Saran Wrap Saturday

Hey There Polished People!

Do you know you can follow me on Twitter (@PolishMePlease) and on Instagram (Nicole_423)? My Instagram isn’t directly affiliated with my blog, but it has lots of nail pictures, some sneak peeks as I am working on my nails, and plenty of random pictures of whatever I’m doing at the moment, my dogs, etc. If you don’t have Instagram on your smart phone you can still follow me via their new website. Click here to go to my Instagram profile where you can see my pics and follow me πŸ™‚ The reason I’m talking about all this is because sometimes on Twitter or other social media you just happen to start talking to somebody, and then pretty soon you’re talking about collaborating on something. I was talking to Wes from Polish Me Manly and he used my Saran Wrap mani tutorial, and pretty soon he, Amanda from Nail Polish Enthusiast and Fitzy from Lacquer Lad were all talking about Saran Wrap manis. I think it was me who suggested it, I’m not sure, but we ended up deciding to all do Saran Wrap manis today. I tried a somewhat creative mani but HATED how it turned out, so I took it off and tried again. Idk if I’ll post the awful one or not. Blargghhh. Here’s the one that actually turned out!

Blue Foil Saran Wrap Nails

;

;

I had to show you a bottle shot of Essence Date In The Moonlight. It’s a dark charcoal grey with bright blue micro-glitter. It’s so beautiful and I haven’t seen anything exactly like it, although I’m sure a dupe exists somewhere out there.

How To Get These Nails:

  1. Use base coat.
  2. Paint your nails with two coats of Essence Date In The Moonlight. I only used TWO!!! Can you believe that?! This polish is super opaque.
  3. Allow your nails to dry. You can apply a coat of Seche Vite to speed this along like I did, or just wait. This polish dried really quickly.
  4. Use the saran wrap mani method to dab on ChG Blue Bells Ring.
  5. Apply a final coat of Seche Vite and admire your pretty nails!! πŸ˜€

Quick Review of Essence Date In The Moonlight

Color:

Essence Date In The Moonlight is a dark charcoal grey with lovely bright cobalt blue micro-glitter. This shade is a must have.

Formula/Application:

Perfect. I’m getting more used to the Essence wide brush, and I’m starting to like it. This polish was opaque in one thick coat but I decided on two mediums just to smooth it out. It goes on pretty smooth and cleans up off of your cuticles easily. It doesn’t stain immediately like some dark colors. (FP Black Expressionism I’m looking at you!!)

Yes, Please! or No, Thank You:

Yes, Please!! I will buy another bottle when Date In The Moonlight gets low. I love this and if you like dark colors I would be looking at a drugstore or department store near you for these polishes. They’re awesome quality and at only TWO DOLLARS you can try lots of different colors and looks without blowing all your money. πŸ™‚

Make sure to check out everyone else’s saran wrap manis today. I’ll post their links below. Let me know what you think about saran wrap manis and how you like this particular one. I think I really missed an opportunity though, because I bet it would look AWESOME mattified!! Next time… πŸ˜‰ Thanks for reading and till next time- Happy Polishing!! πŸ˜€

Polish Me Manly

Nail Polish Enthusiast

Lacquer Lad

23 thoughts on “Saran Wrap Saturday

    • Yes it does, doesn’t it?! I couldn’t quite figure out what it looked like- maybe a topographical map… but you hit the nail right on the head. πŸ™‚ Thanks. πŸ™‚

    • You haven’t done a Saran Wrap mani yet?? Well I think you need to get on that!! Haha. Thank you so much for the sweet compliment. I bet yours will turn out even better. πŸ™‚

    • Thank you! And yes- you definitely should. It’s quite easy and just looks so fun and different. Kinda like marble or something. Thanks for stopping by and commenting! πŸ˜‰

  1. Ahhhhh!!! You used Blue Balls! I tried to find it today but I think my usual place was all out. It looks purty. I don’t have a smartphone so I always thought I couldn’t get on instagram…so now I can?

    I think this mani looks awesome…like what I wish crackle/shatter would have looked like all along.

    • Blue Balls aka Blue Bells Ring is really pretty but unsuitable for stamping. 😦 it’s smooth but too gritty for stamping. Also it’s a PAIN to clean up. You want a polish to make cleaning up a real back ache… This is it. It is pretty though. It’s strange it’s like a silver foil w blue pigment on top… like you can even see a LITTLE silver at the edges of each little splotch here and when you remove it the blue rinses right away (all over your skin- smurf hands!) and you’re left w silver foil… it’s very interesting. And- thank you! I was thinking the same thing about the whole shatter/crackle thing. πŸ™‚

    • Thanks!! I was really happy w how it turned out. I managed to do it pretty spotty which is quite an accomplishment for me. Haha. That reminds me- I need to do a legit spotted manicure!! Maybe tonight!! πŸ™‚

  2. Pingback: Saran Wrap Nails | A Sparkling Finish

Commenting is Caring!! ;D

