The Living Daylights from the OPI Skyfall Collections

Hey There Polished People!!

I was soooo lucky recently to have a lovely nail fairy godsister send me my very first Sation polishes. I have been drooling over all of them and wishing I could find some for what feels like forever!! Cynthia (from Of Life and Lacquer) was so sweet to send me two pretty colors- Gimme Jimi (anย opalescentย grey/lavender) and Rock A Guy Blue (a pretty navy blue). Thank you Cynthia!! I also was able to get my hands on a couple of the OPI Skyfall polishes, one of which was The Living Daylights. When I saw Gimme Jimi and The Living Daylights I knew they had to be matched up. Let’s see how you like this pairing!

OPI The Living Daylights over Sation Gimme Jimi

One coat of The Living Daylights over Gimme Jimi with Seche Vite top coat.

One coat of The Living Daylights over Gimme Jimi with Seche Vite top coat.

These are the same nails as above, with a coat of Essie Matte About You. This is my favorite look. I love the glitter and this base polish mattified. Sooo pretty!

Since this was my first Sation polish, I just want you to know how much I love the bottle. It’s sleek yet substantial. It fits perfectly in my hand for picture-taking, it’s easy to hold while I’m painting my nails, I just love it. I want all my polish to come in this bottle.

Quick Review of The Living Daylights:

OPI The Living Daylights is made up of teal, rose, gold and silver medium hex glitter. The formula is typical of a glitter like this in the fact that it takes a little dabbing and pushing glitter around on your nail to get it just right. The base is nice though and not too thick and gloopy. I love this and would recommend you get it as well. It’s a multi-colored glitter, which we have definitely seen, but in colors that at least I have definitely not seen. ๐Ÿ™‚

Quick Review of Gimme Jimi:

Sation Gimme Jimi is, like I said above, an opalescent grey/lavender polish. It has a bit of a blue sheen in some lights and looks steel grey in others. It’s a really pretty color. I guess this is classified as a frost, but I would definitely NOT call it a frost. It’s more of a duochrome than a frost, although don’t expect much because the color-shifting is minimal. That being said, it’s still beautiful. The formula is great, and I willย definitelyย be looking for more Sation polishes.

Which of these nails do you like better- the shiny or the matte version? Do you have Sation in your area and/or have you picked up any of the OPI Skyfall polishes? I only grabbed this and Goldeneye, it seemed to me like there were 5 billion reds… just like the ChG Holiday Joy collection! But that’s for another post! :p Thanks for reading and till next time- Happy Polishing!! ๐Ÿ˜€

12 thoughts on “The Living Daylights from the OPI Skyfall Collections

  1. I’m going to be surprising and say that I prefer the matte version of this look! I would never have thought of this combo, but I think it’s my favorite of what I’ve seen under this OPI.
    No, I do not have Sation in my area, and I have not picked up any of the Skyfall polishes yet. BOO! Hahaha.

    • Thanks! I just thought it *might* look ok so I gave it a go and kinda loved it! Haha. And wowwwww YOU liked the matte version best?? Amazing! ๐Ÿ™‚ I like it best too, but I generally like matte nails. Except for like 15 hours later when I have tip wear and oddly shiny tips.

  2. Nice, just can’t wait until my James Bond Collection arrives, even that I can admit that just The Living Daylights scare me, don’t know what to do with it so I hope you will bring more ideas/manicures with it! ๐Ÿ˜€

    • Are you getting the whole collection? There’s a color called On Her Majesty’s Secret Service (I’m sure you know that… anyway…) that’s kinda a grey/green maybe w flecks of different colors and TLD might look good over that! Anyway I’ll keep doing different combos w this glitter so between you me and the rest if the blogging world we’ll have lots of options. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      • Yes I do, It’s really expensive here so I really glad I won it ๐Ÿ™‚ Need to try that combo out, and this night I got in tough of using it over a brown/beige polish shaded out from the top, hm, just need to find a doog one ๐Ÿ˜€
        Haha, thats good ๐Ÿ˜‰

        • That might be really pretty. I think next I’m going to either use it in a jelly sandwich or put it over a pretty turquoise. Or even dusty mauve. Oooh that might be it… ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. I had been patiently waiting to see all the pics of this mani ever since you showed me a pic. I loooove how the matte version looks. I thought about mattifying gimme jimi but I thought it might look too dark. However, I think it looks great. I’m glad you enjoyed your first Sation babies.

    • Oh I totally am enjoying them. I’m planning on ordering some for Christmas from TransDesign. ๐Ÿ™‚ My mom just has me order some of my own presents since I know exactly what I want so guess what- I think I’ll get some goodies from TransDesign! Haha. I really love gimme jimi matted… something about it just looks like “natural” when it’s matted… Like it was just supposed to be like that. Anyway I love it. Thanks again and I hope these nails lived up to the hype, at least for the most part. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. At first, I was like why matte a glitter? It’s supposed to be glittery and sparkley, right? Well, I like your matted look better, so I totally get it now. I have never seen a Sation polish where I shop. That is a pretty color grey. Loving the glitter polish!

    • I know it seems so counter-intuitive like why would you want to de-sparkle things that only exist to sparkle?! But when you do they look so cool!! ๐Ÿ˜€ I love these Sation polishes, they’re supposed to be in Marshall’s and TJ Maxx stores but I haven’t seen them yet. C’mon Sation… get in our stores!! ๐Ÿ™‚

Commenting is Caring!! ;D

