Striped and Dotty Nails

Hey There Polished People!

One thing I really like about the challenge posts every three days is that I have lots of time to try several different looks for each topic. These nails that you’re about to see were some I was trying out for the polka dot day, but as you know I ended up doing something else. Tomorrow is stripes day so I thought these would fit in perfectly right here! I’m not a big fan of these nails but they’re like “alright.” You all will have to let me know what you think.

Striped and Dotty Nails

How To Get These Nails:

  1. Base coat. 🙂 Don’t forget!
  2. Paint all of your nails except for the ring finger with 3 coats of ChG Kalahari Kiss.
  3. Paint the ring finger nail with Essence Little Miss Sunrise.
  4. Using Sation Rock A Guy Blue and a small dotting tool, add the blue dots sporadically to all fingers but your ring finger.
  5. Using Essence Little Miss Sunrise and a large dotting tool add the yellow dots in between the blue on all but the ring finger.
  6. Using the two colors from above, a piece of tin foil and a makeup sponge, make a gradient on the ring finger.
  7. Apply a coat of Seche Vite to your ring finger and allow that nail to dry thoroughly.
  8. When dry, use striping tape to tape off the lines like you see in my picture, then paint your nail with 2 coats of ChG Kalahari Kiss. Remove the striping tape as soon as you’re done with the final coat of Kalahari Kiss.
  9. Apply one careful coat of Seche Vite, then one more if you feel like you need more smoothing out.
  10. Repeat on the other hand and then show your friends! And by “friends” I mean me, on Twitter. 😉

What is your favorite way to use dots in a manicure? I love my dotting tool and definitely need to use it more. I’d love some suggestions! As always, thanks for reading and till next time- Happy Polishing!! 😀

19 thoughts on “Striped and Dotty Nails

  1. I like it a lot! I like that it is nail art with an accent of different nail art! The colors keep it interesting, too, they’re not in-yo-face!

    • Haha me doing not in yo face nails?! I know… shocking. I’ve been trying to keep other people in mind a little more and do maybe a little more seasonal and a little more idk… normal stuff. I never did abnormal stuff exactly but I didn’t always care about keeping it seasonal. Baby steps. 🙂

  2. I like them a lot. It’s kind of like Lesley said…the colors aren’t in your face. I think they have a delicate feel to them. What’s funny is that I have a yellow sation that I haven’t used yet and I was thinking of using it for the stripes challenge. Ultimately, I decided on something else but I’m still not sure that it will turn out. Since I’m gonna be up super early tomorrow–gotta get my vote on–I should have plenty of time to mess with it. I don’t really know if it will qualify as a stripe mani but whatever! 🙂

    • I struggled with my stripe mani but then I actually came up with something that I LOVE!!! 🙂 I can’t wait for it to post. Watch.. everyone will think it totally sucks! Haha. I will be up early tomorrow too because I have to drive my brother and sister-in-law to the airport cuz they’re off to Hawaii! No fair!!

  3. I love these colours… Wow, great combo. I also love the mix of dots and stripes. It’s all abstract/geometrical, but at the same time it’s different enough to really make the accent finger POP! Lovely design.

Commenting is Caring!! ;D

