Gold Medal Pumpkin Nails

Hey There Polished People- Happy Halloween!!! 😀

Today is the day we’ve all been waiting for all month. In my area it means it will most definitely rain and I’ll be bothered to answer the door about 5 times for cute kids in costumes covered by jackets, and another 20 times for teens with barely passable costumes and who don’t even say thank you. I’m seriously considering just turning out my light. Lucky for the kids, I think Daniel’s too nice and is going to make us hand out candy. Ehh whatever. Even though I’m a real party pooper this year, I do enjoy Halloween. It’s fun! As an adult, you get to get dressed up in some silly outfit and get crazy for a night. Don’t get too crazy though or you’ll puke on your pigtail! I learned that lesson the hard way a couple of years ago. Oof.

As a kid I allllllways went out trick or treating, usually with a group of my cousins. My mom and dad would take us down to my aunt’s and we’d meet up with my cousins and go trick-or-treating in their neighborhood. It was really fun, except that it was always colder than heck, so my mom would always make us wear our jackets. Some years we could fit them under our costumes, but I remember one year when I was a cave woman I had to wear it over my costume and it was terribly lame. Als0, when I was little I was REALLY into ninjas. I do not know why. I think because of that movie called something like “The Three Little Ninjas.” I remember one of their names was Colt. Anyway, I looooved ninjas so I went trick-or-treating as a ninja for like three years. Annnnnd since I had such a sweet costume, all black including a full face mask, everyone would open the door and be like “Little boy, what are you supposed to be?” I’d be like “Hey, I’m a girl!” hahaha. No one knew cuz all my blonde hair was tucked inside my awesome head mask thingy. Anyway, times have changed and my favorite costume I’ve worn recently was probably a vampire from the roaring twenties. I really just wanted to wear vampire fangs, so I did, with this really cute red fringey flapper dress. I even did my hair in all these pin curls… ugh it was so cute. The year before last I was a nerdy school girl, hence the puking on my pigtails. 😦 Okaaayyyy enough about me- let’s see today’s nails!

Gold Medal Pumpkin Nails

 

 

How To Get These Nails

  1. Base coat. I use SH Hard As Nails.
  2. Apply 3 coats of OPI Goldeneye (from the new Skyfall collection) to all but the ring finger nail.
  3. Apply 3 coats of OPI Flit A Bit to your ring finger nail.
  4. Apply Seche Vite to all nails and allow them to dry and harden.
  5. When all your nails are dry and hard, use BM203 and Konad special black polish to stamp the x’s design onto each nail.
  6. Next, use stamp BM222 and Essie As Gold As It Gets to stamp the pumpkin on the ring finger nail.
  7. Apply a very careful coat of Seche Vite onto each nail and call it macaroni!! 😀

I hope you like this last installment of my Halloween nails! If you’re hitting up a party this next weekend, maybe you can try out one of my designs 🙂 Speaking of parties- what are you, or did you, wear to your Halloween parties? Do you have a favorite costume from childhood or adulthood? Let me know! Thanks for reading and till next time- Happy Polishing!! 😀

 

19 thoughts on “Gold Medal Pumpkin Nails

  1. One Halloween I dressed up as a “punk rocker” and ended up just looking like a hooker. Which is sad because I was in fifth or sixth grade! I think it must have been the fishnet stockings. :3 We don’t live in a neighborhood that sees any trick or treaters really, we don’t have sidewalks or street lamps and all the houses are pretty far apart. As far as big city livin’ goes, we’re considered out in the country. Which is completely ridiculous!

    • Hahaha that is so funny. That reminds me of when I dressed up at Britney Spears (I was in HS though) because I worked at a grocery store, I dressed up as her (in jeans, fyi, no short skirt) and my boss said I wasn’t in a “real costume” and made a big fuss, then we all took all these pictures and when they got developed someone stole all the pictures of me out of the pile!! I saw them at one point, went back to look at them and POOF they were gone. Creeeeepy! Gotta watch out with those outfits! Haha.

      • OMG! That is HORRIBLE!
        My brother works at a grocery store, too, so he figured he was going to take the opportunity to not wear his work clothes yesterday. He just wore a hockey jersey over his regular clothes and said he was a “hockey fan,” hahaha. Preeettty lame, but I guess he got away with it. 😉 His group must be more lax in terms of rules 😉

        • That’s funny he went as a hockey fan! That’s even less costume-y than mine! Oh well it was like 10 years ago so I guess I can get over it. I’d have liked to have one of my pictures tho cuz it was cute! Haha.

  2. Happy Halloween!
    Oh, man, you’re going to open the floodgates for me, here. Prepare for rambling!
    It is also definitely going to rain here. I am supposed to meet up with my friends and we’re all going to take their kids trick-or-treating, but I guess it depends on the weather’s cooperation. Last year I handed out candy at home, which was also fun, but I threw a party at work that day, too, that was quite successful. The year before that I was in Disneyland with my best friend and her husband. Last year I was a mummy and the year before I was Rainbow Brite. This year…YOU SHALL SEE!
    It was also quite frigid for trick-or-treating in Jersey, so I always remember the battle of having to add a turtleneck under the costume and therefore ruining it, haha. We used to go around mostly with kids in the neighborhood. I can remember being, let’s see: a ballerina, a witch, an angel, a gypsy, Little Bo Peep, a vampire, a devil, a pirate, a genie…I think that’s all I can recall.
    I heart these nails! Classy Halloween, sista! I’ll post my costume nails on Twitter soon.

    • Oh mannn your costume was the best ever! I love it so much, I just can’t stop thinking about it. I’m not always for Halloween parties, just depends on my mood, but it would be fun to at least go trick or treating (with some borrowed kids, of course) and get dressed up and stuff. I felt lame tonight passing out candy to all these kids in my super sexy outfit from earlier… remember the guy at the store? haha. Annnyway I love all your costume ideas… I gotta step my game up! 😀

      • Hahaha, thank you, thank you. It was pretty well-received all around, if I do say so myself. 😉 My nails even got comments!
        Trick-or-treating with borrowed kids is THE way to go, hahaha. We’ve got three boys among our group that are 2 and two girls that are only about 6 months. Since they’re so young, we basically only went around the court, but it was funny to see them goin’ for it! As soon as we got back inside, everyone’s costumes were disassembled immediately, hahaha. Then the meltdowns gradually began, which is why I saw borrowed is the way to go! You can enjoy the cute, fun stuff and avoid most of the fallout! 😉
        I got back into Halloween during that Disneyland trip. I figure it’s one day a year, you do something different, it’s goofy, it’s fun. I know it’s not everyone’s thing, but I like it!
        I like your vampire flapper idea! I’ve never been a flapper, so that one’s always in my back pocket, haha. I already have a plan for next year, but it may change by then!
        Oh, and costumes last night included (for the kids): Woody from Toy Story, Nemo from Finding Nemo, and Superman. Woody’s sister was Snow White and Nemo’s sister was Dori (and my friend made that costume, it was amazing). Adults (the ones that dressed up) included: SWAT team member, 80s chick, Obi-Wan Kenobi, Home Depot employee, Daisy Duck, Little Red Riding Hood, Captain America, and a garden gnome!

        • You guys had some fun costumes! This year we had some cute kids come to the door- much more little ones than we’ve had in the past. I can’t stand it when you open the door to some 16 year olds who don’t even say thank you. If you wanna trick or treat, that’s fine but dress up and be polite! Also something that drives me nuts is the parents who are my age w a teeny tiny maybe TWO MONTH OLD baby who have a bag for the infant and for themselves. I guess mama wants her candy! Haha. I don’t even know these people so it’s not like they just wanted me to see the little baby. Anyway your costume wins… everything. I love it. Still. And forever. 🙂

  3. I love your pumpkin stamp. I have one, but it’s a mean looking pumpkin that I don’t like. Yours is way cuter….of course 😛
    I don’t have any plans for Halloween this year. I’m just sitting in bed catching up on blogs and watching the office on netflix since my cable is still out from the hurricane. Soooo exciting! 😛

    • Thanks!! I wish I had an angry pumpkin! I’m jealous. I have this one and another that’s basically the same thing with a little background. I’m glad to hear that only your cable is out. I was wondering who was going to be MIA because of the hurricane and who was going to be far enough inland or just plain lucky. 🙂 I was lame for Halloween too. I did pass out candy though, basically because Daniel made me, and I have to admit- it was fun to see all the cute little kids. 🙂 Maybe next year we’ll both do something more exciting. Haha.

  4. Our neighborhoood Halloween got cancelled! I can’t even imagine, being a kid and being told that you can’t trick or treat. Most of the affected areas of the Hurricane postponed Halloween, our township is Saturday between 3 and 7. I also don’t remember ever being told specific times, poor kids! I am wanting to get rid of some of this candy, the Hubs bought about 50 dollars worth of candy that neither he nor I need! Trust me! Anyway on to your nails, they are fantabulous! I love the colors and the little punkin man super cute 😀

    • Thank you!! That is so crazy that Halloween got cancelled. However given the circumstances that makes sense. I think it’s really strange that there’s a time but I suppose for safety and to make sure people know when to expect the kids since its not the regular night. I hope you get lots of trick or treaters otherwise, if you’re anything like me, those candies are gonna magically find their way into your hands. Mmmm mini candy bars! Haha. We got rid of most of ours, thank goodness. My husband instructed me to GO EASY ON THE CANDY BUYING! Haha. I always get wayyy too much. 🙂

  5. All I’m gonna say is that I want that dang stamp. This manicure is so cute. love it. My favorite costume from when I was a kid what the year that my brother and I dressed up like The Garbage Pail Kids…do you remember those? People were cracking up so bad.

    • Omg I have never seen them but Daniel is ALWAYS like “they’re GROSS but they still get GIRLSSSS”. And tells me it’s their song or something…? That sounds hilarious though. Much better than being confused w a boy, although I still thought it was awesome. Haha.

Commenting is Caring!! ;D

