Nails Inspired By Taylor Swift (Day 25)

Hey There Polished People!

Today our theme is Nails Inspired By A Celebrity. I have already done Lady Gaga Faux Talons, sexy Lady Gaga nailsLady Gaga Houndstooth nails among other Lady Gaga Nails so for this day I wanted to choose someone a little less “out there.” I chose Taylor Swift!! Sometimes, I have to be honest, she annoys me. Sometimes she just seems too sweet and innocent, too cute and lovable… just TOO MUCH and it gets on my nerves. That being said, I can only deny my love for her for a little while because you know what the truth is? She just IS that cute and lovable and sweet and nice!!! Ugh perfect people!! Also I love her music. You can agree or disagree (my husband STRONGLY disagrees) but I just find all her songs so catchy, cute and relate-able and I just can’t help but sing along. For those of you who are not a fan… sorry. You’ve probably already clicked away from here, actually. Whoops! Let’s just see these nails!

Taylor Swift Inspired Nails

 These nails were based loosely off of the dress she wore to the 2012 CMAs where I thought she looked particularly sophisticated and just beautiful. Ironically, on that night she wasn’t sporting her signature red lipstick but I still included the red lip print just for fun. Click here to see the dress I’m talking about. Speaking of red lipstick… I just can’t wear it. It’s so annoying but I always look ridiculous!! Red lipstick and bangs just aren’t for me. Darn.

How To Get These Nails:

  1. Base coat.
  2. Paint all but one of your nails white. I used ChG White On White.
  3. Paint the accent nail with 2-3 coats of OPI Goldeneye.
  4. Apply a coat of Seche Vite and allow your nails to dry thoroughly.
  5. When your nails are dry, apply striping tape in the diagonal designs to the white nails.
  6. Paint over the striping tape with OPI Goldeneye.
  7. Remove the tape. Make sure to remove it in the opposite order that you applied it- in other words remove the piece of tape that’s “on top” first to avoid messing up your design.
  8. Use SH Rapid Red and stamping plate BM 303 to stamp the red lip print on the all-gold accent nail.
  9. Apply a coat of Seche Vite to all nails.
  10. Admire your cute and T Swifty nails! 🙂

I love the lip print nail but the striping tape nails are just kinda mehhh. The taping is a little sloppy just because of the type of polish I used (not a nice smooth creme) and the design is just a bit lackluster. If I redid it I would have thicker white lines, probably using scotch tape or manicure guides. I do love the combo of this super yellow gold and the white. I think I’ll do something with that in the future. 🙂 Let me know if you’re a fan of Taylor Swift AND if there are other celebrities whose nails you admire! Thanks for reading and till next time- Happy Polishing!! 

18 thoughts on “Nails Inspired By Taylor Swift (Day 25)

  1. Haha my husband and I are actually opposite about her music. She only has a few songs I like, most of them are too teen-ish and annoying for me, but he likes a lot of her music! Cute nails! 🙂

    • That is so funny that he likes her!! My brother actually really likes her too, and he’s like 6’2″ big and burly… I’m like whaaaaat? when I hear him singing along. 😉

    • I haven’t seen that movie but I believe you. I really like her, she’s just like too wholesome or something. But it may be jealousy on my part 😉 Also- thanks about the nails!! 🙂

  2. I’ll be honest–I’ll sing along when her songs come on the radio. They are catchy and fun but not relatable at all for me–she’s too much of a child sometimes. I mean, it’s not a bad thing but she does just seem too innocent even though she probably isn’t. Also, I am kind of sick of always hearing about every single breakup she has in one of her songs and how everyone jumps to figure out who she is talking about. Yawn. Anyway, I still like her because she does seem genuine but I’d never say I’m a super fan. Good for her for having a nice clean image–we don’t need more Lindsay Lohans. Speaking of other celeb nails, I think Lady Gaga, Katy Perry, Zoey Deschanel and Rihanna always have interesting nails. I actually like the thinner white lines in this mani!

    • Yeah I totally agree. Sometimes I’m like ugh she’s tooooo innocent and everything for being in her 20s but then I’m like mannn I don’t know, even though it seems kinda phony to be so innocent she doesn’t really come across as fake really. And you know what’s funny about all her songs kinda being the same? She was on Katie Couric recently and was saying how some day she’s just going to go back to writing songs for other people because she never wants to get to that point where people are like, “Oh poor Taylor all your songs sound the same.” Considering what you said, it’s kinda funny she’d even be concerned with that cuz you’re exactly right. I do think her new album is a little broader tho, which I really like. I’ve been listening to that and the Imagine Dragons album almost non-stop. 🙂

      I did like 7 days of Lady Gaga nails a while back, you were doing Katy Perry and Zoey Deschanel irritates the crap out of me. Also- I thought about doing Nicki Minaj but she’s annoying me lately also, I thought about Beyonce but I was drawing a blank so… T Swift it is. 😉

  3. Taylor swift is an artist that i would love to see live for sure.. i really like some of her songs.

    and i really like your manicure, in my transdesign order I got some stripping tape and I haven’t used it yet..

  4. “Zoeey Deschanel irritates the crap out of me.” WHAT? How is that possible? Actually, I wouldn’t really know…I just like her style. As in, her hair and her vintage-y wardrobe, which are essentially similar to mine. 😛
    I like the lip print with this color combination and I like that it’s not on every single nail (might be kinda a lot of lip print, ya know?).
    I’m not a Taylor Swift fan, but I’m not a Taylor Swift hater, either. I’m not a country fan, but I find her tolerable, but I also wouldn’t really seek out her music. She seems a bit “teen-y” for her age and I am not interested in the whole “who is she dating/who has she broken up with/who is this song about?” thing going on, but as Cynthia said, you know what?, more power to her for being so successful and keeping a clean image.

    • Yeah I don’t care about who each song is about, they’re just good. 🙂 I like Zoey Deschanel’s style and I think she’s really cute but I can not stand her overly “I’m so dorky quirky and cute!!” kind of persona. I find it so annoying much along the lines of Taylor Swift being soooo innocent and sweet. However- Taylor Swift’s music is so good (according to me) that she redeems herself, plus I just like her more. Zoey Deschanel just annoys me and she really has no redeeming quality for me. Sorry! I’m a hater! Haha.

Commenting is Caring!! ;D

