are like that! It kinda annoys me. I bet though instead of changing the neck, they’ll make it look bigger, hold less and coat the same. Mark. My. Words.

  2. Firstly, I liked that you shared some of YOU in the post. My granddad died a year ago on the 8th. I wish we couldve done it how your family did – spending time together, not retreating away. Support is underrated.

    Secondly, I like this grey. Soft, subtle and cute! You can wear it alone or nailart it. It’s perfect.

    Thirdly, Zombie flesh, no O_o *side eyes* I prefer Shoshone ice grey and they should consider renaming it because eel skin sounds gross and I don’t picture eel skin to look as awesome as this grey.

  3. I am sorry for your loss. It is such a crushingly emotional thing to go through. Although I think it is really sweet what you shared about your grandfather, how you tried to celebrate his life more than mourn his passing. I loved hearing about how he’d brag about you visiting, too.
    I’m not really on the zombie bandwagon, so I like the alternate Shoshone name better. πŸ˜‰ Plus, it is more personal because it reminds me of your trip!
    Also: WHY have I not checked the Dollar Store right by my house (literally, right by house) for polish? For anything, for that matter! Hahaha.

    • Thanks Leslie. πŸ™‚ You should definitely check the dollar store for all kinda of stuff. I get organizational stuff there for work all the time, I like their window cleaner and I get ammonia there for my floors sometimes. And of COURSE I check out the nail stuff. Sometimes there’s nothing too great but sometimes there’s something totally great. Ya just gotta check! πŸ˜‰

  4. I am so sorry for your loss!! 😦 and your grandfather last year, its never easy and always sucks, I am so sorry
    I am in love with thsi gray, gorgeous, I think I need to hit up some of my dolalr stores!

  5. I had one bottle ( of eel skin nail polish) used it up and now I found out they discontinued the color.
    I phoned corporate and complained ….the girl on the phone said if enough people complain Sally Hanson will bring the color back ( eel skin)

Commenting is Caring!! ;D

