Must Have Green Polish- China Glaze Winter Holly

Hey There Polished People!

Ever since Cynthia mentioned it in a post a while back, I’ve been thinking about the fact that there are some people in this world who think blue or green or black or purple or anything but red or pink nails are weird!! You know what’s weird for me? Red or pink nails!! Haha. I really never buy any red or pink polish, I never paint my nails those colors and to buy or use those colors just never occurs to me. It’s not even that I don’t like those colors, because I like all colors, but I just always find something that interests me more. I’ve been thinking about branching out and getting some dark dark red/burgundys but you can believe that when you see it! ๐Ÿ˜‰ My dad used to HATE it when I wore any kind of nail polish besides clear when I was younger. Then eventually I got him to like pink, but he never liked red. Well now I think I’ve bombarded him with so many different colors and designs that he’s not even phased byย chartreuseย  ๐Ÿ™‚ Yayyyy Dad! I bet he’d even like today’s nails, but I didn’t get over there to show him. I’ll keep you posted on that in the future. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Let’s see if you like them! I may reach through the computer and give you a little slap if you say no… you’ve been warned!

China Glaze Winter Holly

3 coats of Winter Holly over ChG Unpredictable (for undies) with two coats of Seche Vite on top.

Same as above.

This is 3 coats of Winter Holly over ChG Unpredictable (for undies) with no top coat.

Look how cool this looks with no top coat!! All that dark matte glitter with the gold sparkling sporadically!

Color:

China Glaze Winter Holly is a pretty mix of dark and lighter green matte glitter along with a noticeable but sparse gold sparkly glitter. If you leave this with no top coat it’s the prettiest sandy textured matte glitter. It looks awesome. The pictures don’t really capture it but when I applied it I couldn’t even bear to add top coat. I wore them matte for the rest of the night until the next day when I added the Seche Vite. This polish captures Christmas completely. I LOVE IT!!

Formula/Application:

I chose to use ChG Unpredictable as undies for this polish just because then my tips were wrapped all neatly but you can definitely wear this alone. It’s opaque in three coats and dries to a slightly coarse but smooth sandy finish without top coat. I kept rubbing the back of my thumbnail against my bottom lip because it felt so soft and sandy. With 2 coats of top coat it’s glassy smooth, but you’ll definitely need 2 coats cuz this stuff is top coat eater! If you didn’t read “top coat eater” like Hall and Oates sing “man eater” well then.. shame on you.

Yes, Please! or No, Thank You:

YES PLEASE!!! Please do yourself a favor and go get it right now. I forgive you for not reading the rest of this just go!!! Go Go Go Go Go! It’s that good. It’s awesome matte, it’s awesome shiny… Get it.

So… how do you like it best- top coat or no top coat? I bet most people are going to say they prefer it shiny but I bet if you all could see it ย matte with no top coat in person, I think you MIGHT change your mind. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Weigh in in the comments below! Thanks for reading and till next time- Happy Polishing!! ๐Ÿ˜€

22 thoughts on “Must Have Green Polish- China Glaze Winter Holly

  1. So far, the only shade out of ChG this year’s holiday collection I bought. It was so different from anything I had. I am not into the feel of microglitters grit, so I of course layer on the Gelous and clear coat toppers with this pretty.

    • Yeah I definitely do like it nice and smooth but idk.. for some reason I was loving the feeling of this with on tc. It wasn’t gritty.. it was like velvet, like it had some texture but wasn’t smooth. Maybe I’m crazy! Haha. But I did like it!!!

  2. Oh, and meant to add – we gotta get you going into some red polishes! I think a good NY goal for you is to find ‘your’ red hue that works best for you. Some like only cool blue toned reds – others look better in warmer ones with a tomato look. I often put folks into an orangy tomato red when they are not too sure about red polish but want to give it a try. Also, many seem to like it for toes first before they get up for wearing it on their fingers. I have always been a red fan ever since the world merged out of only white or pale pink frost in the 60’s if you were younger..if you were grandma age, you often wore red creams so that I guess meant for me never to wear red then…but it was all about white lipsticks then too…that is until I got into my hippie phase and wore nothing for awhile. Anyhow, coming out of that phase, it was dusty rose creams and reds for me. When I have purged my polish stashes many times over through the yrs, it’s the reds I carefully look over vs. massive tossing because reds always are in – I will look forward to your finding ‘your’ red and merging into a shade IMO you need to learn to own! Funny about your dad – mine never noticed anything I wore or did not wear when I was younger. He never noticed much my mom wore either except if we wore perfume he would ask ‘what stinks?” My mom was pretty OK with anything I wore too – that is once she got over the fact I shaved my legs without asking her for the first time and ditto started to pluck my eyebrows! Only thing mom dug her heals over with me was if she would allow me to wear nylons to school – it was one of those ‘everyone is doing it.’ Took me a tad longer to get so mom was OK with that….and wise move on her part – they added a lot to the $$$ amount for clothing to keep me in stockings (yeah- stockings – pre panty hose days – panty hose I think came out when I was in high school – call me old!

    • Hahaha you are cracking me up with your red nail polish pep talk!! I have a couple of reds- I have OPI Big Apple Red, OPI Kenne Bunk-Port, Essie Jelly Apple and…. uhmmmmm…. I think that’s it. Considering I have like that many turquoises that are practically the same exact shade I guess I do need some more. Mayyyyybe… hmmmm… maybe I can find some pretty reds while I’m out and about for Christmas. Do you have any suggestions for a good dark blood-red? That’s something I’d like! ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ll work on liking reds, just for you ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. This is really pretty! I should have picked this one up but I guess I had a brain fart. You know why your dad didn’t like red? Cause it’s kinda whorish–that’s why. ๐Ÿ˜› The funny thing is that when I first started wearing make up and nail polish, all I wanted to wear was read. I remember I used to wait until I got to school and I would go to the bathroom and put on my harlot red lipstick–no other make up. I was the same with my nails but my mom didn’t really mind me painting my nails–my dad had no opinion. hahaha. Now I very rarely wear pink nail polish but I still wear red on a regular basis just because it’s a kick ass color. You should definitely wear dark vampy shades–I bet they would look awesome on you.

    • I would like a nice dark blood-red color. I’m going to look for one. And you’re probably right- my dad would be the type of person to think certain nail polish or makeup would give a certain impression. It seems funny to me but he’s older since he’s my dad so….I guess that could be. Haha. I will be on the lookout and try to ease up on my red hating.

    • Thanks! I couldn’t believe how pretty it was without topcoat! I wont hold it against you thought that you like it better shiny, part of me does, too. ๐Ÿ™‚ I”m more used to shiny nails ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • Thank you! I am wearing Glitter All The Way now from the same collection, was hoping for that same awesome effect but nope- just a regular glitter. Still pretty tho.

  4. I’m gonna go ahead and say that I think I like it without top coat, just for interest’s sake. I don’t know if I could stand to wear it that way myself, but I like that it’s different-looking.
    To further shock you, I have considered getting a matte top coat because I want to duplicate your gray Nfu Oh/ black & gold Fergie glitter jelly sandwich. I know, I know…but I haven’t pulled the trigger yet, and if I do, don’t expect me to make a habit of it or anything! ๐Ÿ˜‰
    I did not read it like Hall and Oates, but I *did* hear Hall and Oates at the salon while getting my bangs trimmed this weekend and I wanted to yell about how Cynthia and Nicole would love it, but no one would understand what the hell I was talking about, so I didn’t. ๐Ÿ˜‰
    Cynthia is cracking me up with her “kind of whorish” comment, but it’s doubly funny because I think she’s right! ๐Ÿ˜‰ I have some good blood red recommendations…I’ll check the stash and reply again later. I refer to that type of color as “bitch red”…and it’s one of my favorites to wear ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • You bitch!! Hahaha. Jk of course! ๐Ÿ™‚ Please do get back to me about the reds cuz I am going to maybe go try some. And you are not only liking a matte look but also are thinking about getting a matte topcoat?!? Mind BLOWN! If you want to just try one I hear NYC has a decent one for like 2 bucks. You could play around w it and see what you think. ๐Ÿ™‚ Lmk if you pick it up!

      • Alright, a couple of top red picks! I’m more of a blue-based red gal, so in that “classic” red vein, I recommend Cult Nails Quench and China Glaze Adventure Ready. Both beautiful, bot excellent formulas. For a vampier burgundy-type red, I recommend China Glaze Drastic and OPI Mrs. O’Leary’s BBQ. I have more, these are just ones that are particuarly good and more easily accessible (some of mine are old and probably discontinued).
        I looked these up right after I got home and fed Leeloo. She is letting me know she does not appreciate the delay in her walk! ๐Ÿ˜‰
        Ooooh, thanks for the tip! Good idea to get a cheapie if I may not like it/use it too much. Thanks!
        Look at us! The circle of life…I mean, enabling…

        • Thank you!! I didn’t know this was you at first cuz it says anonymous. Haha. But as soon as you started your list I knew- Lesley. ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for all the suggestions. I may go check out that china glaze tomorrow. Wasn’t Adventure Ready (red-y?) in the On Safari collex? Idk if I’ll find it but the other one… maybe I’ll find it even like tomorrow. I could use a new nail polish to cheer me up. ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks again!!

Commenting is Caring!! ;D

