Day 27: Inspired By A Movie- The Nightmare Before Christmas

Hey There Polished People!

I was trying to think of what movie to use as my inspiration and all I could come up with was Billy Madison. I had NO clue how I was going to execute that, although Cynthia said I could have done the penguin and reminded me of the bathtub scene with shampoo v conditioner, which ends with “Stop looking at me SWAN!!” so I suppose I could have done a swan but… no. Haha. So I asked my husband what I should do and he was like, “Do something Halloweeny… for the season.” And I was like, “Uh, Halloween is long gone.” So he further explained himself that he meant Nightmare Before Christmas (how he got there, I do not pretend to know!) I thought that sounded like just as good of an idea as anything else and remembered some cute nails I saw by Amanda at Mae’s Beauty Reports and also some that Mary did on Swatch and Learn so I thought hey! I’ll give it a go! So here they are.

Nightmare Before Christmas Nails

How To Get These Nails

  1. Base coat. I’ve been trying out OPI Natural Nail Base Coat, and it’s fine but I think I like my SH Hard As Nails way better. The OPI seems to leave my nails a lot softer than my SH. 
  2. Paint your nails with Nina Ultra Pro French White.
  3. Apply a coat of Seche Vite and allow your nails to dry thoroughly.
  4. When your nails are dry, use striping tape to tape off the pin stripes on all fingers but your ring finger.
  5. Use FP Black Expressionism to paint over the tape on those nails and immediately remove the tape.
  6. Let the stripey nails dry while you make a Santa hat on your ring finger with a tiny brush and Essence Fame Fatal.
  7. Make a circle for the face of Jack underneath the hat with a black striper or black polish and a tiny brush. Add his eyes with a dotting tool and the same polish, and the smile with a striper brush and the black polish.
  8. Use a dotting tool and OPI My Boyfriend Scales Walls to make the scalloped trim on the bottom of the hat, and the fuzzy pom-pom at the tip of the hat.
  9. Use the small brush and black polish you used earlier for the face to fill in all the white space around the face and hat with black. Remember to wrap the tip of that nail with the black polish.
  10. Allow your Jack Skellington accent nail to dry thoroughly.We don’t want to smear Jack’s little face!
  11. When your nails are totally dry, apply a final coat of Seche Vite and show your friends!! 😀

Check out Cynthia’s movie-inspired nails here!! 

Since we are talking about movies and Christmas movies at that, what is your favorite? I love Elf and I used to really love The Santa Clause with Tim Allen. I HATED Bad Santa when I saw it a long time ago. I remember it was funny and all, but I just thought it was kind of disgusting. Anyway, share your favorite and least favorite movies in the comments below! 🙂 As always, thanks for reading and till next time- Happy Polishing!! 😀

17 thoughts on “Day 27: Inspired By A Movie- The Nightmare Before Christmas

  1. omg… I just cracked up at my desk, stop looking at me swan!! I loved Billy Madison!! my fave ones have to be this one of course, and then any of the classics, santa claus is coming to town, year without a santa, rudolph, frosty, etc.

  2. Gahhhhhhh! You posted yours so early and I haven’t even started mine yet. LOL I’m going to start them soon, though cause I have to call the plumber and who knows when he will show up. Ugh! These are cute! The little face came out good! “So hot. Want to touch the heiney. Arrrrrrrooooooooooo!”

    • Oh gosh all these Billy Madison quotes are cracking me up!! That’s the most idiotic movie but I just love it. And the maid lady says all those weird things… wanna help me shave my armpits? Haha! Anyway- I always do mine the day before cuz I only paint my nails at nighttime, otherwise I’d be right there w you trying to figure out what I’m gonna do. I bet yours will be cute, but you’ll think they’re a mess- seems to be how things go lately! Haha. Good luck w the plumber, hopefully he’s not as weird as the one I had when my tub was messed up. He kept saying he could see my “aura” and all this. I was like a) you can not, I’m wearing underpants! and b) get OUT!! Good luck w that. :p

  3. “Snack Packs? You’re the COOLEST!” Hahaha. “O’Doyle rules!”
    Supa-cute nails! I have never seen The Nightmare Before Christmas. I know, I know. I think I’d really like it, too. What is my problem?
    Oh, Elf, FOR SURE. I kind of hate Christmas schmaltz in general, but I will make an exception for Will Ferrell. OMG, I want to go watch that movie right MEOW! (Bonus points if you know what movie that is from).

    • Super Troopers? I googled it- do I still get the points? No? Dang. Anyway thanks about the nails. Don’t tell anyone but- I haven’t seen this movie either. Haha!! It’s just cute! Oh my gosh- about “O’Doyle Rules”… Remember how they meet their demise? Well one time Daniel and I were driving I think back to Montana and he’d eaten a banana in the truck so I thought I’d toss it from the window into the back of the truck or something (idk why!) and I tossed it and it landed on the truck box. Well, eventually it was about to fall off the edge so we were watching it and when it fell onto the road, the car behind us swerved HARD CORE like they were really gonna pull an O’Doyle and go off the edge of a cliff!!! I of course started shouting O’Doyle Rules!!! over and over and was laughing till I cried. It was HILARIOUS but I think maybe you had to be there, haha. Ok, long story over.

Commenting is Caring!! ;D

