High School Alma Mater Nails- Red, Black and Grey Argyle

Hey There Polished People!

Today is Friday… woo hoo!!! Besides being the beginning of the weekend which is always a good thing, today brings us another Friday Football post from me and Ryan over at Nail’d In The South. This week is our second to last post. Next week is general football nails then we’ll be done. For this week though, we are doing nails based on our high school alma maters. Where I went to high school we were the Scotsmen and our colors were red, black and grey. For my nails I decided to do an argyle design because the argyle design is somehow related to Scotland. Don’t worry- I fact checked that on Wikipedia so it MUST be true. πŸ˜‰ Haha. Anyway- here are my nails!

Red, Black and Grey Argyle Nails

 

How To Get These Nails:

  1. Apply your base coat.
  2. Paint your nails with 2-3 coats of Ulta Concrete Evidence.
  3. Apply a coat of Seche Vite and allow your nails to dry thoroughly.
  4. Cut small strips of tape and use them to tape off your nails to do a diagonal checkered design. You can tape them like I did here in an ancient post or you can cut the pieces of tape at a right angle and apply two pieces of tape kitty-corner to each other on each nail in order to Β paint it faster.
  5. Paint your nails with OPI Big Apple Red, then immediately remove the tape. This will leave you with the checkered design.
  6. Use a black striper to add the black lines that bisect each square that you see in the picture.
  7. Apply a coat of Seche Vite to your nails and admire your awesome Scottish argyle nails!! πŸ™‚

I hope you liked these nails! Make sure to let me know! High school for me was just fine… fun at times, sucky at others. I guess I had a pretty average experience. I had times when I was unpopular, I had times when I was popular, and really, does it even matter? Not once you’re out! πŸ™‚ Did any of you have a particularly exciting time? Tomorrow is a challenge post day so you’ll see my dotty nails. πŸ™‚ Β Thanks for reading and till next time- Happy Polishing!! πŸ˜€

Don’t forget to go check out Ryan’s awesome football nails over at Nail’d In The South!! πŸ™‚

21 thoughts on “High School Alma Mater Nails- Red, Black and Grey Argyle

  1. My mom’s high school colors were red and gray and I was kinda bummed to miss out on them because we moved! Mine were purple and gold, the latter of which was really just yellow. Wasn’t my fave combo…kinda loud. We were the Dons, like, a conquistador.
    High school was fine for me, too. I remember really liking it when I first started because everyone fit into a group somewhere. I guess I was basically a nerd (as evidenced by the band and AP classes), but I interacted with the popular crew, as well (as evidenced by the newspaper and leadership classes), so I was in some sort of social middle ground, I suppose. None of it matters now, other than I am lucky to still have my core group of friends πŸ™‚
    Argyle sounds ambitious, yet seems fairly simple to achieve! Yay for identifying a theme that fits your mascot!
    When I went to your blog, I was super-confused because I thought it was Cynthia’s, but I was seeing your photos! I get it now, hahaha.

    • Ohhh yeah I should have said something about my new layout! Haha. I bet several people were like where the heck am I?!?
      There are really just not that many different color combinations out there for teams. Do you notice that? Black and red was my grade school, middle school, Highschool, it’s our NBA team, it’s the Chicago Bulls’ team colors, and I’m sure it’s like 50 other teams. Purple and gold/yellow was your HS, they’re Lakers colors (BOOOOOOO) and they’re Minnesota Vikings colors. It’s kinda funny when you think about it. Anyway- enough rambling on. These WERE actually very easy! Much easier than I thought! I’ll have to to a full tutorial when I do argyle again cuz I think my written description sucks! Haha. Thanks!!

    • Thank you!! I need to look at it some more and make sure it’s easy enough to comment and stuff, but I really like all the pictures on the right. πŸ™‚
      And thanks about this design! I’m really liking all these challenges making me do some different stuff!! Sometimes I feel like all I do is stamp so this has been fun. πŸ™‚

    • Oh my gosh!! It’s not!! I promise. πŸ™‚ it’s just a checkered mani w lines. πŸ˜€ When I do it again I’ll do a legit tutorial. I bet yours would turn out perfectly!!

  2. We both had argyle nails recently. yay! So I really hated high school. I grew up kind of in the ghetto until we moved away during my last year of jr. high. My parents let us finish out the year, but I had to start high school without knowing a single person and also in one of the most affluent cities in the county. I basically had a miserable time because all of these kids knew each other from birth, they all “summered” at the same places, etc. It was like a bad 4 year long episode of pretty and pink except I wasn’t pretty or pink. hahaha Anyway, it wasn’t all bad…I mean, I did make friends and I wasn’t in any particular clique but I still hated it. I also got a way better education there than I would have at the other high school which I think, in the end, is the most important to me now. I have not kept in touch with a single person from high school yet I still talk to people I knew in elementary and jr. high. I have so many stories about the process of going to school in a different district…from being tested for ESL classes because it seemed I was one of the only hispanic kids in that school, to them not believing I was a GATE/Honors program student and them putting me in remedial classes until my teachers forced my counselor to change my classes…hahaha. Now that I think about it, that’s some fucked up shit. So, I don’t know why I verbally threw up all over your comments section. I guess I’m bitter about high school…just a little? πŸ˜‰

    • Oh my gosh don’t even get my started about kids who are practically barred from their full potential because of idiots in the school system who think having brown skin means they need to learn English and therefor can’t be in advanced classes. Another major issue I could drone on and on about is kids with a troublesome history being trapped in that category and never being allowed to change. That really pisses me off and is the entire reason I work w kids and teach. Anyway- I’m sorry your HS experience was like that. The funny thing is that even though I had an average or maybe above average time in HS, I still talk to almost no one from school. Part of it is my social anxiety that makes me think they’re gonna expect me to be like I was in HS and now I’m not so its awkward, but part of it is just the fact that I have a whole other group of friends now and really my family are my best friends. I can’t imagine how people get married at like 18. I think about myself and my friends then and I’m just like omg I would SHOOT myself if I had to stay in that same life. I guess young married people grow up together but ehh that’s not for me. I was young enough! Somehow I’m making this all about me. I can only imagine how rough it would be to be in a new school in HS w people who use words like “summered” excuse me while I go barf. Yay for argyle nails. πŸ™‚

  3. I love your argyle nails! I did a set for a MSMD post using the ChG Fall colors and LOVED it! I went to two different high schools, the first was basically in the LV ghetto and our colors were blue, black and silver – we were the Jaguars. Like any over-acheiver, I was in academic honors and played volleyball, was on the swim team, and did cheerleading. Side note, I tried out for the cheer squad as a joke and actually made varsity, so I said what the hell and ran with it. There was a plus side, I got to go to all the games for freeeee. πŸ™‚ The highschool I graduated from was actually in small town midwest, central Indiana and our colors were purple, silver, gray, and white (or something). Our mascot was the Tiger Cubs, which is rediculous if you ask me. How does a tiger cub strike fear into the hearts of high school rivalries!? Since I was pissed at being relocated my senior year, I did nothing but wear pj’s to school on a regular basis and work at Blockbuster.

    • Hahaha why would you pick something so cute and pretty much helpless to strike fear in the hearts of your rivals?? How lame. That’s too bad you switched schools mid way though and went from miss overachiever to miss I wear pjs. Haha. I understand though, I’d be like pshhh forget this! And not try out for everything all over again too! Thanks about these nails!! I was shocked at just how easy they were! I’d always kinda wanted to do argyle but was too intimidated. πŸ™‚

  4. Pingback: Football Nails!! | Polish Me, Please!

Commenting is Caring!! ;D

