Mini Candy Corn Nails

Hey There Polished People!

Only one more Halloween mani left after today! I hope you like today’s because I’m fresh out of ideas. Haha. I loved doing the Halloween looks but then I got to a point where I was like, “Ugh.. everything’s been done!!” Today I have some cute little nails to show you. I hope you like them! πŸ™‚

Mini Candy Corn Nails

This is actually my second go at candy corn nails. I did the nails below first and then blacked out more to have less candy corns.

 

I didn’t like these when I first did them, because I felt like you couldn’t tell they were candy corns, just a colorful design, but now I think I like this design best. You’re gonna have to help me out in the comment section. Please.

How To Get These Nails:

  1. Base coat.
  2. Paint your nails with thin stripes of orange, yellow, white and black. For orange I used OPI Flit A Bit; yellow- SH Lightening; white- ChG White on White and black- black striper. Paint them in this order from side to side- black, yellow, orange, white.
  3. When your nails are all stripey, use the black striper to add the zig-zag lines in-between the black stripes on your nails.
  4. If you want less candy corns, use the striper to black out every other candy corn like I did in the top picture.
  5. VERY carefully apply your top coat.
  6. Show your friends!!

When I first did these I felt like the design with all the candy corns just looked stripey and like no one would know they were supposed to be little candies. Now that I’m looking at them a few days later I feel like the nails with more candy corns are much cuter. Ughhh I don’t know which one is better! I think if I do these in the future I’ll make the triangles for the candy corns less equilateral and moreΒ isosceles. And I think I’ll orient them so that they run vertically up and down my nails instead of horizontally side to side. Oh well, for a first attempt this isn’t too bad. πŸ™‚

Which of the two options do you like better? Do you even like candy corn? I sort of do… I have to be in the right mood. Haha. Anyway, thanks for reading and till next time- Happy Polishing!! πŸ˜€

15 thoughts on “Mini Candy Corn Nails

  1. Whoa… your last sentence just baffled me ” I’ll make the triangles for the candy corns less equilateral and more isosceles. And I think I’ll orient them so that they run vertically up and down my nails instead of horizontally side to side.” My mind is all mushy from being inside for 2 whole days I can’t even try to understand and picture what you just said. However, I do have enough brain cells functioning to realize “oooo pretty nails!” πŸ˜‰ I don’t know which one I like though cause they’re cute but in really different bold ways.

    • Hahaha sorry to get too mathematical on you. It was late and I guess I got nerdy! One time my brother and I were out at lunch and we were talking angles and all this (he’s a woodworker) and we had placed our napkins and glasses like perfectly opposite one another and the waiter came up and said, “Are you guys geometry majors??” And whenever I make things look just so on a table or something I’m like thinking “geometry majors heh heh heh” haha. Annnyway- glad you liked em! πŸ™‚

  2. Equilateral? Isosceles? These are words that I do not like to see on my nail blogs! ;P
    So! I think I agree with you that I kinda like the first attempt (second photo) better, but the first photo is easier to identify as candy corn. I feel like the second photo is kind of one of those optical illusions…you can see the black as a design, or you can see the black as a background for the individual candy corns. Maybe you wouldn’t make the connection if you didn’t know what it’s supposed to be. Quite the conundrum, haha.
    Cute idea, anyway! I am right there with ya on the candy corn…I kinda like it, but only sometimes, and I can’t really eat too much at once or else it just gets gross.

    • Sorry bout the math-speak!!! Haha. Yeah the first one is kinda like an optical illusion! Wow you made my nails seem so much cooler than they really are!! Thanks! πŸ˜€

  3. Hi Nicole, I wasn’t actually sure what Candy Corn was as we don’t have it over here, but I’ve just googled it and your nails are great! Very cute – I’m posting some Halloween nails tomorrow with similar colours in πŸ™‚

    • I’m a major serial commenter. I like to let posts build up apparently then commentonthemall!! Like a ravenous, commenting animal!! Haha. Also- thank you!! πŸ™‚

  4. Maybe you didn’t watch in living color (since I am a few years older than you), but your last sentence reminded me of when I used to watch the Oswald Bates sketches. LOL I mean, yours make sense but I had the same head scratching moment. “Allow me to proctologize myself. Suppositorily speaking, my incarceration has forced, shall I say, the ventilation of my derriere…” LMAO!!! I am cracking myself up. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TexL-eyZHzo

    Ok, as far as the nails are concerned, I really like ’em. I think I like the first design better that shows less of the colors underneath because it’s more…subtle?

    • You’re a weird one! Just kidding!! Well, at least kidding in the fact that I don’t mean it in a weird way. Haha. I never did watch In Living Color but Daniel always talks about it and I seem to recall him saying that quote before. It’s funny, anyway! Thanks about the nails. πŸ™‚ I kinda wish I’d just done one large blacked out triangular candy corn on each nail but ehhh… next year? Maybe, maybe not.

  5. I am not a big candy corn fan so I have not been enjoying a lot of the same old candy corn nails that I always see this time of year but these are different! Love the different spin instead of the regular candy corn! Love these!

    • Thanks!! I know what you mean- it seems like there are like 6 different designs people do every Halloween- which is great but I kinda hate to just show the same old nails every time. Especially the candy corns which are so simple. I’m glad you liked these ones. Your Halloween manis were super cool! I think next year I’m going to do some kind of Nightmare Before Christmas nails. πŸ™‚

Commenting is Caring!! ;D

